SimpliVity Reviews

Updated 24 Mar 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.3
86%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
SimpliVity CEO Meg Whitman
Meg Whitman
1 Rating
Pros
  • "Exciting technology in a fast paced development environment(in 9 reviews)

  • "The management team is the best I've work with(in 9 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "The company is growing at an astounding rate which means there is a lot to be done(in 6 reviews)

  • "Cannot speak to post HPE acquisition but before that:(in 5 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      The best company I have ever worked for....

      3 Nov 2015 - Sales in London, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      A "big company in formation". A collaborative working environment with a revolutionary and ground breaking product. Excellent management team, they ask for your feedback - good and bad - and act upon it. We are an experienced and passionate team and it has been a positive and exciting experience. It does not get much better.

      Cons

      It is a start up, so we could do with more resource in places, usual growing pains.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    2. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Going well

      2 Oct 2015 - Solutions Architect 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Company knows what it wants to be. Product is a breeze to position and when customers understand the power of what they're getting, they love it. Management are sensible and trust employees to make improvements to process as they see fit.

      Cons

      Early stages at the company so processes either don't exist, or are broken as we're scaling. This can be distracting but it's probably the reason you join a startup...

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    3. 4.0
      Former Employee

      VP

      9 Oct 2017 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great product and solid management team

      Cons

      Completely undersold to HPE who I'm not sure still understand the value prop.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 4.0
      Former Employee

      Pre-HPE aquisition review

      24 Mar 2020 - Software Engineer 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Cannot speak to post HPE acquisition but before that: * Well organized and focused on execution and growth. * Exciting environment, got to work with very talented people.

      Cons

      Cannot speak to post HPE acquisition but before that: * Job and future uncertainty leading up to IPO/acquisition.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      It was a good ride

      13 Dec 2019 - Engineer 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Cutting-edge product. Greatest people I worked with.

      Cons

      A revolving door of VPs, Sales and Engineering.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 5.0
      Current Employee

      The "rocketship"

      29 Oct 2015 - Director in Westborough, MA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I love SimpliVity for countless reasons. Some of the most important ones are: 1. I can move the needle. Every day I wake up jazzed to come to work because I know I can solve challenging problems and make an tangible impact. 2. I work with a bunch of rock stars. Working at a smaller company means we've been able to hire the best and the brightest. There's nothing like being surround by motivated, intelligent and extremely hard working people. 3. The technology is SO cool. Actually, I take that back, "cool" doesn't do it justice. The Omnistack is a disruptive technology that is revolutionizing the IT landscape. I truly feel I'm helping engineer a historic product! 4. Career opportunities are plentiful. As company continues to add significant headcount, there is significant room to make progress in your career, whether you are junior, or further along in your career. Net-Net, this is NOT a job I come to just for a paycheck. I love what we're building, the people I work with and how much ownership I feel in the success of the company. Hands down, the best place I've ever worked.

      Cons

      As with any small company, work life balance can be a challenge. For me, this isn't an issue. I have seen other people who are challenged by the intensity level and hours required here. That said, I often say that people put in long hours here, not because they feel they have to, but rather because they want to. Many of us feel that every single hour we put in, brings the company that much closer to success.

      1 person found this review helpful
    7. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Great place to work- awesome atmosphere

      12 Nov 2015 - Accounting Associate in Holden, MA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      People are fantastic. There is a very eclectic group. I've become friendly with people in various departments. We have quarterly meetings where you hear the latest and greatest news and get to meet our global team. I'm always intrigued about what other people do for SimpliVity. Roberta, the receptionist, is awesome. She genuinely cares about the team and creates a wonderful entrance each day. The finance management team is amazing. This is the first time I have ever truly felt as though I am part of a team and they have my back. Every day I'm thanked for my contributions by various members of management. It feels wonderful. It's nice when the CEO comes running by and knows my name :)

      Cons

      I have two things that I would change about my experience here: 1) I don't always feel info is communicated across the board about procedures. Expense reports for example. It's up to each hiring manager to make their new hires aware of policies and process. I don't always feel like people are given that info. 2) The food. The food is good, it's awesome. It's an amazing benefit. The Con to it? It's hard not to over indulge.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 2.0
      Current Employee

      A view from the deck of the Titanic

      16 Jan 2017 -  
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Tremendous opportunity to build something meaningful and to stake-out your contributions to the company. Engineering senior leadership is fantastic. Benefits are average.

      Cons

      With the exception of engineering, senior executive leadership is awful. Product management is incapable of learning from their mistakes and Marketing is dillusional about brand awareness. Sales is weak and not agile enough to sell into use cases (most are former storage sales and can only speak intelligently about storage). The company hasn't been actively hiring in over a year amid layoffs. For such a phenomenal product, it's really disappointing to watch as the business fails to execute on what they need to maintain competitiveness. You will go years without raises, bonuses, or any career growth, even with substantial contributions to the business. Benefits are lacking. There is no longer a free lunch and vacation is 15 days. There is no maternity leave for pregnant mothers unless you want to go on disability (at a significantly reduced paycheck ) or take FMLA and not get paid at all. Very few women are in leadership positions and no women have been promoted to VP during my employment. Much of the goings-on across the various organizations are kept secret. Political issues among organizations are profound and most things are done bottom up instead of top down due to the lacking strength of the leadership in place. Most organizations are severely understaffed due to layoffs and budget constraints with no open reqs to replace the trimmed off employees. Simplivity has so much potential. It's sad to see this happening.

      Continue reading
      9 people found this review helpful
    9. 4.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Hyperconvergance Technology Leader

      18 May 2016 - Program Management in Northborough, MA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Really cool technology that is at the forefront of the industry! For people who work best in well structured environments will find themselves right at home as a SimpliVity Team Member. Lots of focus on process oriented, programmatic approach to project /task execution. CEO is working very hard to drive the company forward and likes to focus on the team and not himself. Technology leader in an emerging IT market that is on the cusp of going viral. Great free lunch program, free healthy snacks and coffee! Most benefits are competitive with companies in the industry. Really good, medical, dental and vision, supplementary benefits are being rounded out. Met lots a great people at SimpliVity, a real sense of teamwork among most Team Members. Met some really smart people on my team that I have a ton of respect for as fellow practitioners.

      Cons

      For people that like less structure, less process or very loose definitions, this may not be the best fit culturally. The company is somewhere between start up and IPO, and doesn't follow the "silicon valley" model, so don't expect ping pong tables or foosball, but it is not rigid either. No 401k match right now, no tuition reimbursement right now either.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    10. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Proud and grateful to be part of the SimpliVity family

      23 Oct 2015 - Marketing Demand Generation Associate in Westborough, MA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      This is an amazing company leading the way in Hyperconvergence. It's run by the most knowledgeable, creative, and inspiring people in any industry. The streamlined enablement process gave me all the tools I needed to be extremely success in my position, and to truly have an understanding of the company and humble mission to simplify IT. We do this by being the only company to offer the best of both worlds, x86 cloud economics as well as enterprise capabilities, converting all IT below the hypervisor. Plus SimpliVity has free catered lunch everyday AND an amazing salad bar with lots of great options on it as well as snack and fresh fruit available all day.

      Cons

      It can sometimes be challenging scheduling a meeting conference room due to them being already booked. I think we need a bigger boat.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 95 Reviews

    Work at SimpliVity? Share Your Experiences

    SimpliVity logo
    or