Verizon Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Verizon Reviews

Updated 20 Jan 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.6
69%
Recommend to a Friend
61%
Approve of CEO
Verizon CEO Hans Vestberg
Hans Vestberg
975 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Work life balance; don't take into account copper call in when making metric requirements(in 1605 reviews)

  • "Continuos change in strategy by upper management(in 583 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review

    "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Representative in Fort Worth, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Verizon full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great benifits Time off Parental leave when having a baby Discounts

    Cons

    Family life balance because if retail hours

    Advice to Management

    Have open conversation about growth and movement with reps

    Verizon2019-12-12
  2. "GM"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Verizon full-time

    Pros

    Benefits and paid time off

    Cons

    Stress but any job in sales can be

    Verizon2019-05-10
  3. "Strong portfolio and committed management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Agilent Technologies in Reading, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Verizon full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    High quality and professional employees committed to the business and its customers. Strong portfolio.

    Cons

    Poor processes and systems slow the business down and frustrate customers. US centric sometimes.

    Verizon2020-01-17
  4. "DWDM"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Telecommunications Engineer in Reading, England

    I have been working at Verizon full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Flexible , friendly atmosphere

    Cons

    Distance, long commuting , long hours

    Verizon2019-12-10
  5. "Fast moving...but incredibly complex"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Verizon full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great Employee Relation Groups and Development Programmes

    Cons

    Stagnant promotion process and history on underpayment

    Verizon2019-11-13
  6. "Try hard to look after their staff"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - IT Consultant/Project Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Verizon full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Enjoyed the serious roles I had in the 20 years service

    Cons

    Your just a number in a very large company

    Advice to Management

    Make sure you focus on your good employees else they will leave

    Verizon2019-10-18
  7. "Could be better.."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Client Service Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Verizon full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good work / Life balance Decent bonus - if company is performing at an optimal level

    Cons

    Demographically speaking, pay should've been better Too much bureaucracy in the company - as expected for a major global firm

    Advice to Management

    Some managers can be very micro-managing, cut it down.. Treat your employers like you would treat your customers - With respect Cut the politics and get real with your employees. Some of us can see through thee you and the image you're portraying. Cut down completely on favoritism amongst employee. Remember all for one, one for all

    Verizon2019-09-16
  8. "Quite good company to work for."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Regulatory Affairs in Reading, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Verizon full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great benefits and flexible working

    Cons

    Not any really any cons.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what your doing

    Verizon2019-09-07
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Billing Analyst/Credit Control"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Billing Analyst in Reading, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Verizon full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Big Telecom company, great colleagues, lots of support.

    Cons

    Massive number of redundancies over the years for back office jobs as they outsourced several functions to Asia, no job stability.

    Verizon2019-08-16
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Stay Away"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Representative in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Verizon full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Internal moves possible, benefits are good, travel insurance, food is ok, location in central london

    Cons

    Oath, as we have been known as, is a sinking boat many cannot wait to get off. Every year is the same cycle of redundancies and $ cost cutting all to continue to make a loss. In the market we are a joke and struggle to deliver sales. Our products are for the most part unsellable, hence our numbers. The positive times of Yahoo have gone. Verizon invested money into the business when they first purchased us but what did that investment return? Our sales teams are stretched to the point that some people are doing three persons jobs (op’s/AM’s) which is so unhealthy for work life balance. The annual layoffs are coming and it’s worrying we cannot seem to get HR right either. There’s was no leadership leaving them to be stretched and burnt out. A bully joins and the only girl in HR who we could talk to is asked to leave. It made no sense and unfair. But bullying is all throughout the company. A very senior woman in the Dublin office is a tyrant. People complain all the time yet nothing is done. People feel fearful to join meetings with her and when complaints are raised they are told ‘it's just the way she is’. The way it seems to work is that if you are friends with people at the top or in the Dublin Office/Irish Mafia you are untouchable. Senior HR have been known to cover allegations of bullying before and I hope instead they start to crack down on these individuals. I want us to win but I don’t see how it is possible with the lack of investment and lack of support we receive. I believe in our local sales leadership but we are worried she may be asked to leave this year too in the redundancy rounds due to numbers. I hope they don't cut our benefits to save costs which is a rumour I've heard.

    Show More
    Verizon2019-09-03
Found 20141 reviews