Shopify Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Shopify Reviews

Updated 20 Sep 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 455 reviews

4.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
73%
Recommend to a Friend
93%
Approve of CEO
Shopify CEO Tobias Lütke
Tobias Lütke
337 Ratings
Pros
  • "Work from home, and the benefits(in 43 reviews)

  • "Great benefits, you can make a lot of good friends, working remotely is nice(in 26 reviews)

Cons
  • "There's not enough being done to show care for gurus mental health(in 19 reviews)

  • "Creating your healthy work life balance is important(in 14 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "A good team at SHO"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Content Producer in King's Lynn, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Shopify full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good team and a good family atmosphere

    Cons

    Sometimes there is not enough focus on certain projects

    Shopify2019-05-23
  2. Helpful (5)

    "Shopify"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Guru (Remote) 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Shopify for less than a year

    Pros

    - work from home - swag - learning varied skills

    Cons

    - laidback culture is not actually laidback - poor support - insufficient training

    Continue reading
    Shopify2016-11-15
  3. "Perfect for a Millenial!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Shopify full-time

    Pros

    - always encourage you to follow your own path and give you the tools to do so - lots of room for progression - fantastic resources and work-from-home is a benefit

    Cons

    - depending on your personality, it might feel lonely

    Shopify2019-09-20
  4. "Smart people, focus on impact and great culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Data Scientist in Ottawa, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Shopify full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I moved to Shopify after years at a FAANG company in California. I see a lot of the pros that I liked about my previous company - smart people, focus on impact, transparent and open culture, solving hard problems, etc. I also found a much much better work/life balance here and a greater emphasis on investing in employee development and learning.

    Cons

    Comp is less than you could get at FAANG companies in California, but that's a tradeoff I was okay with for much better quality of life inside and outside of work

    Shopify2019-09-17
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Best place to work and grow your career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Recruitment Researcher in Ottawa, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Shopify full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Own your own growth and career progression Your talent is recognized and every step is taken to make you feel included and valued as an employee Company believes imperfection is perfection, never fear from making mistakes and learning from them Great Work Life Balance Ensured

    Cons

    There is nothing to report here

    Continue reading
    Shopify2019-09-11
  6. "Lots of ownership & independence; change is constant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Shopify full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible work hours, opportunity to make a real impact in your role, compensation package is competitive.

    Cons

    Performance transparency/accountability for management could be improved.

    Shopify2019-09-13
  7. "Great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Customer Success Guru - Remote in Vancouver, BC

    I have been working at Shopify full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great benefits, great people, lots of opportunity to make an impact.

    Cons

    Salary for the guru role could be better.

    Shopify2019-09-11
  8. "Best Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Event Coordinator in Vancouver, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Shopify full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Remote work, excellent benefits, great support, great people

    Cons

    Keeping up with growth is difficult - lots of work to be done.

    Shopify2019-08-29
  9. "Decent work environment with limited career growth opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Shopify full-time

    Pros

    -Equipment provided for work is of great quality. -Benefits and perks are improving year on year. -Remote work and all the perks that come from that. -Strong support structure for employees. -A lot of emphasis on skills development. -Exciting company mission.

    Cons

    -Two class system between remote employees and in-office employees. Leads to a wide disparity when it comes to perks and career advancement. -Despite efforts, still a fair bit of siloing of knowledge & projects leading to duplicate effort. -Internal operations struggling to match the scale of external growth.

    Continue reading
    Shopify2019-09-13
  10. "Amazing opportunity. You wont regret working here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Success Guru - Remote 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Shopify full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Great Learning Opportunity - Get your own store - Amazing Bonuses

    Cons

    - Being remote can feel isolating - Can get boring once you a high understanding of the role

    Shopify2019-08-28
Found 455 reviews