Shopify Reviews

Updated Jul 29, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 934 of over 1,090 reviews

4.2
80%
Recommend to a Friend
90%
Approve of CEO
Shopify CEO Tobias Lütke
Tobias Lütke
613 Ratings
Pros
  • "Flexible work hours and good work from home support(in 67 reviews)

  • "Get to work from home, great benefits(in 47 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "The experiences that gurus have seems to be very different from that of RnD/ other disciplines(in 28 reviews)

  • "Higher ups preach "work/life harmony" (work/life balance) but you'll get side eye if you try to leave the office before 5 on a Friday(in 18 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Good place

      Jun 14, 2021 - E-Commerce Specialist in London, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Nice teams to work with and learn from

      Cons

      Demanding hours to keep a work life balance

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Loved my time at Shopify, and a great company for anyone to work for who thrives on change

      Mar 1, 2021 - Senior Merchant Success Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Fast paced and highly innovative company to work for. - Fantastic global employees, who are really very talented. - Excellent perks and benefits. - Opportunity to travel globally and frequently (pre COVID-19). -

      Cons

      - Expectations of staff and the hours of work was challenging. - There is little to no progression opportunities. - Very hierarchical - leaders in all regions have little to no interest in building relationships with employees who aren't at their level or more senior. - The product is moving away from being inclusive and open (via API to 3rd parties), and merchants are forced to use Shopify product as opposed to what is best for their business. For example Shopify Payments - merchants are penalised (via rates) if you decide to use another payment solution to Shopify Payments.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Great culture

      Feb 22, 2021 - Production Engineer 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Their rapid growth keeps things interesting.

      Cons

      Early on their remote journey

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 4.0
      Former Employee

      Good

      Mar 11, 2021 - Dropshipping 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      A really easy website to navigate and use to set up your own website

      Cons

      Hard to get going with little money

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 3.0
      Current Employee

      excellent

      Jan 12, 2021 - Sales Representative in London, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      easy to use and user friendly

      Cons

      a bit stiff and oldschool

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      A good team at SHO

      May 23, 2019 - Content Producer in King's Lynn, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good team and a good family atmosphere

      Cons

      Sometimes there is not enough focus on certain projects

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 3.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Shopify

      Nov 15, 2016 - Guru (Remote) 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - work from home - swag - learning varied skills

      Cons

      - laidback culture is not actually laidback - poor support - insufficient training

      Continue reading
      5 people found this review helpful
    8. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Best Company I've Ever Worked For

      Jul 13, 2021 - Technical Sourcer 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - It's the only company that's ever truly valued my skillset and actually taken my feedback into consideration. - Unlimited PTO isn't just lip service. I'm going to end up taking ~5 weeks this year and that's not including Holiday's or summer Friday's (we've been given all summer Friday's off...it's great) - Remote first. No plans to return to an office (this can definitely be a Con for some people) - Business is booming. I don't worry about getting laid off. My role continues to grow as the company grows.

      Cons

      - We probably aren't paying top of market in the US. I can almost certainly get paid more working at a FAANG. I believe we're revising comp right now, but I don't have particularly high expectations. Pay certainly isn't terrible, but there's room for improvement. - Senior leadership can sometimes come across as callous when addressing employee concerns. I get it to some degree (people complaining about work from home still when we've known about it for over a year, for example), but I think they could strike a softer tone sometimes. - There's a handful of people who have been promoted into positions that they simply aren't equipped for anymore. We've scaled quickly and hired a ton of great people in the process. As a result, you sometimes have really strong teams led by really weak Managers. This has definitely contributed to some (not all) of the attrition we're seeing

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    9. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Success comes at a cost.

      May 9, 2021 - Account Executive in Waterloo, ON
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - brilliant, entrepreneurially minded people who are inquisitive - developed lots of great friendships with folks who achieve big things and are generally awesome - values high self awareness and constant personal development; if you're a junkie for lifelong learning - you will love the massive library of tools and general language used in work related conversations - tons of benefits + perks - great if you're prone to ADD/ADHD tendencies as things shift so quickly to trends and company hyper-growth stage in its business cycle; likely you will thrive as you really need to juggle so much and understand a lot of "context" - folks adapt quickly to this exciting space; lots of resilience building

      Cons

      - typical golden handcuffs problems faced by any big tech firms with shiny perks and paycheck - not for someone who wants structure - ^ yet ironically, there's a big emphasis of hiring mid managers externally to help with mgmt challenges -- there's a shift of structure being placed, and messages from top-down are not the clearest - people can drink the Shopify Kool-aid and there is a level of obsession and heavy hustle mentality instilled (i.e., people work long hours and stay online) in order to be successful -- insecure overachievers beware in order to balance sanity and health

      10 people found this review helpful
    10. 5.0
      Current Employee

      I feel like I finally made it

      Jul 18, 2021 - Data Scientist in Toronto, ON
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Amazing mentors, leads, and directors - Folks have cared about my growth - I've learned soo so much - I'm treated respectfully - I respect The Company's leadership and The Company's mission - My compensation is competitive - I love my work

      Cons

      - Really, my only gripe involves the working-from-home culture. I'm a social person so missing out on office spaces and meeting colleagues in person has been a downer. I feel like sometimes I don't know too many people. I get that this is the format during COVID, and I appreciate how The Company committed to the digital-by-default format so as to (eventually) make it the best possible experience, but there are growing pains.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 934 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Shopify Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Shopify? Share Your Experiences

    Shopify logo
    or