State Farm Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

State Farm Reviews

Updated Nov 21, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.1
45%
Recommend to a Friend
36%
Approve of CEO
State Farm CEO Michael L. Tipsord
Michael L. Tipsord
2,414 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Pay is not the best but the work life balance makes up for it(in 403 reviews)

  • "there are no benefits like medical dental or vision(in 232 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great, many great benefits here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at State Farm full-time

    Pros

    Great atmosphere great management loved working here

    Cons

    None that I can think of

    State Farm2018-02-21
  2. "Day to day work zzz"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Worker in Highbury, England

    I worked at State Farm full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good friends made while there

    Cons

    Have to ask to go toilet

    Advice to Management

    Get a life

    State Farm2019-08-15
  3. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineering in Glasgow, Scotland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at State Farm full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    It's a good company and well run

    Cons

    None I can think off

    Advice to Management

    None

    State Farm2019-01-18
  4. "customer service"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at State Farm

    Pros

    good training, nice atmosphere. great experience

    Cons

    lunch could be longer,wage could be better,

    State Farm2017-09-26
  5. "Decent work life balance to be found"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at State Farm full-time

    Pros

    Enjoyable quality of work. Good progression

    Cons

    Long hours and no early responsibility

    State Farm2017-09-11
  6. "work benefits great and foward thinking"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at State Farm

    Pros

    great place to work and would recommend it

    Cons

    old fashioned but very supportive

    Advice to Management

    good work

    State Farm2017-07-27
  7. "not bad"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I worked at State Farm

    Pros

    not a bad company to work for

    Cons

    personal growth is relatively minimum

    State Farm2014-08-06
  8. Helpful (438)

    "An Amazing Decline/Trust Your Gut"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at State Farm full-time

    Pros

    (At the time) Fair pay and predictable bonus structure They were pretty good at covering travel expenses and paying them back quickly Diverse workforce & diversity initiatives Fun and funny coworkers Opportunities for growth Again, this was all four years ago and has likely changed

    Cons

    (At the time and now, according to other comments) Arrogant to a fault Total lack of innovation & willingness to innovate Odd attachment to the company's past (which prevents progress) High number of veterans (20+ years) who are determined to get that retirement money, and therefore, are resistant to change and technology Heavy reliance on command and control management style Poor decision-making that... leads to losses of all kinds

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    When I was first hired to State Farm back in 2010, I felt truly blessed and fortunate. I felt I had found my work "home," and that I would be able to learn and grow over time, and watch my career develop. And guess what? It did. I held three different positions at State Farm, each "better" than the last in terms of challenge, growth, and pay. I used to brag to others about State Farm and actively try to recruit... them. I was a true believer and evangelist. State Farm was like an abusive relationship in that, there were times when things were good! Really good! And then, there were those bad times... Even though my career was progressing, I was met at every level with some of the most hateful, spiteful, narcissistic leadership you could ever imagine. Egomaniacs and control freaks of the highest order. It was almost like they didn't want us to succeed, for fear that we may take their jobs someday. The behaviors got so bad that I even told one of my managers, "There's no amount of money in this world that could get me to do your job. You all seem miserable." This was toward the end of our relationship, of course. In each role, my managers found something, anything they could to harp on, and once I fixed that, something new would pop up to "fix." It was a moving target. They never taught, they only scolded. They treated employees of every age like children, from age 21 to age 61. It was disgraceful. Others took the time to focus on my personality. My work product was excellent and above standard according to one, but they always shifted the focus to my "happiness." "Are you happy? You don't seem happy. Others are worried that you're not happy. Are you happy? Your happiness, or lack thereof, is affecting the team." When I'd ask clarifying questions like, "What makes you think I'm not happy?" "How is it affecting the team?" "Describe a time when you distinctly thought I wasn't happy..." they couldn't do it. Never could. It morphed into vague generalizations and hearsay (made up stuff). They could never give me actionable specifics, and therefore, I could never correct the "problems." At the time, I did not realize that I was witnessing the beginning of the end. Everything that happened to me was symptomatic of a company preparing to enter into decline. Instead of leadership banding together and figuring out how to fix it, they chose to eat their babies. And they're paying for it dearly now. The second part of this title is to trust your gut, and this is where I'll speak to current employees: When I quit State Farm, people thought I was crazy. I had a great title and pay. I had climbed through the ranks relatively quickly. The path was clear, but I wasn't willing to fight off psychopaths along the way. So I trusted my belief that I could do better for myself, and I did. You don't deserve poor treatment from anyone, and especially not your employer. Sometimes you have to vote with your feet. Although you will be brainwashed, threatened, and intimidated, State Farm is not the end all be all. There is life outside of SF. There are other industries. Regardless of what you do, you have picked up some valuable skills that are highly transferable in the marketplace. Don't give up on yourself. Start saving money and get out of there. You will survive and you will be better for it.

    Show More
    State Farm2018-03-09
  9. "Sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Marketing Representative 

    I worked at State Farm full-time

    Pros

    Bonus were great when you were able to sell

    Cons

    Leads are scarce not easy to sell with competitors are half the price

    State Farm2019-11-21
  10. "Great Place To Learn The Business"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Insurance Account Representative 

    I have been working at State Farm full-time

    Pros

    Every day brings new challenges, and you learn just about everything you need to know to one day get your name on the door.

    Cons

    You can get bogged down by customer interactions and administrative tasks outside of your scope of work.

    State Farm2019-11-21
Found 8451 reviews