WorldFirst Reviews

Updated Nov 19, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 161 of over 258 reviews

3.5
58%
Recommend to a Friend
95%
Approve of CEO
WorldFirst CEO Jeff Parker
Jeff Parker
19 Ratings
Pros
  • "Free breakfast, chocolate trolley, good coffee(in 41 reviews)

  • "Chocolate trolley is the highlight of the week(in 12 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Some recent growing pains often experienced with companies of our size(in 11 reviews)

  • "In my opinion, this is a finance company that does technology, as opposed to a FinTech(in 10 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    The latest conversations about Finance

    Join the conversation on

    Finance

    1y

    works at 

    JPMorgan Chase

    Anyone else hate banking lingo and make fun of it, but as soon as a discussion starts you say "we dont want to boil the ocean here". Fml. Whats your most despised finance phrase?

    882

    87 Comments

    Finance

    26.3K Members 

    Ask candid career questions

    -1 - https://www.fishbowlapp.com/bowl/finance/posts?cf=gd&utm_medium=Glassdoor&utm_source=glassdoor.co.uk&utm_campaign=Reviews&utm_content=Industry-content-prominent-Reviews&utm_term=WorldFirst~222068
    Join the conversation on
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      A great, growing global company

      Nov 3, 2021 - Anonymous Employee in London, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Exciting global growth - Great employee morale and internal initiatives - Open-ness from CEO and executive team on future plans - Flexible working patterns and positive reaction to pandemic

      Cons

      - Salaries of lower levels could be better - Some restrictive tech due to strict use of Alibaba online software

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 8 years

      Company changed

      Nov 19, 2021 - Anonymous Employee in London, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Nice people Interesting and varied projects

      Cons

      Work/life balance not usually very good - varied depending on role

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Great company for someone who's up for a challenge

      Aug 6, 2021 - Senior Software Engineer in London, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great compensation. Good work-life balance. Has been recently bought by Ant Group, which is one of the largest China's FinTechs - the resources for learning, opportunities for career progression and other activities are great. Great flexibility when it comes to choosing whether to work from home or the office. Really smart colleagues who can teach you a lot. Work from home allowance. I can see a lot of hate towards this company on Glass door because it was bought over by a Chinese company. I don't think it's a bad thing though - labeling a company a "Chinese company" doesn't necessarily make it a bad company that will steal your data or hack into your Instagram account. I literally haven't seen any of the cons mentioned in other reviews during my stay here. In terms of data protection, I think WorldFirst is doing a great job protecting it.

      Cons

      Nothing major that I can think of. More flexibility to work from other countries would be nice. Paid lunches would be nice too.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Not what it used to be

      Aug 4, 2021 - Anonymous Employee in London, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - great bonus, most colleagues are nice and helpful, used to have great perks in the office

      Cons

      - huge employee turnover - not a very modern company to work for - very chaotic at times

      3 people found this review helpful
    5. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      It used to be great (3 years ago)

      Jul 14, 2021 - Senior Software Engineer in London, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Good annual bonus. - Good office. - Good benefits.

      Cons

      - No clear plan. Teams work on multiple projects at the same time. Priorities change a lot(almost every day). - They've got their own technologies, so you are not up to date with technologies used by most of other companies. - Time-consuming release process. - They have a kind of blame culture. If something goes wrong, there is a requirement from business for managers to point the finger to a particular person or a team that is responsible for the issue. This makes people feel uncomfortable and think who they are going to blame if they have to. It's controversial they've got a value `Trust makes everything simple` as there is no `Trust` between colleagues because of this business approach. - People have stopped being interested in sharing knowledge and learning new technologies(probably because they are too busy and they have to learn specific technologies with lack of documentation, at least in English). - Part of their culture is `it's all about money` even if they don't say so(that was my conclusion based on how they treat the employees during projects development, the demanding approach about how things need to be done and the convincing way during my exit interview). - No high pay rise(unless you get promoted but this is a hard thing to achieve).

