iCar Asia Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

iCar Asia Reviews

Updated 20 May 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 31 reviews

3.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
75%
Recommend to a Friend
90%
Approve of CEO
Damon Rielly
26 Ratings
  1. "Potential company, with poor management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Kuala Lumpur
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at iCar Asia full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Nothing much to point out, iCar is like any other startup with some good ideas and investors cash running and hoping to find its place in market. Depends what you are looking for iCar can be right or wrong place, if you are junior/mid software engineer, this might be good place to learn loads of inconsistent technologies (to give you bigger picture and direct you to what suit you the most). iCar has loads of cash in...

    Show More

    Cons

    Control freak management, with bad attitude. Toxic environment Inconsistent technology stack High turnover, people come and go so often Management/CIO has no idea about technology

    Advice to Management

    Take yourself out of comfort zone, and build standard engineering culture. Try to understand technology and use consistent stack. Recognize teamwork and employees achievements. Get ride of politics and do some work.

    iCar Asia2019-05-20

    iCar Asia Response

    May 23, 2019CIO

    It’s really disappointing to us that you had such a bad experience at iCar, in particular in my team. I wish you had come to see me when you were still around. Something needs to change if we are not creating a culture where people feel they have a voice. The inconsistent tech ...

    Show More
  2. "Good work life balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Kuala Lumpur
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at iCar Asia full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Competitive package, flexible work env

    Cons

    Nothing to advice. Everything is good.

    Advice to Management

    Nothing

    iCar Asia2019-04-05
  3. "One of the best organizations ever"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Kuala Lumpur
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at iCar Asia full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Great team work overall. Very seldom do you see the C-levels working so well as a team. There's no ego, you could literally walk up to anyone and tell them your ideas or constructive criticisms.

    Cons

    In the effort to roll things out quickly, sometimes things are not thought out enough resulting in constant changing of directions especially where customers are concerned. This is expected in an agile environment but could be done better.

    iCar Asia2019-01-17
  4. "Great Work Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Kuala Lumpur
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at iCar Asia full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    This would probably be one of the best learning experiences I've ever had. I had the chance to learn from many experienced coworkers. - You will work harder than you have ever worked before - You will learn a lot

    Cons

    Nothing as such except Salary

    Advice to Management

    Nothing

    iCar Asia2018-11-14

    iCar Asia Response

    May 23, 2019CIO

    Thank you so much for your feedback, it is so good to hear you are learning new things at iCar and that we are helping you develop and grow. We are really looking at ways on how to improve our staff’s career progression and compensation, we have plans to improve so consider your ...

    Show More
  5. "One of the best companies I have ever worked with"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer 
    Recommends

    I have been working at iCar Asia full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Excellent team, Helpful and friendly environment, Flexibility, Emergency leave

    Cons

    Poor salary structure, no lunch or breakfast facility

    iCar Asia2018-09-20
  6. "Amazing Work Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Developer in Kuala Lumpur
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at iCar Asia full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Proactive nice to work at company. Laid back a bit.

    Cons

    More strategic point of view needed

    iCar Asia2018-06-07
  7. Helpful (1)

    "I have been working at iCarAsia full-time for (More than 3 years)"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Solutions Architect in Kuala Lumpur
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at iCar Asia full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Company Culture is amazing. Great People at all levels of the company. Good Technology Stack. Diverse work force.

    Cons

    None really - I lived in Malaysia for 3 years and during these 3 years I worked for iCarAsia and that's how its best for me.

    Advice to Management

    As the company grows make sure that we keep the same motivation, culture and team work

    iCar Asia2018-02-15
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Great Company to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at iCar Asia full-time

    Pros

    - Best company to learn about future automotive industry - Multicultural environment - Flexibility, (shirts and jeans) - Annual teambuilding - Monthly team meeting with current updates and food provided

    Cons

    - Lack of competitive salary - Certain staffs are lazy and likes to delegate tasks to burden others - Insurance coverage are too basic

    Advice to Management

    Everything is good except that the company needs to provide a more competitive package to help retain good staffs from leaving the company.

    iCar Asia2017-10-12
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Kuala Lumpur
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at iCar Asia full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Flexible working hours, embrace agile methodology, competitive salary

    Cons

    Not many benefits & facilities for employee

    Advice to Management

    Give more benefits to employee

    iCar Asia2017-06-16
  10. "strong culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at iCar Asia

    Pros

    push you up to your limits, you'll be surprised you are actually able to achieve the challenge.

    Cons

    demanding working environment, never be able to escape from emails, they'll chase you

    iCar Asia2016-12-01
Found 31 reviews