Sodexo Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Sodexo Reviews

Updated 23 Jun 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 4175 reviews

3.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
61%
Recommend to a Friend
64%
Approve of CEO
Denis Machuel
168 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "long hours of work, extra hrs not paid(in 112 reviews)

  • "Upper management schedules training sessions with no warning(in 107 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Recruiting Coordinator in Newcastle under Lyme, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sodexo full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Everyone is trained regularly on policies and procedures. Ample opportunity to climb the ladder - all vacancies advertised internally. Long service is rewarded and pay is reviewed annually

    Cons

    Big company so if you're quite passive opportunities will pass you by

    Sodexo2019-06-12
  2. "Assisstant Accountant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Senior Accountant 

      I worked at Sodexo full-time

      Pros

      Good Place to work. Enjoyed working.

      Cons

      No specific Cons. Enjoyed working.

      Sodexo2019-06-11
    • "Not a bad place to work"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Prison Custody Officer in Peterborough, England
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      No Opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Sodexo full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      Have worked at HMP Peterborough for 6 months now and I enjoy going to work every day. Every day is different and every day is challenging in many different ways. Lots of good staff and a fun, friendly atmosphere. Great support for staff during what can be challenging times as you deal with some very challenging individuals on a daily basis. Plenty of opportunity for overtime at time and half rate. Some good staff...

      Show More

      Cons

      Some early starts (earliest is 6:30am) and late finishes (latest can be 8:15pm). Some staff have to do nights - usually 1 week a year or 1 week every 8 weeks depending on department. Staffing levels can vary which can put pressure on staff but this is improving through continuous recruitment rounds.

      Advice to Management

      Continue to invest in and develop those with potential - recognise those who join the organisation with experience and skills and help them to progress.

      Sodexo2019-06-22
    • "Good"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Glasgow, Scotland
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      No Opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Sodexo part-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Very Easy tasks Zero Hours Contract

      Cons

      Long shifts! But they do go by fast

      Sodexo2019-05-30
    • "Good pay"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Catering Assistant in Newcastle, England
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Sodexo part-time for less than a year

      Pros

      Good pay and friendly staff to work with

      Cons

      Constantly being moved around into unknown areas

      Sodexo2019-05-19
    • Helpful (1)

      "Mixed Feelings"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Food Service Assistant in York, England
      Doesn't Recommend
      Positive Outlook
      No Opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Sodexo part-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      The team at Sodexo are friendly and hard working, I have made friends for life here.

      Cons

      The management can be poor. I often feel under pressure to come into work when I am sick and cannot find cover. We are responsible for finding our own cover even when we are very sick. Some of the management is very unprofessional.

      Sodexo2019-05-28
    • "If your face fits"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Customer Service Representative in Leeds, England
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      No Opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Sodexo full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Here are a list of pros...... You get paid at the end of the month, that's it....

      Cons

      Management don't have a clue how to communicate with staff. only progress if your face fits, super late hours. Few staff members have brown noses from being up the management

      Advice to Management

      Treat your staff as people and not a number

      Sodexo2019-05-30
    • "General manager"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - General Manager 
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Sodexo full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Great growth opportunities Good perks at work

      Cons

      Not a very competitive salary

      Advice to Management

      Set more achievable and realist gp targets

      Sodexo2019-05-11
    • "Friendly interview process and staff"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      No Opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Sodexo part-time

      Pros

      Casual and Flexible working hours.

      Cons

      Not much opportunities for progression.

      Sodexo2019-05-06
    • Helpful (1)

      "To be avoided at all costs."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Prison Custody Officer 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at Sodexo full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      Not a bad starting wage

      Cons

      Poor shift patterns. Unpredictable day. Back stabbing colleagues. Favouritism. Bad management. No consistency. Management bullying and abuse of staff. Hiring completely the wrong candidates to c over a persistent lack of staff. An unsafe and dangerous place to work due to staffing levels. Always in the press.

      Advice to Management

      Replace the whole management team. They are corrupt and bullies.

      Sodexo2019-06-05
    Found 4175 reviews