TrueLayer Reviews

Updated 22 Apr 2021

To filter reviews, or .
3.9
66%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
TrueLayer Co-Founder and CEO  Francesco Simoneschi
Francesco Simoneschi
15 Ratings
  1. "A great firm that is going places"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in London, England, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at TrueLayer full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    There is a drive to build products and services that will support the future of financial services. There is a highly collaborative approach to work and the clients that are signing up are some of the biggest in their respective industries. The future is bright, the more recent hires have bought new levels of thinking and ideas that can only benefit TrueLayer long term.

    Cons

    As the company scales it is experiencing growing pains - it's no longer a small, one office firm. It's becoming global and as that occurs, some process and teams are inevitably playing catch up. That is the same at every scaling firm and I believe that is what is behind some of the negative reviews. While that's uncomfortable progress is being made the firm just needs to endure it communicates effectively.

    Continue reading
  2. COVID-19

    "Opening up finance"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Product Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at TrueLayer full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Great place to work if you are ambitious, there are a lot of opportunities to work on exciting projects and not a lot of hierarchy so you can really have an impact - Intelligent and caring co-workers - Strong direction from leadership, the strategy is clear across teams and doesn't change often which is refreshing for a startup - Good at promoting people internally so there is a sense of progression

    Cons

    People processes feel a bit immature for a company of this size. Getting the tech setup and onboarding during covid could have been smoother.

    Continue reading

    TrueLayer Response

    April 8, 2021

    Thanks for the feedback! We know we still have areas where we can improve, like those you’ve suggested, but its great to see you recognise some of the great stuff that TrueLayer has to offer. It’s awesome to hear you shout out our amazing colleagues and also the opportunities that TrueLayer gives us all. We are really grateful for your contribution and hope you continue to enjoy your time with us for years to come. Josh, People Partner.


  3. "Best place I've worked in my career"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Product in London, England, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at TrueLayer full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    + Commitment to transparency, ownership, and customers + AMAZING set of clients + Very exciting strategy for 2021, lots of effort made to explain to everyone why we're doing what we're doing + 100% committed to diversity and supporting all kinds of different people, including women, people of colour, LGBTQ+, parents... + Culture of constant improvement, we don't shy away from pointing out where we can do better + Hugely ambitious across the business + Generally great leadership

    Cons

    - Finding the right information, files, documents etc. can be a pain (honestly couldn't think of anything less trivial, surely that's a great sign!)

    Continue reading

    TrueLayer Response

    February 23, 2021Head of People

    Your feedback means a lot to us - I'm so happy to hear that you are enjoying your time here. Transparency and a focus on continuous improvement are two cornerstones of the TrueLayer environment that we are super proud of. Every team member, including you, makes it possible for us to create and maintain this type of culture. We are so grateful for your contribution. Vaso, VP People

  4. Helpful (8)

    "Downward spiral"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Operations in London, England, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at TrueLayer full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Fast growing company Interesting space/product Lots of very smart people Lovely founders

    Cons

    A lot of strong contributors and long serving employees are leaving the business overnight, with no notice or cause There is a gender diversity problem with deep roots. There are no women in the executive team. There is also problem in gender pay equity (this coming from a men). I've had a few conversations with my female counterparts, and this is glaring. The people team is reactive. They are more focused on appearances rather than tackling the underlying cause of problems. They always have an excuse when constructive feedback is share.

    Continue reading

    TrueLayer Response

    February 25, 2021VP People

    Hi there. I'm disappointed to hear about your experience so far, and I’d love to work together to see if we can change it into a positive one. We acknowledge that there is always room for improvement at TrueLayer. Getting feedback from our team is extremely important and one of the fastest ways we can identify and rectify issues. If you feel comfortable, I'd love to speak directly about your experience and where you think TrueLayer can improve. You can reach out to me, someone in the People team or the leadership team any time to chat. We are working hard to address issues relating to gender diversity at TrueLayer and I know a member of the People team or a member of our Women’s Employee Resource Group would be happy to discuss this in more detail. Vaso, VP People

  5. Helpful (9)

    "Inexperienced and bad engineering practices"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Product Owner (PO) in London, England, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at TrueLayer full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Everyone is young and very friendly, looks like a party everyday.

    Cons

    I didn't expect to find a full company run of inexperienced people, especially the engineers building the product. There was a big data leak at end of 2019 because of horrible systems design, having customers calling that they were getting bank transactions of other customers. This was not confidential because all the customers were affected during days, but the culture of the company to hide it made me shiver and wanting to leave. The incident was a reflection of what you can see on day to day. Things go to production with no testing, no good engineering practices, it is like a bunch of graduates experimenting things. We are excellent at marketing and sales (we give freebies a lot, revenue is not important) and that's how we get the big names as customers, with promises of "we can do everything", and then product delivers under pressure and it is ok to fail. Fail fast and fix slow but keep the issues undercover.

    Continue reading

    TrueLayer Response

    January 8, 2021

    Hey, thanks for your post. We did have an incident in Dec 2019 which was duly reported to all effected clients, the ICO and the FCA. I’m sorry to hear that you haven’t always been happy at TrueLayer, and so I’d strongly encourage you to reach out in whatever way works for you, so that we can discuss further - Vaso (Head of People)

  6. COVID-19
    Helpful (11)

    "Woman power - singular"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Operations Associate in London, England, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at TrueLayer full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Truelayer was a great place to work. There's that startup work hard, play hard mentality. The Cofounders are sensible, solid people to lead and the company has attracted great talent over the years. The company is likely to be successful

    Cons

    Unfortunately with covid and as the company size grows, there's a lot of blind spots for the Cofounders. One in particular is a big problem with firings and gender. Males in teams are very often preferred over women. They get bigger pay hikes, bigger responsibilities, even for the same level. Not all teams are like this but there are very obvious cases where underperforming men in teams still get more respect and support than women in the same team. This is especially true when the head of the team is a woman. If the Cofounders knew, I believe they wouldn't stand for it, but the most senior females in teams are completely without check and fire anyone who disagrees. People are fired without notice. There's no performance plans or even flags that performance may be an issue. There's even cases where people are fired and their manager has refused to explain why they're even fired. Their access to tools are immediately withdrawn and they have no chance to let the Cofounders know what's going on. There's some very senior and self-serving members of the team who have the Cofounders' ear and can do anything they like.

