Teach First Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Teach First Reviews

Updated 18 Sep 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 98 reviews

3.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
69%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Teach First CEO  (no image)
10 Ratings
Pros
  • "The training and support on this programme is outstanding(in 15 reviews)

  • "Teach first provides training and pays for the initial teacher training(in 11 reviews)

Cons
  • "Poor work life balance but they are changing this for next year(in 11 reviews)

  • "Long hours and terrible work life balance(in 8 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Exceptional and Life changing place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Teacher On Programmer and Then Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Teach First full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I never had purpose until I became a teacher on the programme. Since becoming a qualified teacher on the programme, and then working within the charity with such enthusiastic "can-do" people, my life and connections made have been immeasurably richer

    Cons

    Politically impotent, always the whipping boy of the current government. Organisation had years to show its teeth with regards criticising policies that increased child poverty.

    Teach First2019-09-18
  2. "Challenging and Rewarding"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Math Teacher in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Teach First full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Challenging Rewarding Steep learning curve independent

    Cons

    can be lack of support exhausting

    Teach First2019-09-16
  3. "Best company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Web Developer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Teach First full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great team and very inclusive.

    Cons

    Competitive/ Target based with some pressure

    Teach First2019-08-20
  4. "LDP"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Trainee Teacher in Manchester, England
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Teach First full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Paid route into teaching

    Cons

    Cult-like organisation Very poor work life balance TF do not support trainees with problems at school

    Teach First2019-09-16
  5. "Was not happy there"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Teacher in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Teach First full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Teaching is an inspiring job

    Cons

    Pressure from all directions and an unhelpful school staff

    Teach First2019-09-14
  6. "Excellent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Brand Manager 

    I worked at Teach First part-time

    Pros

    World class training and support

    Cons

    Competitive/ Target based with some pressure

    Teach First2019-07-25
  7. "Education"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Programmer Manager 

    I worked at Teach First full-time

    Pros

    - colleagues are brilliant. - location is great.

    Cons

    - can take time to get decisions through.

    Teach First2019-07-31
  8. "Fun experience!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Branch Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Teach First part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Valuable experience, loved the training day!

    Cons

    Not much structure, sometimes too much left on your own, role not always interesting

    Teach First2019-05-23
  9. "Teach First - Great!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Teach First full-time

    Pros

    Vibrant office, youthful, dynamic, energetic. Fun place to work. Very good agile working policy.

    Cons

    Takes ages to get things done - leadership often say yes to things without considering the wider implications

    Teach First2019-04-17
  10. "OK"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Teach First full-time

    Pros

    everything was ok i believe

    Cons

    nothing to comment on tbh

    Teach First2019-05-02
Found 98 reviews