Wayfair Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Wayfair Reviews

Updated Oct 15, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 1739 reviews

3.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
56%
Recommend to a Friend
78%
Approve of CEO
Wayfair CEO Niraj Shah
Niraj Shah
1,165 Ratings
Pros
  • "They give a work life balance that no other company has been able to provide(in 163 reviews)

  • "fringe benefits (including free snacks)(in 159 reviews)

Cons
  • "I think our salaries are slightly below average (the price to pay for the work life balance though)(in 62 reviews)

  • "sometimes upper management is hard to communicate with(in 57 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (8)

    "Great Place to Grow"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Recruiter in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Wayfair full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    It's a great place to learn, be challenged, and develop your career. There are endless opportunities to lead projects, learn from intelligent colleagues, and develop new skills, all in an exciting, very fast-paced environment. You feel supported by senior leadership who actually want to see you succeed and grow and will give you opportunities to lead and drive strategy for the business. Wayfair also has a fantastic... company culture with great work/life balance. We work hard, but we have a lot of fun as well!

    Show More

    Cons

    Leveling/titling at Wayfair is a little interesting and doesn't always seem to match with years of experience. Most people seem to come in at the same level, regardless of the prior years of experience they have, and they tend to down-level people quite frequently from where they were at previous companies. That being said, you're given the support and tools to build your career and move up the ladder pretty... quickly.

    Show More
    Wayfair2019-03-12
  2. "Superb company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager in Peterborough, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Wayfair full-time

    Pros

    Great company to work for. They recognise you if you work hard and you're good

    Cons

    Long driving days very tiring

    Wayfair2019-08-13
  3. Helpful (3)

    "Disjointed"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Merchandising Associate in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Wayfair full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Bonus scheme. Gym allowance. Friday beers. 'Party' culture. Health and dental insurance. Perks make job very attractive.

    Cons

    No clear UK-specific strategy communicated to teams by management as EVERYTHING is headed from the EU HQ in Berlin. Department directors either based in the US or Berlin, leading to disjointed approach and the UK left behind. No HR team based in London, closest you'll get to any support is a video call, entirely defeats the point of a face-to-face chat with a supportive figure. Cliquey culture amongst Category... Management (CM) and sales-based priorities creates fragmented culture for the rest.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    CM bring the sales but Wayfair would be nothing without the other teams. Respect everyone equally.

    Wayfair2019-09-09
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Not a nice place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Category Management in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Wayfair full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Have made solid progress over the last few years financially.

    Cons

    Unprofessional working environment. A lot of gossip. People don’t seem to stay for long . No sense of what’s next for employees/opportunities to grow.

    Advice to Management

    Less gossip. Continue to care about employees past the first few months. Big picture needs reiterating.

    Wayfair2019-09-07
  5. Helpful (12)

    "Ruthless Employer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Category Management in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Wayfair full-time

    Pros

    - Opportunities to travel. - Work benefits include gym membership, company funded team outings and massages. - Office facilities.

    Cons

    - Six-month review process used as a means of pitting employees against each other and to scaremonger. Employees are actively encouraged to provide anonymous and often unconstructive peer feedback which lacks clear-cut examples and ultimately does not allow for positive outcome. Consequently, this results in a lack of cohesion amongst team members and leads to an anxious atmosphere within the office and a lack of... job security. - Targets are unrealistic, inconsistent, ambiguous and poorly communicated to employees. - The high turnover of staff is alarming (monthly dismissals/resignations are a common feature of the Wayfair experience). - Employees feel undervalued and face chastisement for failing to hit targets, irrespective of other positive contributions to the company. - As a result of individual pressure on management, new employee training/support is often overlooked and managers do not have sufficient time to reflect and improve themselves. - Certain members of the management team are widely unprofessional and directly contribute to office gossip. Don’t be fooled by the apparent friendly, relaxed and informal atmosphere… Wayfair is ruthless.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Management, your employees care more about job security and feeling truly valued than a free team outing every month.

    Wayfair2019-06-25
  6. Helpful (2)

    "It’s an okay place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Wayfair full-time

    Pros

    - good for recent graduates - ambitious work environment

    Cons

    - slow personal development/promotion - middle management seems to be only consisting of ex-consultants atm - hiring externally rather than promoting people internally

    Wayfair2019-04-25
  7. Helpful (4)

    "Great place for a short time"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Product Specialist in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Wayfair full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great culture, young people and flexibility to try new methods

    Cons

    Lack of management and leadership, retention of talent and career growth

    Wayfair2019-04-23
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Good Company culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Event Buyer in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Wayfair full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great people and they constantly plan fun cultural activities.

    Cons

    I don't have any cons

    Wayfair2019-03-27
  9. "Wayfair"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Warehouse Worker 
    Recommends

    I have been working at Wayfair full-time

    Pros

    I work now in uk and i like my work in this company

    Cons

    Nothing to say abot this

    Advice to Management

    Nothing to say

    Wayfair2019-03-05
  10. Helpful (9)

    "Ok for a year or so but no long term career prospects"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Buyer in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Wayfair full-time

    Pros

    Good company benefits (healthcare, gym contributions, monthly team outings etc)

    Cons

    Not recognised for hard work and length of service which means the longer-serving employees are not motivated (management are aware of this and continue to do nothing about it). Goalposts move at every review to justify why no pay rises given. Pay structure is never transparent and there seems to be no rhyme or reason to it (level 1s on similar salaries to level 2s etc). No real team structure or clarity in career... progression, no clear expectations laid out for this. Wayfair is a great place to work for a year or so when just starting out but there is no real career progression and they mess their staff around by introducing new measures and changing structure constantly. Reviews every 6 months creates an anxious culture of comparing yourself to everyone else (they use a calibration model so they actually do rank everyone against each other). Low motivation and morale seems to be a problem across all departments.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Start caring about employee morale. Work on retaining the staff you have rather than employing new ones (high turnover seems to be their strategy).

    Wayfair2019-03-08

    Wayfair Response

    March 21, 2019Senior Leadership

    We appreciate your feedback and we're sorry to hear that you feel this way about your experience at Wayfair. We care about our employees and strive to maintain a positive work culture. Retaining and nurturing talent is always top of mind for us, which is why feedback like yours is so important to us. We encourage you to share this feedback with HR directly.

    Show Less
Found 1739 reviews