Selfridges Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Selfridges Reviews

Updated 7 Apr 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.7
72%
Recommend to a Friend
79%
Approve of CEO
Selfridges Interim Managing Director Anne Pitcher
Anne Pitcher
8 Ratings
Pros
  • "Staff discount is absolutely fantastic once you pass your 3 month probation (I am still waiting for mine)(in 41 reviews)

  • "Great luxury environment to work in, great facilities and generous discounts with a vast choice(in 30 reviews)

Cons
  • "Lots of standing for long hours(in 38 reviews)

  • "Floor managers could be rude unsupported and unfriendly to concessions team (especially at the lower ground floor)(in 22 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review

    "Loved my time in Selfridges Creative Dept."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Graphic Designer in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Selfridges full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Lovely, caring team with great projects and potential for growth. Making amazing work you can be proud of.

    Cons

    At the mercy of changes in management which could leave team suffering from internal political wrangling.

    Continue reading
    Selfridges2020-02-29

    Selfridges Response

    March 3, 2020Employer Brand Copywriter

    Hi there, thank you so much for taking the time to review your former role with us here as a graphic designer. We are pleased that overall your experience has been a positive one and that you're loving the sense of community spirit that we care deeply about fostering among Selfridges team members. We have passed your feedback onto the team. Wishing you all the best for the future and we hope to welcome you back in store again soon!

    Continue reading
  2. "Christmas Sales Associate position"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Manchester, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Selfridges part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    a good place to place to work, hour-long lunch breaks

    Cons

    can be repetitive day to day working

    Selfridges2020-03-04

    Selfridges Response

    March 6, 2020Employer Brand Copywriter

    Hi there, thank you so much for taking the time to review your former role with us here as a Christmas sales associate. We are pleased that overall your experience has been a positive one and that you enjoyed your time here with us. No two days are the same in Selfridges and we strive to create an extraordinary experience for both team members and customers. Wishing you all the best for the future and we hope to welcome you back in store again soon!

    Continue reading
  3. "Aid to customers concerns. Be polite and enthusiastic about the products you are selling."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate/Cashier in Birmingham, England
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Selfridges part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The staff are so lovely and working there is like being with your mates all the time. Selfridges has a great history behind it and you learn a lot about its origins and all the brands that it sells. It’s great fun and you get a discount after working there for 3 months which is amazing. It is a lovely place to work

    Cons

    Sometimes your area can get very busy and when there’s only a few of you it gets hard to keep an eye on everyone, especially when your running to and from the stock room to get different sizes for the customers. This is usually when people choose to steal things and it can be stressful as it tends to happen quite a lot and it’s things that are sometimes thousands of pounds.

    Selfridges2020-03-27
  4. "Part time Selfridges"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Sales Associate 

    I worked at Selfridges part-time

    Pros

    Fantastic and supportive team

    Cons

    Good management for part-timers not so great for full-time

    Selfridges2020-03-26
  5. "Good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Consultant in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Selfridges full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Salary is not matching industry

    Cons

    Poor management and slow response to issues

    Selfridges2020-04-07
  6. "Tiresome head office"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Selfridges full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great staff discount and sample sales but not worth the hassle

    Cons

    Power hungry management who spend all their time asking for information to make themselves look good without helping out at all. Especially with the current situation it’s highlighted how top heavy we are. Things that could be easier are made 100 times harder because there are so many who want to have a say because their title apparently entitles them to it.

    Continue reading
    Selfridges2020-04-02
  7. "Okay, concession doesn’t receive any Selfridges benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Manager in London, England

    I have been working at Selfridges full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Fun and busy place

    Cons

    Not a lot of benefits

    Selfridges2020-03-16

    Selfridges Response

    March 17, 2020Employer Brand Copywriter

    Hi there, thank you so much for taking the time to review your current role as a business manager. We are pleased that overall your experience has been a positive one We'd love to chat to you further to understand your concerns about our benefits. We host shopping events throughout the year for concession members, so we hope you make the most out of our extra discount days. You can talk with us confidentially by reaching out to glassdoor@selfridges.co.uk. In the meantime, we hope you continue to have an amazing week!

    Continue reading
  8. "Amazing brand but too many cooks and lacking modernity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Selfridges full-time

    Pros

    Amazing brand, staff discount and good location behind store.

    Cons

    Too much hierarchy with multiple layers of directors and heads in the Customer division. It’s gotten worse with two recently added overlapping directors. There are too few people with modern day experience. Sometimes false praise is given because people protect their own despite failings.

    Continue reading
    Selfridges2020-03-25
  9. "Excellent team for work for, everyday is different, love working for my team."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate - Mandarin Speaking in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Selfridges part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Nice and friendly environment Excellent team with a nice bonus and commission hours that fit you, especially good if you are a student.

    Cons

    None , they are an excellent comapny to work for which accomdate everyone

    Continue reading
    Selfridges2020-03-04

    Selfridges Response

    March 6, 2020Employer Brand Copywriter

    Hi there, thank you so much for taking the time to review your current role as a part-time sales associate. We are absolutely thrilled to have received such a positive review. We have an amazing team on the shop floor and we are so pleased your enjoying your time being part of it! . Thank you again and we hope you have the best week!

    Continue reading
  10. "Wonderful company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Assistant in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Selfridges full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great discounts Amazing opportunities Wonderful social life

    Cons

    Some clientele can be elite and therefore speak down to you The cafeteria is very expensive

    Continue reading
    Selfridges2020-02-27

    Selfridges Response

    March 3, 2020Employer Brand Copywriter

    Hi there, thank you so much for taking the time to review your former role with us here as a customer assistant. We hope you enjoyed your time with us and we have passed your feedback onto the team. Wishing you all the best for the future and we hope to welcome you back in store again soon!

    Continue reading
Found 489 reviews