Shell Energy Retail Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Shell Energy Retail Reviews

Updated 2 Apr 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.4
94%
Recommend to a Friend
98%
Approve of CEO
Pros
Cons
  • "Pension scheme could be improved(in 20 reviews)

  • "You don't get sick pay for the first few days which is a shame(in 16 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review

    "Great atmosphere with good focus"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Coventry, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Shell Energy Retail full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Modern technology stacks - Work from home at least 2 days a week with flexibility to do more/less or switch which days - Flexible hours allowing a better work/life balance (as a software engineer I do 8-4:30 for example) - Full canteen with hot/cold food at competitive rates with a reward scheme (Points that allow you to get free cake (amongst healthier options) and free hot drinks) - Nice offices (There is some woodland walks that you can go for a nice sunny lunchtime walk on) - Car park with ample spaces - Other staff members seem to have a long service history

    Cons

    - Driving around the school and Coventry roads can be a little nightmare-ish at certain times of the day - But that could apply to almost any office in the country!

    Shell Energy Retail2019-05-30

    Shell Energy Retail Response

    August 14, 2019Head of Talent

    Thanks so much for your 5-star review! It's great to hear you mention the flexibility you have to get the best outcome from the effort you put into your work. Supporting our colleagues to bring their full selves to the work they do, so that everyone has the opportunity to strive to be the best they can be is really important. Agile working is a key part of that culture, whether that's within the office environment, making use of project spaces, the atrium, the Den, or hot-desking, or making best use of your role allowing the flex to work from home. I'm also really pleased to hear you mention our facilities. That's an area we've invested heavily in over the last 12 months or so. We renovated our canteen and the menu for both the canteen and our barista coffee pod, we extended the car park so that as you mentioned, there is ample free parking available on-site and alongside that, a trim-trail/woodland walk with seating areas that can be enjoyed for meetings outside or taking a break/having lunch. I hope that you will enjoy a long career with us, as you've noticed many of our colleagues have. Thank you for your continued contribution to our success, Ellen.

    Continue reading
  2. "Great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Team Manager in Coventry, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Shell Energy Retail part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Top engagement team that keep everybody's wellbeing at the heart of what they do. Fantastic 'in this together' ethos. Customer centricity encouraged across all departments

    Cons

    Up until recently, lack of desk space for managers but this has got much better

    Shell Energy Retail2020-04-02
  3. "Highly recommended place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Manager in Coventry, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Shell Energy Retail full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The pay at Shell Energy is excellent. If you put your head down and want to progress, then you will. We offer a lot of internal progression within the company which I have seen many people climb up the ladder during my time at First Utility (and now Shell Energy). The people. I work in Customer Operations as a team manager which in my eyes is the best place to be in the business. The people all look out for one another which when joining the business you make friends, not just colleagues. It is a fun place to work which we have social events we can attend each quarter. We have Wellbeing Wednesdays, free fruit Mondays, a fair dress code, a restaurant on site and invest a lot of time into our staff. People have open forums to express any concerns they may have via our Voice Of People group. The management. From team managers to the Exec, everyone communicates with one another and work as one team. The higher management team don't look down on anyone and treat everyone as humans. We have a lot of our team managers who started on the phone so know exactly what it takes to progress within the business. The advisors get to raise any concerns directly with the CEO and higher management team in monthly coffee sessions.

    Cons

    The location can sometimes be challenging as it is in a business park and can get very busy when leaving work. However, you will get this wherever you go. The business offers 3 different car parks that we can park in and also provides a free shuttle. Our HR department lacks experience and could be improved massively. HR don't provide enough support and slow things down within the business. It seems they take a one shoe fits all approach. The benefits system was rolled out to the business without any details. For example, yearly bonus scheme for all employees.

    Continue reading
    Shell Energy Retail2020-03-26

    Shell Energy Retail Response

    April 2, 2020Chief People Officer

    Thanks so much for such a fabulous 5 star review. You've identified three key themes : team spirit, communication and job progression. We working hard to build an open culture in which everyone is treated equally with the opportunity to progress and succeed. As you've highlighted, the leadership team are happy to receive feedback and communicate directly so it's great to see this reflected in your comments. I am disappointed to read your comments about the HR team. Please do let me know what the team can do to better support you and your colleagues. And, if it helps, we can fix up a two way job shadowing programme to help create insight and bridge perspectives. The training team would be happy to help here. With your help and support we're creating a great place to work for our colleagues and a fantastic place for our customers to do business - it's great to hear. Thanks again. John

    Continue reading
  4. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Team Manager in Coventry, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Shell Energy Retail full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Great working environment. - Great Team - Great support from the business during this time

    Cons

    Miss my Team whilst current situation ongoing

    Shell Energy Retail2020-03-26

    Shell Energy Retail Response

    April 2, 2020Chief People Officer

    Many thanks for your five star review. We are all working in uncharted territory at the moment so it's great that you feel so supported by your team and everyone. Working from home can be isolating and it's easy to underestimate the importance of maintaining social contact. I encourage everyone to make use of our remote communication facilities - chat, video conferencing to stay in contact with your team on a regular basis. Although key for continuing with the business, these are equally important in providing emotional support. I am thrilled by the resilience shown by everyone in adapting to new ways of working and would like to reassure you of the continued support of Shell Energy so we can come through these challenging times stronger than ever. Great to have you with us. John.

