Teach First Reviews

Updated 23 May 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.8
62%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Pros
  • "Agile working was useful, childcare options were a top focus(in 10 reviews)

  • "Great approach to flexible working, supporting you to work from any location and broadly choose hours that work for you (within reason)(in 9 reviews)

Cons
  • "High staff turnover as a result, unhappy workers and zero career progression - the same people always get top roles to cover maternity leave(in 7 reviews)

  • "Politics in the team, high staff turnover(in 5 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great place to work!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Development Lead in Birmingham, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Teach First part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Incredibly supportive policies and processes which genuinely enable a good work-life balance and values staff member's contributions. Mission-driven organisation which places trust in its staff and has strong leadership. Creative and innovative too. A great place to work!

    Cons

    Few opportunities for promotion/progression due to staff structure.

    Teach First2020-04-20
  2. "Nepotism is real but at least you can work from home"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Officer in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Teach First full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible working arrangements Salary is good Regular social events Office in great location CEO is very visible which is very rare at organisations

    Cons

    It appears that people are promoted to senior positions because of who they know. Whilst one can argue that the individual was promoted because of their skills/capabilities, it is VERY convenient that these individuals are ‘close friends’ with hiring managers. An elitist organisation - the organisation aims to help kids from low socio-economical backgrounds and the organisation does not represent the people they wish to help...

    Continue reading
    Teach First2020-05-23
  3. "Flexible, caring employer working towards a meaningful mission"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Copywriter in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Teach First part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Flexible, family-friendly and trust you to get the job done.

    Cons

    As a part-time employee I find that too much of my working week is taken up with meetings.

    Teach First2020-04-02
  4. "Fantastic, mission & values driven charity"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - L&D Business Partner in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Teach First part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Amazing people. The best people I've ever worked with. A real sense of team, and commitment to each other and the mission of the charity. Very forward-thinking charity. Great approach to flexible working, supporting you to work from any location and broadly choose hours that work for you (within reason).

    Cons

    Few formal learning opportunities. But team people made up for this, in terms of development that came out of regular conversations with colleagues.

    Teach First2020-03-10

    Teach First Response

    March 31, 2020Head of Employee Experience and Development

    Thank you for your review. We're really happy you enjoyed your time with us, especially our approach to flexible and agile working. Giving people the opportunity to work in the ways that suit them and their lives is important to us. You're right that we could do more on the formal learning opportunities. We're working to improve our learning and development so what we offer is clearer and the opportunities we have are what our employees need.

  5. "Teach first"

    5.0
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Teach First Teacher in Manchester, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Teach First full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Development programs. Support from leaders

    Cons

    Heavy workload. No work/life balance

    Teach First2020-03-03
  6. "Amazing!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Teach First full-time

    Pros

    Agile working Flexible, Employee well-being assistance

    Cons

    Budget cuts, but to be expected in a charity.

    Teach First2020-03-03
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Doesn't stay true to it's values"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - IT Developer in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Teach First full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Agile working and benefits. Salaries are fair and in line with the industry

    Cons

    Within the IT department a recent change in senior management has resulted in a new culture of fear, blame and bullying to achieve results within an already overworked department. This has been raised directly to the CEO on multiple occasions and ignored. Given how this this behavior is well known and several people have spoken up it would suggest it is tolerated if not endorsed by the Exec level?

    Continue reading
    Teach First2020-03-29

    Teach First Response

    March 31, 2020Head of Employee Experience and Development

    Thank you for your review. We are particularly grateful for the hard work from the technology team as we transition to virtual ways of working in the current crisis. Our values place a high priority on speaking up, and the team have been able to do so regularly. That does not mean that people will always agree with your position. There are many vital changes being made within technology and some of them are difficult and challenge established ways of working. We believe this will lead to a positive, supportive culture where we can deliver exciting and major tech developments we have planned over the next few years. Although change can be uncomfortable, we do not tolerate bullying and harassment. Any such claims would be investigated fully and if you have concerns and evidence, please do make a formal complaint and it will be investigated objectively.

  8. "Great training but short, rough ride"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Science Teacher 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Teach First full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    personal development and future work prospects

    Cons

    Managing behaviour is usually life shortening

    Teach First2020-01-27
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Agile working"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Coordinator in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Teach First full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Agile working Nice people

    Cons

    Relentless high workload and pressure Disorganised Reactive approach to strategy

    Teach First2020-02-06
  10. "Great people and great charity"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Insight Officer in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Teach First full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Company culture - Salary for charity sector - Fast-paced and high energy

    Cons

    - Always changing due to contract changes, but that's to be expected in a charity

    Teach First2020-01-08
Found 87 reviews