      Continue reading
      7 people found this review helpful

      WorldFirst Response

      Thanks for taking the time to share your feedback. It’s important for us to hear what we are doing well and also the areas where we need to improve. The acquisition by Ant Group has been a truly exciting time and through the design of innovative technology, it allows us to strive to be the world’s best platform for international trade. The acquisition has brought fantastic opportunity and positive change along with some challenges. For some we understand change isn’t always easy, however, we continue to build a diverse, inclusive and transparent workplace and to have open and honest conversations with our employees. We welcome the opportunity to discuss the points you have outlined. Please feel free to contact the department People Partner or myself directly. Hawa, Diversity and Inclusion Director

    6. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      join if you like to work in a unfriendly enviornment

      Jul 6, 2021 - Manager in London, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      nice bonus. you can get 2-4 month of salary at year-end, if you can survive

      Cons

      discouraging environment for diversity unfriendly environment , teammates work on their own job only not helpful team and lots of political issues from old staff. new joiners are not welcome to the team unattractive pension schemes

      Continue reading
      6 people found this review helpful

      WorldFirst Response

      Thank you for taking the time to submit a review. We’re really sorry to hear that your experience is not the positive one we wish for all of our employees. We recognise that the period of post-acquisition in any company is a time of change, and want to support you through that. Please do reach out to your People Partner or myself to talk through these points raised. Hawa, Diversity and Inclusion Director

    7. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Fast paced and dynamic, high performing culture

      Jun 7, 2021 - Manager in London, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      People are friendly and encouraging. All employees are treated with respect, no matter what level of the organisation. Senior leadership consistently demonstrates our values and look into ways to foster the WorldFirst culture. Really great product and potential to truly dominate the market.

      Cons

      Like any company especially post acquisition, there is a lot of change. If you don't want a challenge, then this may not be the place for you. Whilst WF Leadership team are great at fostering and enhancing our local culture, head office seems to not always place emphasis on their experience regarding our culture and work life balance but things are evolving and changing for the better.

      1 person found this review helpful

      WorldFirst Response

      Thanks for leaving your review. Post-acquisition is always a time for change for an organisation and it’s good to read in your review that this is being embraced. Feedback like this is very valuable – please keep sharing your thoughts.

    8. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Gone through a tough period, but super exciting future ahead

      Jun 9, 2021 - Product Manager in London, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Opportunity, Customer Focus, Transparent, Fun, Flexibility

      Cons

      The takeover has been challenging, but is starting to turn around.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      WorldFirst Response

      It’s great to get this feedback, thanks for taking the time to leave it.

    9. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Huge opportunity if we execute effectively - fast moving

      Jun 9, 2021 - Anonymous Employee in London, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great people Increasing alignment on purpose and strategy Increasing focus on B Business opportunity following closing of consumer business, merging of B businesses Huge opportunity to Win the market not just take part

      Cons

      Can be frustrating as there are communication and cultural differences Rollout of new product has been slow but it feels like we are turning the corner with launch of new product in China soon to come to RoW It can be high pressure - the company has exciting but very challenging growth targets

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      WorldFirst Response

      Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We agree that the Ant Group acquisition has been a fantastic opportunity for WorldFirst and we're pleased that you're on the journey with us. Thanks again and please do reach out to your People Partner with any more thoughts - they are very welcome!

    10. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Despite joining in lockdown, I really feel like one of the team

      Jun 9, 2021 - Manager in London, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Collaborative, varied, fast paced company. A real opportunity for personal growth. Great to see a focus on inclusion and starting to have some great programmes for women. Never worked at a company where you get so many gifts!

      Cons

      Post-acquisition these are exciting times, as with any company in this position it takes some time to settle down. However, it really feels like there is a positive outlook and the opportunities are massive

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      WorldFirst Response

      Thanks for your feedback and great to hear that joining in lockdown has been a positive experience for you. We are very focused on Diversity and Inclusion and a key priority is continuing to make WordFirst an inclusive place to work, where everyone can bring their whole selves to work.

    Viewing 1 - 10 of 161 Reviews

    Popular Careers with WorldFirst Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at WorldFirst? Share Your Experiences

    or