Shell Energy Retail Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Shell Energy Retail Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 181 reviews

4.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
85%
Recommend to a Friend
94%
Approve of CEO
Shell Energy Retail CEO Colin Crooks
Colin Crooks
42 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "A pension contribution of 1% is not acceptable for a company of this size(in 18 reviews)

  • "You don't get sick pay for the first few days which is a shame(in 15 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review

    "Thank you!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Shell Energy Retail full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Support, Encouragement, Team work, Positivity. I started here in January last year and within a year have moved to a different role which I love. I don't know why so many people complain about lack of promotion etc. as there are always new opportunities and internal roles coming up. I've had nothing but support from my managers and colleagues when it comes to my development. Too many people expect to have things...

    Show More

    Cons

    None to mention, all positive!

    Advice to Management

    Based on my previous roels in other companies, it is refreshing to see the executive team on a daily basis, in the same offices as everyone else, eating in the same canteen etc. It helps to shape the idea that we are all here to achieve the same goal, and we are all equally important, regardless of what role you're in.

    Shell Energy Retail2019-02-05

    Shell Energy Retail Response

    February 14, 2019Head of Talent

    What a brilliant review, thank you! It's fantastic to read that you've developed your career with us and even more so that you love your job! You're right, your career is what you make of it and we've recently expanded the topics in our development catalogue and mentoring scheme ...

    Show More
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Excellent Support and Sympathy"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative in Coventry, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Shell Energy Retail full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    During the training process the intake of information was a lot to handle compared to previous jobs. Both my trainer Sam Morris and the floorwalkers support during training and the academy process has been outstanding! Support and help is always an arms length away, both professionally and with personal issues as well.

    Cons

    I feel the training process was quite short in regards to how much new information someone like myself, having not worked in energy before, has to absorb.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to promote the well being and comfort of your employees in the workplace

    Shell Energy Retail2019-04-04
  3. "QSGTL package"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Contract Engineer in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Shell Energy Retail full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    Good remuneration & salary package

    Cons

    Working at live plant - no work life balance

    Shell Energy Retail2019-05-11
  4. "Gas & oil"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Shell Energy Retail full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Awesome and very interesting

    Cons

    The ability to learn more and to do more.

    Advice to Management

    Give more opportunities to welcome more workers

    Shell Energy Retail2019-05-11
  5. Helpful (1)

    "AdHoc Work Environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Broadband Specialist Advisor in Coventry, England
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Shell Energy Retail full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Great employee wellbeing programs Living wage employer Diverse staffing Annual performance based pay rise

    Cons

    AdHoc work environment Agile work spacing Shift rotation with very reluctant to provide a set shifts Managers are often informal and over step personal boundaries

    Advice to Management

    Take all employees feelings, comfort levels and skill set into consideration when making operational decisions. Not just those of the people you favour.

    Shell Energy Retail2019-04-17
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Prime triangle -Fake company , lies and false promises"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Junior Marketing in Newcastle upon Tyne, England
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Shell Energy Retail full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Wearing suits , meeting new people and learning some new sales techniques.

    Cons

    They tell you in the interview they will offer you a wage , salary or guaranteed income yet when you start you get nothing for weeks on end and then finally you might get a chance to sell. It’s 100% commission.

    Advice to Management

    Don’t lie , advertise it as commission work so people don’t waste their time.

    Shell Energy Retail2019-05-06
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Not bad friendly people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Shell Energy Retail full-time

    Pros

    Atmosphere in the team was great

    Cons

    Not very good for progression opportunities

    Shell Energy Retail2019-04-10
  8. "Customer service role"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      No Opinion of CEO

      I worked at Shell Energy Retail full-time

      Pros

      Company was generally well run but went through large transitions at the time. This led to often conflicting advice.

      Cons

      Never felt as though there was too much of a cohesive vision. Constant changes made it difficult to do job.

      Shell Energy Retail2019-04-01
    • Helpful (1)

      "Analyst"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      No Opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Shell Energy Retail full-time

      Pros

      They can be very fair, good when it comes to flexibility

      Cons

      A lot of unconscious bias within the whole business, a lot of favouritism, a lot of cutting corners, left hand never knows what the right hand is doing. A bit of bullying goes on in here. If you face doesn't fit you are not progressing any where. To many yes people in the business, people are afraid to speak up when they see something wrong especially managers. A lot of lets sweep the conversation under the carpet....

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      You need to start behaving in a more lean manner if you want to keep on top of it all, the churn is outrageous. People will start I am sure Shell will shake things up once they truly get their teeth into it.

      Shell Energy Retail2019-03-29
    • "AMAZING PLACE TO WORK !"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Customer Service Representative in Coventry, England
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Shell Energy Retail part-time for more than 2 years

      Pros

      -Professional and Civil place to work: People here are respectful and responsible -Great flexibility with working time & shifts for employees -great pay and benefits -quality learning experience. every case is a challenge providing you every chance to learn new processes, apply solutions and improve your knowledge within the energy industry -great opportunity to progress to better positions

      Cons

      -Location is not directly in Coventry town centre with few bus services around.

      Advice to Management

      keep up the good job

      Shell Energy Retail2019-02-20
    Found 181 reviews