    Continue reading
  5. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Digital Service Advisor in Coventry, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Shell Energy Retail full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good benefits, regular feedback from managers, good working environment

    Cons

    Harder to progress at this place

    Continue reading
    Shell Energy Retail2020-03-15

    Shell Energy Retail Response

    April 2, 2020Chief People Officer

    Thanks for taking the time to post such a great review. We have made a number of improvements to our benefits proposition and will continue to review these to ensure we are delivering on what provides most value to our colleagues. It's great that you are receiving regular feedback from your manager. You mention that you are finding progression difficult. I would encourage you to ensure that your sessions with your manager don't just focus on current deliveries but on your career aspirations too - we are developing more ways to help our colleagues learn new skills and to progress to new roles. Please do investigate our Development Portal which is home to a wealth of resource to consolidate and build your skillset. I hope you have a long and successful career with us, John.

    Continue reading
  6. "Brilliant place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Support in Coventry, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Shell Energy Retail full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    amazing company to work for, employees are acknowledged for their hard work

    Cons

    Currently have not come across any

    Continue reading
    Shell Energy Retail2020-03-04

    Shell Energy Retail Response

    April 2, 2020Chief People Officer

    Thanks for taking the time to post a positive review. I am pleased to hear that you are recognised and acknowledged for the hard work you do. In challenging times it is easy to focus on the day to day job and not take the time to recognise colleagues. In the current environment, where the majority of colleagues are working remotely, this becomes even more important so we need to maintain a focus on positively recognising everyone's contribution. Great to have you as part of the team, John.

    Continue reading
  7. "Good Values"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Broadband Support Advisor in Coventry, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Shell Energy Retail full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Nice vibe around the office Great people who are helpful Management recognise efforts and push your development where possible

    Cons

    Bit regimented on break/lunch times

    Continue reading
    Shell Energy Retail2020-02-27

    Shell Energy Retail Response

    April 2, 2020Chief People Officer

    Thanks for taking the time to post a review. It's great to hear that your leadership team are recognising your hard work and supporting your development. I note your point around break times. Our work patterns and breaks are set up so that we can have optimum number of colleagues available to respond to customer queries at any time. I'd welcome your ideas about how we can make things better, including how the restaurant might change what it does . Great to have you with us, John.

    Continue reading
  8. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Digital Customer Services Executive in Coventry, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Shell Energy Retail full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great Future, Good Pay No uniform Plenty of overtime

    Cons

    None that can be thought of.

    Shell Energy Retail2020-02-21

    Shell Energy Retail Response

    February 25, 2020Chief People Officer

    Many thanks for your great review. I'm really pleased to hear that you are properly rewarded for your contribution to our success. We have been on a journey which and fantastic to see the results coming through in our colleague engagement, customer satisfaction and business results. Having colleagues like you are helping us get there. It's great to have you as part of the team. John

    Continue reading
  9. "Excellent workplace with strong Exec Team and direction"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - MI Analyst in Coventry, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Shell Energy Retail full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Flexible working Support within the Company Benefits Salary Plenty of car parking Office Environment

    Cons

    The company is operating in a difficult industry

    Shell Energy Retail2020-01-29

    Shell Energy Retail Response

    February 26, 2020Chief People Officer

    Thanks so much for your 5-star review! I'm pleased you mentioned our facilities and office environment. It's something we've put a lot of focus into over the last 18 months - we want to create a place where our colleagues can truly give their best. As you highlight, we work in a challenging industry, but I'm glad that you feel supported and the business is heading in the right direction with the best decisions being made. We have a very full and exciting future, full of opportunities for innovation and meeting our customers' needs. As our business opportunities unfold there are untold opportunities for our colleagues to grow and develop new skills. It's great to have you as part of our growing and successful team. John.

    Continue reading
  10. "Good company but can be short sighted"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Advisor in Cove, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Shell Energy Retail part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Offer part time hours. Good benefits include pension scheme, good holiday allowance, BUPA Friendly bunch of people.

    Cons

    They need to employ more staff and set more realistic expectations. Very target orientated which can lead to stress and decreased morale.

    Continue reading
    Shell Energy Retail2020-01-28

    Shell Energy Retail Response

    February 26, 2020Chief People Officer

    Thanks for taking the time to post your review. I really appreciate it. It's great to hear that we have a friendly working environment with a supportive culture - we're working hard to encourage more of this. You'll be aware that in 2019 we set out to improve the journey we offer our customers and changed the way we organised ourselves and provision of services. We are challenging ourselves to continuously improve our performance and behaviour to create an experience that our customers love. It's a big challenge and we're not there yet - we've expected a lot from our colleagues and sometimes perhaps too much. I'd welcome your ideas that will help us achieve a better outcome - please talk with your team leader, the HR engagement team, or just drop me a note. Great to have you with us, John

    Continue reading
Found 231 reviews