State Farm Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

State Farm Reviews

Updated 23 Jun 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 7994 reviews

3.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
42%
Recommend to a Friend
33%
Approve of CEO
State Farm CEO Michael L. Tipsord
Michael L. Tipsord
2228 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great Benefits, Great People to work with(in 504 reviews)

  • "Great work-life balance - you can plan your work schedule around your class schedule(in 376 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great, many great benefits here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at State Farm full-time

    Pros

    Great atmosphere great management loved working here

    Cons

    None that I can think of

    State Farm2018-02-21
  2. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineering in Glasgow, Scotland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at State Farm full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    It's a good company and well run

    Cons

    None I can think off

    Advice to Management

    None

    State Farm2019-01-18
  3. "customer service"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at State Farm

    Pros

    good training, nice atmosphere. great experience

    Cons

    lunch could be longer,wage could be better,

    State Farm2017-09-26
  4. "Decent work life balance to be found"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at State Farm full-time

    Pros

    Enjoyable quality of work. Good progression

    Cons

    Long hours and no early responsibility

    State Farm2017-09-11
  5. "work benefits great and foward thinking"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at State Farm

      Pros

      great place to work and would recommend it

      Cons

      old fashioned but very supportive

      Advice to Management

      good work

      State Farm2017-07-27
    • "not bad"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I worked at State Farm

        Pros

        not a bad company to work for

        Cons

        personal growth is relatively minimum

        State Farm2014-08-06
      • Helpful (350)

        "An Amazing Decline/Trust Your Gut"

        StarStarStarStarStar
          Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
          Doesn't Recommend
          Negative Outlook
          No Opinion of CEO

          I worked at State Farm full-time

          Pros

          (At the time) Fair pay and predictable bonus structure They were pretty good at covering travel expenses and paying them back quickly Diverse workforce & diversity initiatives Fun and funny coworkers Opportunities for growth Again, this was all four years ago and has likely changed

          Cons

          (At the time and now, according to other comments) Arrogant to a fault Total lack of innovation & willingness to innovate Odd attachment to the company's past (which prevents progress) High number of veterans (20+ years) who are determined to get that retirement money, and therefore, are resistant to change and technology Heavy reliance on command and control management style Poor decision-making that leads...

          Show More

          Advice to Management

          When I was first hired to State Farm back in 2010, I felt truly blessed and fortunate. I felt I had found my work "home," and that I would be able to learn and grow over time, and watch my career develop. And guess what? It did. I held three different positions at State Farm, each "better" than the last in terms of challenge, growth, and pay. I used to brag to others about State Farm and actively try to recruit them....

          Show More
          State Farm2018-03-09
        • "Great experience overall"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Former Employee - Insurance Sales Agent 
          Recommends
          Neutral Outlook
          No Opinion of CEO

          I worked at State Farm part-time for less than a year

          Pros

          Met an amazing amount of people, left early almost everyday latest shift was work until 7pm, and boss would treat us to food often because of our hard work

          Cons

          Must obtain all your licenses, cannot come into work unless you obtain or show that you’re working on obtaining them. If you don’t reach a certain quota set by management you will get a warning, no commission until you sell 10 autos, 5 health, 5 life, and home

          Advice to Management

          Don’t make employees stay home to study while they have bills to pay because it makes them want to find a new job once all is done and over with. Meanwhile letting people who don’t even have 1 license work in the office for 3-4 months and get paid

          State Farm2019-06-23
        • "Good company but there are flaws in their management system"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Former Employee - Claims Specialist in Dunwoody, GA
          Recommends
          Negative Outlook
          Disapproves of CEO

          I worked at State Farm full-time for more than 3 years

          Pros

          Opportunity to move up in the company is available, make a lot of great relationships with good people, modern work environment. Can gain a lot of great experience. Most managers want to see you move up. Great health care benefits.

          Cons

          If you don't like your manager you won't like your job. Very strict punctuality system. Some managers micromanage, work load is heavy every single day. Raises are small even if you've exceeded all expectations. 4 x 10 schedule may consume your energy. Accrual based PTO system which gives you next to no days. Can't work from home.

          Advice to Management

          Eliminate the point system and stop doing phone interviews-meet people in person. Provide more PTO days. Allow opportunity to work from home.

          State Farm2019-06-23
        • "Great if Your Personality is Geared For It"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Current Employee - Associate Claims Adjuster in Murfreesboro, TN
          Doesn't Recommend
          Positive Outlook
          Disapproves of CEO

          I have been working at State Farm full-time for more than 3 years

          Pros

          Stability, weekends off, understanding management

          Cons

          Some holidays may require work Advancement is slow

          State Farm2019-06-22
        Found 7994 reviews