Selfridges Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Selfridges Reviews

Updated 21 June 2018
277 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

3.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Selfridges Managing Director Anne Pitcher
Anne Pitcher
74 Ratings

277 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • "Great luxury environment to work in, great facilities and generous discounts with a vast choice" (in 19 reviews)

  • "Great staff discount (35% off own-bought, 10%-20% off concessions)" (in 22 reviews)

Cons
  • "long hours and miscommunication between the staff" (in 26 reviews)

  • "There can be challenges around work life balance but as a high performing business with high performing teams, that is expected" (in 9 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. Featured Review

    "Great Place to Work, Trafford"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Assistant in Manchester, England
    Former Employee - Sales Assistant in Manchester, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Selfridges part-time

    Pros

    Amazing atmosphere & team
    Management are approachable friendly and consistent
    Up to 35% staff discount.

    Cons

    None at all. Couldn’t fault it.

    Selfridges Response

    24 May 2018 – Employer Brand and Communications Manager

    Thanks for taking the time to leave a review, I'm sure you will be missed amongst your team. Feel free to pop in store anytime.


  2. "Sales advisor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Trafford Park, England
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Trafford Park, England

    I worked at Selfridges part-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Atmosphere
    Management staff
    Nice place to be

    Cons

    The selfridges stock rooms are very small

    Selfridges Response

    20 Jun 2018 – Employer Brand and Communications Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to leave a positive review. We hope to see you in store soon

  3. "Sales Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in London, England
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Selfridges part-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Comfortable working conditions, great location, lots of fun!

    Cons

    Rude management, sometimes and weekend hours for part time staff.

    Advice to Management

    Provide better training aimed at staff retention


  4. "Good Working Environment but Managers are not good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Manchester, England
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Manchester, England

    I worked at Selfridges part-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Flexible rota
    Good staffs discount

    Cons

    Sales target can be high sometimes
    Managers have their own favourite and they normally put it all to staffs when they are under pressure

    Advice to Management

    Low people skills, need to improve on that

    Selfridges Response

    20 Jun 2018 – Employer Brand and Communications Manager

    We strive to create good work life balance for team members. Thanks for taking the time to leave a review and we hope to see you in store soon.


  5. "Friendly"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    Pros

    Managers and colleagues were really friendly.

    Cons

    More staff parties for individual concessions

    Selfridges Response

    20 Jun 2018 – Employer Brand and Communications Manager

    Our heritage and Selfridges spirit is embedded in our values and reflected in our people. Thanks for leaving a positive review.


  6. "Selfridges"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate in Manchester, England
    Current Employee - Sales Associate in Manchester, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Pros

    Easy, quietly environment, straight-forward job

    Cons

    Commission depends on the area and brand you work in

    Advice to Management

    To start being less condescending.

    Selfridges Response

    20 Jun 2018 – Employer Brand and Communications Manager

    Thanks for choosing Selfridges to be part of your career story. We hope to see you in store again soon.


  7. "Great Being A Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Retail Department Manager in London, England
    Current Employee - Retail Department Manager in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Selfridges full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Lots of perks, gift cards, and easy as long as you don't mind being told what to do.
    Some lovely people there, and great sense of team work.
    Great stepping stone for a better career.

    Cons

    Massive tell culture from the Directors.
    Can be quite aggressive, need to be resilient and ignore the way you can be spoken to by some.
    Very little career progression.

    Selfridges Response

    6 Jun 2018 – Employer Brand and Communications Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. A lot of positives, we want to ensure that you have the best experience whilst working at Selfridges, please do connect with either your Line... More

  8. "Decent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Selfridges full-time

    Pros

    Lots of opportunities to grow

    Cons

    Pay and commission is not as good compared to other retailers

    Selfridges Response

    6 Jun 2018 – Employer Brand and Communications Manager

    Thank you for leaving a positive review - we do strive to create an environment where employees can progress across Retail and even through to Head Office.

    As a current employee you have access to... More


  9. "Very Busy"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Selfridges part-time

    Pros

    You can gain great experience in luxury fashion industry. Many opportunities to grow yourself. Extraordinary customer service experience.

    Cons

    Very busy in summer and Christmas times and the store closes at 10 pm which makes you late to get back home. There are discounts only for a limited number of employees of their choice, unlike Harrods which offers a discount for everyone.

    Advice to Management

    Be more careful in choosing employees as I have seen many jobs are given to employees with low skills and high skill employees are refused because of unimportant reasons.

    Selfridges Response

    24 May 2018 – Employer Brand and Communications Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to leave a review and share feedback. We are pleased to hear you found your experience valuable and wish you the best in your career journey ahead.


  10. "Great Environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Selfridges part-time

    Pros

    Great part-time environment, discounts and benefits

    Cons

    No cons at present time

    Selfridges Response

    24 May 2018 – Employer Brand and Communications Manager

    Thank you, do pop in store I'm sure the team would love to see you again.


Showing 277 of 288 reviews
Reset Filters