    Continue reading

    TrueLayer Response

    February 22, 2021Head of People

    Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback. I'm genuinely sorry to hear that your experience at TrueLayer wasn’t great but hope you take away some positives from your time here. We don’t take feedback like this lightly - the issues you have highlighted are important, and we’ll be looking into them internally to see what we can do to improve things. Fairness, open communication, and compassion are principles we actively strive to apply across all of our people processes, and it’s clear that somewhere along the line, we’ve fallen short. I apologise for that. My team and I are always open to receiving direct feedback if you feel comfortable reaching out, otherwise, I wish you all the best for what’s next. Vaso, VP People

  7. Helpful (8)

    "A few bad apples transformed this place"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Talent Acquisition in London, England, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at TrueLayer full-time

    Pros

    Some genuinely smart and lovely people Smart cofounders (that, unfortunately, don't like confrontation and to make tough decisions) Interesting problems and products

    Cons

    TrueLayer hired (and more shockingly recently promoted) one rotten apple that just happens to have the most critical role in shaping the culture of the company. This person has the favor of the executive team, tells them everything they want to hear, but is clearly out of his/her depth. Some people look for solutions, other looks for excuses. I expect this review will just be tossed aside (or even potentially removed from GD) as just an ex -disgruntled employee. But those who know, know.

    Continue reading

    TrueLayer Response

    February 22, 2021Head of People

    Hey, thanks for your feedback. I am sorry to hear that your experience here wasn’t the best, and even more so as it appears that we worked in the same team. Nevertheless, I’m glad that your time here wasn’t wholly negative and I hope you take with you at least some positives and some valuable learnings. I wish you the very best for what’s next. Vaso, VP People

  8. Helpful (8)

    "Incompetent engineering"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in London, England, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at TrueLayer full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good work like balance. You may come across some friendly people.

    Cons

    Bad engineering culture, just a bunch of incompetent engineers making things work. Most team leads are very inexperienced, they just make random decisions, with no clue about good system design. The hierarchies in engineering promotes a very toxic culture, everyone is trying hard to get up the ladder to gain more authority than focusing on improving the products. They are very good in marketing and promotions which is the only reason they have good customers. You will never choose their products if you know how bad their internal systems are designed.

    Continue reading

    TrueLayer Response

    February 25, 2021VP People

    Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to hear that your experience here wasn’t the best but glad there were some positives such as the work life balance, as well as the great people that we have at TrueLayer. You have highlighted some issues that are important, and we’ll be looking into this internally to see what we can do to improve things, from looking at keeping high quality systems and processes of decision making. We are always open to receiving direct feedback if you feel comfortable reaching out, otherwise, we wish you all the best for what’s next!

  9. Helpful (2)

    "Amazing company with amazing people achieving amazing things"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Developer in London, England, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at TrueLayer full-time

    Pros

    + The culture. It is a people-first company where everyone is truly valued, no matter the age, sex, or race. + The level of transparency. There is practically almost nothing that isn't openly shared across the company. + Great passionate and super smart people who all have really big ambitions. +New exciting challenges everyday. + Fast-moving company.

    Cons

    -The hyper-growth process may feel a bit overwhelming for some people. I suppose this is a natural side-effect that will happen to any company experiencing such growth. TrueLayer is putting a lot of effort into streamlining this process and is doing great at managing this!

    Continue reading

    TrueLayer Response

    February 25, 2021VP People

    Cheers for the feedback. It’s great to hear you’re enjoying your time at TrueLayer. We’re so pleased you’ve felt the impact of our people-first approach and embrace the high-level of transparency. It’s also really nice to hear that you are working on projects you find exciting. We are grateful for your ambition and all you do - keep rocking! Vaso, VP People

  10. Helpful (4)

    "Toxic culture"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Operations in London, England, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at TrueLayer full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Interesting product Some exceptionally talented staff

    Cons

    Toxic workplace culture - over-speaking, favouritism, and a significant blame culture. Issues when escalated are ignored/not acted on. Instead, when negative reviews are left of the firm, they encourage current employees to leave positive reviews. The company has lost significant contributors recently, with little or no acknowledgement of that fact.

    Continue reading

    TrueLayer Response

    February 23, 2021Head of People

    Hey there. I really appreciate your feedback, and want you to know that we’re taking it seriously. Ignoring issues and blame-culture go directly against our company values, I’ll be looking into this and making an effort to improve things moving forward. Fairness, open communication, and compassion are principles we actively strive to apply across all of our people processes, and it’s clear that somewhere along the line, we dropped the ball. I apologise for that. We are always open to receiving direct feedback if you feel comfortable reaching out, otherwise, we wish you all the best for what’s next. Vaso, VP People

Viewing 1 - 10 of 21 Reviews

Popular Careers with TrueLayer Job Seekers

Executive Assistant
Learn About the Job
JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at TrueLayer? Share Your Experiences

TrueLayer logo
or