Western Power Distribution Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Western Power Distribution Reviews

Updated Sep 5, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 49 reviews

2.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
43%
Recommend to a Friend
34%
Approve of CEO
Western Power Distribution CEO Robert A. Symons (no image)
Robert A. Symons
30 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good pay, great annual pay increments, staff well looked after(in 8 reviews)

  • "Good salary, some good people, secure work(in 4 reviews)

Cons
  • "Shift workers are paid well but expected to put up with any mismanagement or poor treatment simply because WPD say they are paid well(in 4 reviews)

  • "Again it's all back to the bullying culture so rife within the industry, and so often mentioned in the other reviews(in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Planner G5 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Western Power Distribution full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Empowerment Good pay Overtime is available

    Cons

    No company car unless your very senior

    Western Power Distribution2019-09-05
  2. "Great people bad company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technician in Stoke-on-Trent, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Western Power Distribution full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Money is good enough Certain degree of freedom

    Cons

    No clear direction from management Overworked Mad panic to complete daft defect of the week Work not shared evenly Asked to do tasks not in job role ie design and finanace

    Advice to Management

    Sort out staffing levels

    Western Power Distribution2019-08-30
  3. "Pays well so you can’t leave"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Prefer Not to Say 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Western Power Distribution full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    The salary is good but you feel tied to the company as similar roles outside the business pays less.

    Cons

    Everything else. No concern for mental health. No progression - it’s a “if your face fits” kind of place, toxic working environment

    Western Power Distribution2019-08-12
  4. "Good for people who want stability"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Western Power Distribution full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Stability Good salary Not very stressful Working hours set

    Cons

    Not good for active people who want to develop. People get away with not doing anything, takes ages if you need information or something to be done.

    Advice to Management

    None

    Western Power Distribution2019-04-30
  5. Helpful (1)

    "What a place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Dispatch Clerk in Derby, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Western Power Distribution full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good pay Flexible working hours Team members have each other’s back Career progression available Holiday allowance good Sick pay beneficial A grievance free working environment

    Cons

    Extra staff needed in department No free WiFi No luncheon vouchers Some employees iq is questionable

    Advice to Management

    Faster response to emails with feedback would be beneficial to the team. Apart from that great place to work

    Western Power Distribution2019-04-13
  6. "Good job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Fitter in Worcester, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Western Power Distribution full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good pay, pension and hours

    Cons

    Poor management, time scales and

    Advice to Management

    Retire

    Western Power Distribution2019-04-09
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Unmotivated Staff"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technician in Hinckley, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Western Power Distribution full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Lots of overtime if you want it

    Cons

    Poor Management Style. Lots of 'if your face fits' type of career progression

    Advice to Management

    Need to stop talking about the good old days. Put a stop to staff dictating hoq much work they are going to do. Too many slackers allowed to get away with not working.

    Western Power Distribution2019-04-03
  8. Helpful (3)

    "Moral of staff is at an extremely low point."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Planner in Leicester, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Western Power Distribution full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good pay Able to take ownership of projects Able to take on extra duties in order to increase knowledge for career progression

    Cons

    Changing of the goal posts for career progression regularly Able to progress into certain roles ‘when it suits’ Business set up it like it was 20 years ago, paper heavy company, pre historic computer systems, no internet on computers. Higher managers/policy do not seem to want to make your job any easier.

    Advice to Management

    Listen to and trust your staff more and then they will want to work for you - moral is at its lowest. There are some great employees at this company, unfortunately people do not feel appreciated.

    Western Power Distribution2019-04-16
  9. Helpful (3)

    "The worst job I've ever had."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - WPD - Administrative in Bristol, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Western Power Distribution full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Some of the engineers are nice.

    Cons

    I only stayed for the above average pay, but please don't be fooled. I'm still paying for what my time here did to my sanity. All of the managers are outright bullies, I've never been spoken down to and threatened by a senior until this job. The levels of incompetence are also staggering. We would honestly be baffled as to how certain people got their roles in the first place when they didn't have a clue what was... going on, how to manage people or even any idea on what work we had to do. I was forced to do the work of 2 people and any complaints would be met with the threat of losing my job. I also heard my manager threaten another member of staff when she raised concerns over how much work she had. There are no windows in the office either, which makes for an awful working environment.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Sack them all and start again. The whole company is shamelessly and I imagine illegally (?) rife with nepotism and discrimination.

    Western Power Distribution2019-04-27
  10. "How this organisation has gone downhill"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Bridgwater, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Western Power Distribution full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Good salary and other benefits Good staff

    Cons

    Poor management just looking to reduce costs no matter the consequences. No strategic outlook. Blame culture throughout the management structure. Staff belittled and bullied/intimidated. Old computer systems and outdated methods of business Morale has never been so low and getting worse

    Advice to Management

    Sort out your strategy and keep your trusted staff informed of why you are making odd decisions - listen to their opinions.

    Western Power Distribution2019-04-27
Found 49 reviews