Sue Ryder Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Sue Ryder Reviews

Updated 9 Nov 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.5
64%
Recommend to a Friend
74%
Approve of CEO
Sue Ryder CEO Heidi Travis
Heidi Travis
74 Ratings
Pros
  • "Sue Ryder is such a fantastic charity to work for(in 10 reviews)

  • "Really great cause to be a part of(in 8 reviews)

Cons
  • "Sue Ryder spends less than half of its expenditure on charitable activities(in 6 reviews)

  • "The ratios between fundraising spend and income are very poor(in 5 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great time at Sue Ryder"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Manager 
    Recommends

    I worked at Sue Ryder part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible working and lovely people

    Cons

    Not much of a gap roles

    Sue Ryder2019-10-21
  2. "Best place of work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Manager in Bury St Edmunds, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Sue Ryder full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Staff are great, volunteers are brilliant. The work was brilliant. Career progression as I started off as a volunteer

    Cons

    Changed the system to electronic, which made it into mindless work

    Sue Ryder2019-10-17
  3. "Treated like a nobody felt like a nobody"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Assistant Manager in Teignmouth, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Sue Ryder part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Taking pride in a job that as a whole does a lot for a great cause.

    Cons

    No appreciation or thanks. No consistentcy with area managers, we had 5 different ones in the 4 years I worked there so every time the whole system changed. Then they wonder why it doesn't work!!

    Advice to Management

    More consistentcy, listen more to the people actually running the shops on a daily basis instead of popping in once in a blue moon and disrupting everything. I felt as though I was being pushed out of a job that I loved. No goodbye or thank you when I left. All you care about it yourselves, ( in my area anyway ) people that have been with the company for years I still see and they are being pushed out and gotten... rid of. So unfair and not professional. Good luck because in my area, I think your going to need it ☹️

    Show More
    Sue Ryder2019-11-09
  4. "Would not recommend"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Volunteer Coordinator in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Sue Ryder full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    None that I can think of

    Cons

    A toxic environment, not supportive

    Advice to Management

    Value your staff and volunteers

    Sue Ryder2019-11-06
  5. "Terrible place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Sue Ryder full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The volunteers. Without them this place would be nothing.

    Cons

    2 faced staff that cause trouble because they want your job then they get it the day after you hand your notice in when you can't take anymore. Lack of training but then it's your fault for not doing the job properly. Area management refuse to help unless you kiss their butt as they only care about themselves. Poorly run, no sense whatsoever & blame staff for poor sales. Long hours, no overtime... paid.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Listen to staff who work in the store not just ones that visit every so often & sit in their car on the phone! Not all shops can be run the same way, different areas require different ways of being run. A shop in an area with high employment cannot be run the same & charge as high a price as a shop in a well to do area. Listen to the staff as they live there & know the area! Please realise when... certain staff members are causing trouble to get what they want. Both the manager & myself left within a week of each other due to lack of training & trouble caused by the sales asst. We got blamed for everything even though we'd both asked area manager for help but because we weren't her favourite, she didn't want to know & promoted the troublemaker as soon as we left. The area manager also fired the next manager for apparently fiddling figures. Doesn't anyone find this suspicious & think why are so many people leaving or being fired? Maybe it's because it's the area manager who isn't as honest as you think!

    Show More
    Sue Ryder2019-10-14
  6. "Sue ryder review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Sue Ryder full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great colleagues and work environment.

    Cons

    generally pay is low and company always runs on tight budgets

    Sue Ryder2019-09-03
  7. "Worked and served customers on the till."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Retail Assistant in Keighley, England

    I worked at Sue Ryder part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Kind staff Lovely atmosphere Fantastic customers

    Cons

    Shift work Mainly weekend openings as this is busiest time

    Sue Ryder2019-08-19
  8. "Great Charity, shame about the lack of training and support"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Retail Shop Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Sue Ryder full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Working with volunteers is amazing.

    Cons

    Ineffective training from people who don’t know the business. Lack of support for the managers, who give so much more because of their generous heart to customers. Lack of internal promotion, they don’t promote from within.

    Advice to Management

    Give employees a chance to progress internally, just like we give volunteers a chance. Reduce your employee retention by caring about employees like they care about patients and customers.

    Sue Ryder2019-09-02
  9. "Okay to work for, paid peanuts, HR needs to take bullying reports seriously."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Administrative Assistant in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Sue Ryder full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Fantastic charity to work for, very rewarding and some staff are wonderful. Some office groups are a laugh to be with! Fantastic work put in all around, well done to our nurses.

    Cons

    Experienced a lot of belittling, bullying, and favouritism around the office. If your face didn't fit you'd be constantly picked on and used as a scape goat if someone was having a bad day. When reported several times this were always ignored. Doesn't appear to be a proper HR department which is easy to contact. Didn't just happen to me, saw it happen to several other members of staff. Things get swept under the... rug very quickly. Salary is low, understandable for a charity, but still low.

    Show More
    Sue Ryder2019-07-31
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Hard work but very rewarding"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Care Assistant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Sue Ryder part-time

    Pros

    Good team work and friendly people

    Cons

    Poor wages, very high management expectations

    Sue Ryder2019-07-12
Found 120 reviews