3M Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

3M Reviews

Updated 23 Jun 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 2581 reviews

3.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
84%
Recommend to a Friend
91%
Approve of CEO
3M CEO Mike Roman
Mike Roman
179 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "More conservative when it comes to working remotely which impacts work/life balance - basically working from home is frowned upon by management(in 48 reviews)

  • "If we need contract workers all the time, then the position should be full time 3M especially in customer facing positions(in 41 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review

    "Great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing Manager in Bracknell, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at 3M full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Innovative - new ideas Flexible Good work life balance Work at own pace depending on your career choices

    Cons

    Big company lengthy processes can be painful

    Advice to Management

    Consistent transparent communication It's not just the high potentials that keep the business running

    3M2019-01-16
  2. "Industrial Placement Student"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Industrial Placement Student in Bracknell, England
    Recommends

    I worked at 3M full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Culture, Salary, Work/ life balance, Great people, Great office

    Cons

    Lots of change - slight disconnect between senior management and rest of company

    3M2019-04-16
  3. "Good to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Electrical Engineer in Manchester, England

      I worked at 3M full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      A nice company to work, they encouraged you to improve.

      Cons

      Sometimes it is hard to work with elders.

      3M2019-06-10
    • Helpful (1)

      "Losing its unique culture"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Bracknell, England
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I have been working at 3M full-time for more than 10 years

      Pros

      Very flexible working, noone here on a Friday! Starbucks onsite.

      Cons

      Open plan offices - can't get any work done. Morale v low. EMEA-wide roles with bans on travel in place. Lots of people leaving.

      3M2019-06-14
    • "MARKETING MANAGER"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at 3M full-time

      Pros

      Great people and values- progressive with sustainability agenda and some market leading products

      Cons

      decision making can be slow and some IT systems are taking time to implement across the whole organisation

      3M2019-03-29
    • "Financial Controller"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I have been working at 3M full-time

      Pros

      Flexible Working Hours Friendly People Good Location

      Cons

      Low Salary Lack of Communication Very Political Slow Moving Company

      3M2019-03-18
    • "market development manager"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Marketing 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at 3M full-time for more than 10 years

      Pros

      innovative, inclusive, sustainability focus, great history and new products

      Cons

      some of the IT systems don't help in the way they should

      Advice to Management

      keep the external focus and balance between short term and long term

      3M2019-03-06
    • "Industrial Placement Student"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I have been working at 3M

      Pros

      Supportive employees. Flexi-time. Real responsibility from day 1.

      Cons

      No cons to working here.

      3M2019-02-05

      3M Response

      February 8, 2019Employment Brand Team

      Hello, Thank you so much for your review! We are so happy to hear that you enjoy working at 3M!

    • "Great company"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Recommends
        Neutral Outlook
        No Opinion of CEO

        I worked at 3M part-time

        Pros

        Flexible, allows you to work at your own pace.

        Cons

        Repetitive work can get boring.

        3M2019-02-01

        3M Response

        February 8, 2019Employment Brand Team

        Hello, Thank you so much for your review! We really appreciate your feedback.

      • Helpful (1)

        "Was alright"

        StarStarStarStarStar
          Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

          I have been working at 3M full-time

          Pros

          Plenty of responsibility and fun

          Cons

          Barely any work to do around the place

          3M2018-12-18

          3M Response

          December 21, 2018Employment Brand Team

          Hello, Thank you very much for your review! We really appreciate you sharing your feedback.

        Found 2581 reviews