Zalando Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Zalando Reviews

Updated 18 Feb 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.5
67%
Recommend to a Friend
77%
Approve of CEO
Zalando CEO Robert Gentz
Robert Gentz
284 Ratings
Pros
  • "The work life balance is great and I have never been pressured to work out of hours or weekends in my time here(in 42 reviews)

  • "Good team atmosphere, relaxed working environment- flexible hrs(in 41 reviews)

Cons
  • "Gehalt eher am unteren Ende dessen, was(in 28 reviews)

  • "No benefits, very german management/values(in 23 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review

    "Awesome company to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Data Engineer in Berlin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Zalando full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Nice pay Lots of opportunities to learn new stuff Zalando vouchers for employees

    Cons

    People-services team needs improvement. Be ready for ambiguity in salary due to incorrect tax class for first 3 months. Although the money deducted will get reimbursed in full after 3 months.

    Continue reading
    Zalando2020-02-04
  2. Helpful (3)

    "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Operations Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Zalando full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I was very happy with the working atmosphere and benefits.

    Cons

    Overtime work and no flexible working time. That is pretty much it.

    Zalando2016-01-15
  3. "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Assistant Buyer 

    I have been working at Zalando full-time

    Pros

    Work life balance was good

    Cons

    Very corporate enviroment, felt more tech than fashion

    Zalando2020-02-18
  4. Helpful (5)

    "Great spirit and colleagues, questionable top management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I worked at Zalando

    Pros

    Young atmosphere, international people and great projects

    Cons

    Lack of transparency on salary and long-term vision.

    Zalando2018-03-16
  5. "Fair enough"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I worked at Zalando

    Pros

    Good spirit of most people

    Cons

    Overworking depending on the department

    Zalando2017-12-10
  6. Helpful (8)

    "Fluctuating Atmosphere"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Zalando full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Work/Life balance and facilities are good, more so in some offices than others Senior management seem genuinely open

    Cons

    Atmosphere really changes between offices or even teams and areas within offices. Performance Reviews are too heavily based on peer reviews so you can easily be torpedoed by a peer or someone unqualified can easily be pushed into a better position Radical Chaos means people can do things without explaining themselves (and then torpedo people who ask questions in peer reviews, as mentioned already) There didn't seem to be room for promotion

    Continue reading
    Zalando2017-04-07
  7. Helpful (7)

    "Great company for entry level candiates"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Zalando full-time

    Pros

    young, fun, international. lots of events.

    Cons

    lack of opportunities to progress

    Zalando2016-06-25
  8. Helpful (3)

    "Social Media Internship"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Student in London, England

    I have been working at Zalando for less than a year

    Pros

    Great team and lots of responsibility.

    Cons

    I wouldn't find anything negative to say.

    Zalando2015-10-09
  9. Helpful (18)

    "Not bad"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Zalando full-time

    Pros

    Lots of responsibility early on, management by objectives, casual and relaxed atmosphere. 40 % discounts on shoes and fashion sold through the website. Free unlimited drinks including coffee, coke, juices. Frequent team events and big company parties. Expect a fast-paced working environment with lots of things going on every week.

    Cons

    Cramped offices without air conditioning, rigid hierarchal matrix organisation. Lack of break and cafeteria areas. Loud work environment due to open plan office. Strict NDAs creates lots of rumours and speculation about salary and bonuses. Only offered 1 year contracts.

    Continue reading
    Zalando2015-07-21
  10. "Great team spirit and collaboration"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Berlin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Zalando full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    If you are looking to learn and develop your career, Zalando is the right place. I found that every team member is super friendly and helpful as well as dedicated to their job, you would always get the information you need on how to handle you task, which makes it efficient to collaborate. Lead are very interested in your development and needs. I am a single mother and my leads are very flexible and understanding to my needs, they are also willing to offer adjustments so that I could enjoy a work-life balance.

    Cons

    Sometimes the processes are quite complicated, but the company is already looking into implementing tools which will improve the effectiveness.

    Zalando2020-02-18

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 733 reviews