Shopify Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Shopify Reviews

Updated 25 Mar 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.9
71%
Recommend to a Friend
87%
Approve of CEO
Shopify CEO Tobias Lütke
Tobias Lütke
401 Ratings
Pros
  • "You work from home which is best decision I ever made as well as helping the planet(in 57 reviews)

  • "Lots of freedom to work on new ideas, in-house chefs and great benefits(in 39 reviews)

Cons
  • "The experiences that gurus have seems to be very different from that of RnD/ other disciplines(in 28 reviews)

  • "There are no cons I can think of(in 18 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "A good team at SHO"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Content Producer in King's Lynn, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Shopify full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good team and a good family atmosphere

    Cons

    Sometimes there is not enough focus on certain projects

    Shopify2019-05-23
  2. "Great Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Shopify full-time

    Pros

    Work life balance and good pay.

    Cons

    None that I can think of.

    Shopify2019-10-21
  3. Helpful (5)

    "Shopify"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Guru (Remote) 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Shopify for less than a year

    Pros

    - work from home - swag - learning varied skills

    Cons

    - laidback culture is not actually laidback - poor support - insufficient training

    Continue reading
    Shopify2016-11-15
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Shopify full-time

    Pros

    Salary, good environment and friendly teammates

    Cons

    Not much to complain about

    Shopify2020-03-25
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Great company, great opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative in Auckland, Auckland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Shopify full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Work with good people in a company ran by genuinely good people

    Cons

    You can't run away from beurocracy

    Continue reading
    Shopify2020-03-25
  6. "Best company ever"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Success Guru 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Shopify full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    After several bad experiences with corporates businesses, Shopify has showed me a light at the end of the tunnel. First of all, they treat you like a human being and as a person, and if you have any issues in your private life they will help you out as much as they can. And in Shopify you're supporting merchants as a Guru where they have an online store, and if they run into any issues or you're helping them out with any advice that you can give them. After one year of tenure with Shopify I still can't believe how they treat their employees. Everyone is so caring and everyone helps you out as much as they can. And trust me when I say that you're not a number here. I spoke with some CEO's and Directors and they're normal people like us, they'll listen to you and they will take your feedback very very seriously. Pros: 1. Working from home - I never thought that working from home will be so fun and relaxing. After spending 5 hours a day on commute on previous job, working from home came as God given! More time with family and kids, drastic saving either on public transport or on car fuel and no more spending €10-15 on lunch in cantina. 2. Amazing colleagues and Team Managers - These people will give their hearts out to help you out, and no backstabbing! 3. Perks and benefits - Every year you get a significant amount of € bonus (trust me when I say significant) to expense it as you want it. - Fully covered private health care and full paid by Shopify - 20 days of holidays and 10 personal days (call it sick days but they aren't) so technically you have 30 working days of leave. 4. Professional development - If you want to learn more about your job or if you think that an online course or a book will help you out, Shopify will cover the expenses. 5. Loads of training each week that you get allocated outside of live channels or Professional Development time too. 6. Salary - Salary is amazing when comparing same role with Apple. I'm not going to mention Amazon as they are paying peanuts compared to Shopify and they don't brainwash you like the others. Just to add, this isn't a manager review, I'm a Guru here in Ireland and my family means everything to me! I used to commute 5 hours a day before Shopify to bring bread in our house, my little kids didn't even see me, in morning when I would leave nor in evening when I would come back home. My relationship with my children has drastically improved because I'm working from home and you're always there for them if anything happens! I know that some other reviewers will complain about Social life balance because we're working from home. If someone isn't capable of going out to a pub or to call their friend to meet up after they finish their shift then something is really wrong with these people. And I've been super productive while working from home, no dress code...nothing. No 50-100 other people around me laughing, talking, coughing, sneezing, creating distraction which would distract you. So yes, this is a place for me to stay!

    Cons

    Handling 3 chats at the same time can be daunting!

