Totemic Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Totemic Reviews

Updated 23 Mar 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.4
62%
Recommend to a Friend
93%
Approve of CEO
Totemic CEO Philip Rann (no image)
Philip Rann
8 Ratings
  1. "Excellent workplace"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Digital Marketing Executive in Grantham, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Totemic full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Everyone is very friendly, given more than adequate time to settle in and acclimatize. Brilliant community spirit. Work is interesting and engaging - time passes quickly. Plenty of opportunites to learn, grow and develop with fantastic support from management and colleagues. Training is comprehensive. Staff are compassionate and empathetic towards each other which creates an amazing work environment. Flexible hours. A fair contract that protects both employees and management equally. Working at Totemic, it's clear the aim is to help people, which is reflected in the work done and company ethos. Each department within the company has it's own roles and workload but we all interact to accomplish the 'end-goal' which is helping people in debt move on with their lives. Management genuinely works hard to engage employees, support team-building and promote the importance of a good work-life balance and put excellent procedures in place to enforce these values, treating staff as human beings, not human resources. Free on-site parking. On-site cafeteria with healthy, fresh food, all more than reasonably priced. Fried breakfast in the mornings, roast dinner on Wednesdays and free fruit available to all staff. Relaxed dress code. Free wifi! Free tea and coffee are also available. Employee health plan that covers mental health and an abundance of other potential issues, from debt advice to childcare support. Staff are well rewarded for hard work. Also very impressed with the consideration Totemic takes towards environmental issues, legitimately trying to help do their bit for the cause and encouraging staff to follow suit.

    Cons

    None spring to mind for me

    Totemic2020-03-23
  2. "A supportive and forward-thinking company."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing Executive in Grantham, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Totemic full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Totemic is a very welcoming company - management are very supportive and it's a friendly team to be a part of. I'm proud to be a part of an organisation that does so much for charity, the local community and its staff and there is a real sense of community spirit here.

    Cons

    None that I can think of.

    Totemic2020-03-12
  3. "Overall"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Consultant, Technical Architect in Grantham, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Totemic full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great team and manager

    Cons

    Always making redundancies. Not always at the forefront of senior managements minds.

    Totemic2020-01-09
  4. "very good company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Case Officer 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Totemic full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    they treat the staff well

    Cons

    quite a tricky job to get your head round

    Totemic2019-12-18
  5. "Good organisation"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Software Developer in Grantham, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Totemic

    Pros

    Persistent pursuit towards perfection . Continue the good job

    Cons

    Less dynamic - could increase speed . More policies and procedures could be introduced

    Continue reading
    Totemic2019-10-23
  6. "Great Company - Fantastic Support"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Iva Case Officer in Grantham, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Totemic full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The people are incredible here to work with, company has fantastic opportunities and benefits. The support system is great, helps with in work situations and also out of work situations. Its a trustworthy company and would recommend to anyone.

    Cons

    I dont have any cons about the company

    Continue reading
    Totemic2019-10-16
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Sad to leave, great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Team Leader in Grantham, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Totemic full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The people. They were a major plus for me. The people I worked with made my working days enjoyable. There is a real sense of teamwork The culture. They are a company that gives back..to the people (in many different ways) and also to charities Location, was great for me as I live in Grantham. Totemic House. Good atmosphere, friendly place to work.

    Cons

    Staffing levels - at times high volumes of work and not enough people, but that said you do get support from others if you are struggling

    Continue reading
    Totemic2019-06-26
  8. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Administrative 

    I have been working at Totemic part-time

    Pros

    love working here, they offer loads of great benefits for their staff

    Cons

    Managers need more training

    Totemic2019-06-26
  9. "A fair company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Grantham, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Totemic full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Flexibility, empowerment, allows me to have a good work/life balance. The Company will help someone in need, I have witnessed this a number of times.

    Cons

    The company is very reactionary and doesn't seem to have a stable strategy to work to.

    Continue reading
    Totemic2019-06-24
  10. "Supportive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager in Grantham, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Totemic part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    A flexible place to work that enables you to balance work & home life. A relaxed atmosphere vis a vis dress code. A very supportive management team. Lots of opportunities for the tenacious!

    Cons

    You may need to push hard to ensure sustainable change.

    Totemic2019-06-24
Found 49 reviews