Unicom Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Unicom Reviews

Updated Sep 29, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

1.7
3%
Recommend to a Friend
6%
Approve of CEO
Unicom CEO Chris Earle
Chris Earle
14 Ratings
  1. "Meh"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Retention Specialist in Manchester, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Unicom full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great staff, treated well if you worked hars

    Cons

    Not that much, bit school-playground in terms of rules and gossip

    Advice to Management

    Chill on the white shirt thing

    Unicom2019-05-10
  2. "Awful"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Unicom full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Weekends and bank holidays off

    Cons

    Poor management, high staff turnover. Company doesn't know what they're doing. Would not recommend to anyone.

    Advice to Management

    Leave

    Unicom2019-09-30
  3. "Awful"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Advisor in Wythenshawe, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Unicom full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Can not think of any.

    Cons

    Extremely high turnover in staff. I started at the beginning of the month with 15 others and by the end of the month, I was the last one to leave. The aim was to sell a mobile contract to businesses so they could divert business calls to this mobile. The mobile phones offered were outdated and even if a customer was to accept the SIM card, majority of them don’t even activate it - meaning your target is not met.... Targets are unachievable and therefore people are sacked, so they don’t get their commission on any sales they made. Managers were not professional, they would also be on the phone and put customers on mute and call them names and laugh. This was their idea of making in a fun environment to work in.

    Show More
    Unicom2019-07-21
  4. "Awful company, avoid like the plague"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - TELESALES Representative in Sheffield, England
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Unicom full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    None that I can think of

    Cons

    Poorly paid, comission often not paid, ordered to work extra hours for no extra pay if office targets not met. High stress. Management don't have a clue how to manage.

    Advice to Management

    Train better managers, support your staff more. Learn how to pay on time

    Unicom2019-07-04
  5. "Telesales representative"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Manchester, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Unicom full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good People, fast culture, accepting

    Cons

    Micromanagement, unrealistic salary expectations (OTE earnings)

    Advice to Management

    Focus on employee retention

    Unicom2018-04-18
  6. "Full time Telesales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Telesales in Nottingham, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Unicom full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great people On fridays they tone it down from very strict to slightly strict The sales environment when a deal was done was okay

    Cons

    Very Boiler room type job High labour turnover - Don't expect to make friends as they'll be gone next week Pointless strict rules on dress Nobody seemed happy to work there

    Advice to Management

    They make employees feel very much like a hamster on a wheel. Quite a gossipy place

    Unicom2017-12-11
  7. "Sales role"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Unicom full-time

    Pros

    People are nice, training isnt hard

    Cons

    Micromanagement, 30 miunte "after hours" penalty if you are late

    Advice to Management

    Care about the employees more

    Unicom2018-01-05
  8. "ok at times, but bad overall"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Unicom full-time

    Pros

    friendly staff with some decent staff incentives. Office did have quite a high tempo feel.

    Cons

    Found the office to be unprofessional at times with managers often being inappropriate. The company has a poor staff attrition rate.

    Advice to Management

    Hard to know where to start. But I feel more emphasis on listening to staff would be a good start.

    Unicom2017-06-17
  9. "Relaxed"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Supervisor in Bolton, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Unicom full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    days go by quick and you get to speak to a lot of different kinds of people. opportunity to get hands-on experience

    Cons

    company's not encouraging good behaviour and police people on irrelevant things. work ethic also not a strong suit

    Advice to Management

    supervise people on relevant things, and be a bit more proactive when trying to tackle issues, don;t just be there to collect a paycheck

    Unicom2017-03-20
  10. "Graduate Management Programme"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - GMP in Manchester, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Unicom full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The GMP is excellent and gave me a really good start in my career.

    Cons

    They employ some fairly out of date HR policies. Much of the actual call centre was run like a school. White shirt policy, ask if you can use the toilet etc.

    Advice to Management

    Nothing they don't already know.

    Unicom2017-02-22
Found 39 reviews