UBS Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

UBS Reviews

Updated Dec 4, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.6
69%
Recommend to a Friend
79%
Approve of CEO
UBS CEO Sergio P. Ermotti
Sergio P. Ermotti
1,750 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Intern 

    I worked at UBS

    Pros

    Good employees; inclusive and supportive workplace

    Cons

    Stressful; high workload; long working hours

    UBS2019-12-03
  2. "Director"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Sales Manager 

    I have been working at UBS full-time

    Pros

    Structured, Safe, Secure and Seiss

    Cons

    Low Risk Appetite and Little Change

    UBS2019-12-02
  3. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Director in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at UBS full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good company, great culture and investment in employees' development

    Cons

    Always room for improvement on renumeration and appraisal process

    UBS2019-11-21
  4. "Completing an obstacle course with two hands tied behind your back"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at UBS full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Flexible working pattern College style atmosphere

    Cons

    Hierarchical Cut to the bone Buck passing Decision by consensus

    UBS2019-12-04
  5. "Horrible culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - IT Business Analyst in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at UBS full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good salary & benefits Good experience Lots of interesting work New dedicated building in the City

    Cons

    I believe I got unlucky with the team at UBS. The manager and 90% of other senior people and BAs were originally from India (I was in a Front Office IT BA role in London though). The culture felt drastically different to most of other Financial Services firm in the City I worked at. Overwork, understaffing, burnout, constant attacks from management, army-like bullying are the norm. The head of the IT department came... from the trading desk and he brought the cut-throat competitive desk culture into IT, where it's very harmful (I doubt it can be helpful in any business really). More of it, this place will attempt to drain all of life out of you via giving you 5 times more than you can handle. This will to make you so weak, that they can start changing your very personality. The management likes meek, obedient workers who never say No to anything, who never challenge things. Staying below the radar and only thinking about your own political interests was the only viable strategy to survive and to avoid attacks. When I felt I started becoming part of the system, I left.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    IT likes to be given time and space to do good work: don't bring the desk's cut-throat culture into IT. Have checks and balances: don't give ED's the power to lock all decisions and upward communication to seniors on them, thus giving opportunity for misinformation and political moves

    UBS2019-12-03
  6. "UBS Global Banking/Investment Banking"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Managing Director in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at UBS full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Highly entrepreneurial organization. Truly global. Clear strategy. Great people - hungry. High sense of ownership and accountability - impossible to achieve in a bank run by NYC where bankers are civil servants. Excellent research (Evidence Lab)

    Cons

    The compliance department has hijacked the institution. Judgment has been de-emphasized in favor of rules.

    Advice to Management

    Invest more in IT.

    UBS2019-11-18
  7. "Average at best"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Year Placement 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at UBS for less than a year

    Pros

    A great company culture with people willing to share their experiences and knowledge.

    Cons

    Varying experiences based on team allocation. Other interns have had near-perfect experiences, others have not.

    Advice to Management

    Ensure interns are fully recognised and provide a structured plan for them.

    UBS2019-12-01
  8. "Pretty decent for a job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Analyst in London, England
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at UBS full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Good work life balance - Good work culture, work together, people always happy to help. Not hyper aggressive

    Cons

    - Things take a while to get done

    UBS2019-11-11
  9. "Good place to advance software career, too much red tape stifles creativity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Senior Software Engineer in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at UBS for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good place to grow and develop as a Software Engineer. Good exposure to lots of technologies.

    Cons

    Too much red tape, complex and confusing processes. Also too many managers doing the same job and meddling with the creativity of software teams.

    Advice to Management

    Step back and let the Engineers do their jobs properly.

    UBS2019-11-09
  10. "Good work life balance, and salary is ok"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Associate 

    I have been working at UBS full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good work life balance, and salary is ok

    Cons

    Environment, management and big company policies

    UBS2019-11-20
Found 5277 reviews
</>Embed