    Continue reading
    Shopify2020-03-23

    Shopify Response

    March 31, 2020Shopify Representative

    Hey! Thank you for taking the time to leave such thorough and helpful feedback. It’s heartwarming to hear how positive your experience has been overall since you joined Shopify. It’s particularly great to know you feel heard and you feel everyone is approachable and caring, even at the executive level. I’m glad you see working from home as a positive and you’re achieving a better work/life balance and getting more family time since joining Shopify. That is important for sure. The Talent team at Shopify work hard to continually review our perks and benefits to ensure we remain competitive and employees can tailor their package to their lifestyle. They will appreciate your great feedback here. Support Leadership have been asked in the past why gurus are handling 3 chats at once. The research they have done indicates this is the best way to handle the volume of chats we get, especially since there is often a delay in one merchant responding. Being able to handle other chats while you wait on them coming back tends to be more efficient. That being said, I will certainly send this feedback on for you as I know they are constantly reviewing our processes. I hope you’ve also discussed it with your lead. They are likely to have suggestions on managing this. Another thing I find helpful is discussing this in a meeting with the rest of your squad. Everyone has different techniques on how they handle their chats so brainstorming together can be helpful in coming up with new ideas on how best to manage your workflow. Again, thank you for your thoughtful feedback!

    Continue reading
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Remote Guru 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Shopify full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Benefits, Schedule, Colleagues, Vacation, Job Duties

    Cons

    None that I can think of

    Continue reading
    Shopify2020-03-10

    Shopify Response

    March 24, 2020Social Care

    Hi, thanks so much for taking the time to post a review. It’s great to hear you enjoyed your time with Shopify and found so many things beneficial. Transparency between all levels is something that is highly important. Based on input from the team, we have reconfigured the Quality Assurance model in 2019 and have received very positive feedback from both support leads and Gurus, as expectations of the role are clearer. Compensation reviews are based on individual performance; some areas that are assessed are your level of impact on your role, on your team, and on our merchants. It is always possible to reach out to a squad lead or an HR rep for more information. Thank you again for your feedback!

    Continue reading
  8. "One of the best places to work in Canada"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Staff Software Engineer in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Shopify full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great culture, great people, wonderful perks and beautiful office (Toronto). Absolutely love working here.

    Cons

    Recruiting is broken, wish it was more transparent, feels a bit embarrassing to be fairly high up in the ladder (staff engineer) and not have your referrals matter. Meanwhile I interview candidates sourced by recruiting that are subpar, where my interview rejection rate is probably over 70%. It's not just me, it's an opinion that is shared by many in the company.

    Continue reading
    Shopify2020-03-04
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Amazing company in the past, troublesome employer at current."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - V P of Support in Ottawa, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Shopify full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Culture, culture, culture. Wanna feel like you’re working at Apple HQ? Then Shopify is the company for you. From catered meals, to alcohol on tap, to Robots randomly wandering around the campuses ... it’s got it all.

    Cons

    Has outgrown its sense of self, that Startup Culture that was so vibrant that it made everything seem so exciting and fast paced.

    Continue reading
    Shopify2020-02-21
  10. "Make a difference while growing as a human being- this is the place to do it."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Retail Support Specialist in Quebec, QC
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Shopify full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    * Great compensation * Amazing culture * Not obsessed with degrees (CEO is a dropout, too!) (fair opportunity) * Super impactful work, easy to feel incredibly fulfilled in it * steady stable hours * clear and direct expectations * personal as well as professional growth coaching * ^ No actually though- My leadership has helped me grow more than my therapist. ;) * did I mention the inclusivity? * those perks, though. * Amazing health and dental benefits with the option to maximize them to be even better (Really great for families with kids who need braces etc * 1 year of salary top up for parental leave to like 85% of your wage. (So not neccesary, but so so good) * Baby bonus? Have a baby, get $1000! * Shares in the company (5k USD worth. Stellar!) * Incredible leadership * Incredible senior leadership * more opportunities for growth than you will know what to do with *

    Cons

    I honestly can't think of any. Oh! Got one. I work remote, so I don't leave my house enough. Shopify has that covered though, I could expense with my spending account a sitter to watch my kid while I hit the Gym with the gym membership I *also* expensed to my spending account. I just don't do that ;)

    Continue reading
    Shopify2020-02-26
Found 533 reviews