Santander Reviews

Updated 2 Mar 2021

To filter reviews, or .
3.7
70%
Recommend to a Friend
76%
Approve of CEO
Santander CEO Nathan Bostock
Nathan Bostock
224 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
  1. Featured Review

    "Career for life"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Data Analyst in Leicester, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Santander full-time

    Pros

    Diverse and changing bank, giving opportunities to progress within the company, family friendly, flexible, forward thinking.

    Cons

    Certain roles are location based only.

    Santander Response

    January 22, 2021HR Consultant

    Thank you for taking time out of what we know is a busy time to leave us a review. Its great that you feel you can give us 5 stars. You are right that we are changing some of the ways we work and its really exciting how these have accelerated during the pandemic. We are really proud of how our people have been able to suggest new things, work in an agile and flexible way, all whilst supporting our customers, each other and their own families. Yes, some of our roles are based at certain locations due to business demands but this could change in the future where appropriate.

  2. "Good Company"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Relationship Manager in Nottingham, England

    I worked at Santander full-time

    Pros

    Decent Company to Work for.

    Cons

    Not what you know it’s who your know.


  3. "Good employer"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Internal Audit Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Santander full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good benefits - holiday, medical and dental. Bonuses are reasonably predictable.

    Cons

    Need to capture more business opportunities in UK.

  4. "Data"

    5.0
    Current Employee - Data Science Apprentice in London, England

    I have been working at Santander full-time

    Pros

    Great organisation to work for, very fair

    Cons

    Not always easy to know what is going on

  5. "Great company"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Consultant in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Santander full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexibility of the job role

    Cons

    None that come to mind

    Santander Response

    March 2, 2021HR Consultant

    We appreciate it when someone comes back to review and reflect on their time with us! Its great that you enjoyed your time with us and the flexibility you had to do your role. Good luck in your next role.

  6. "Enjoyable job"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Manager in Camberley, England

    I have been working at Santander full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Company offers many great benefits and invests in its staff

    Cons

    No real cons to the job

    Santander Response

    March 1, 2021HR Consultant

    It is fantastic to hear you are enjoying your role! Thank you for the support you and your teams have been giving to our customer during a difficult 12 months for everyone. Its great to hear that you enjoy the many benefits we have available to our people.

  7. "best place to work 2018/19/20/21"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Personal Banker in Edinburgh, Scotland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Santander full-time

    Pros

    diversity, inclusiveness, training, 5 days holidays to be purchased on the benefit pack

    Cons

    as any retail work branches can be fast paces and stressful. wages are quite low as well

    Continue reading
  8. "Incredible Employer"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Relationship Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Santander full-time

    Pros

    Flexibility of work, good salary, great exposure

    Cons

    Not Applicable for this question

    Santander Response

    March 2, 2021HR Consultant

    Thank you for this fantastic review. Its great to hear that you are really enjoying your role and that you have pointed out the flexibility you have in the work you are doing.

  9. "Santander"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Santander full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great team work. Great products.

    Cons

    UK works under group from Spain adding to management challenged

    Santander Response

    March 1, 2021HR Consultant

    Thank you for taking the time to reflect back on your time with us. We are proud of what we offer for our customers as well as the great teams we have who provide them with great service. The appointment last year of António Simões is helping all our countries in Europe (not just Spain) working together to continue to provide the best for our customers. Thank you again for the positive review!

  10. "Was a good company to work for"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Computer Operator in Milton Keynes, England
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Santander full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Bonus, shift allowance, people, good working environment

    Cons

    Management, outsourcing to Spain, bad idea

    Santander Response

    March 2, 2021HR Consultant

    Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review and recommending us.. Its great to hear that you enjoy the people you work with and the environment and something must be right for you to have been here for over 10 years. It is disappointing that you say "was a good company to work for" as the people environment etc are still here and the support for our people over the last 12 months has only increased, and we are really proud of this. We would encourage you to look at MyMio and the wellbeing hub if you haven't already to see what there is to offer. Yes we do work closely with our European colleagues but this is to ensure we continue to provide the best service for our customers!

Viewing 1 - 10 of 2,347 English Reviews

Work at Santander? Share Your Experiences

Santander logo
or