Admiral Group Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Admiral Group Reviews

Updated Nov 19, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.7
74%
Recommend to a Friend
93%
Approve of CEO
Admiral Group CEO David Stevens
David Stevens
91 Ratings
Pros
  • "Share scheme - Incentives - Culture(in 24 reviews)

  • "Amazing benefits ( free fruit, gym passes, day aways, movie tickets, buy a book(in 15 reviews)

Cons
  • "You need to wait until shares are 3 years old before you can cash them(in 20 reviews)

  • "Company are flexible with part time working/childcare are brilliant share scheme(in 8 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Lead Recruitment Consultant in Cardiff, Wales
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Admiral Group full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Working with real people who treat you as they do their customers.. amazingly

    Cons

    The initial pay seems low but when you include shares and other incentives it's actually higher than some competitors

    Admiral Group2019-10-18
  2. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Pricing Analyst in Cardiff, Wales
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Admiral Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    lot of advantages, good corporate values

    Cons

    lower salary than average, low evolution

    Admiral Group2019-11-19
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - CSS in Cardiff, Wales
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Admiral Group full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great place to work as a stop gap in career

    Cons

    Hire on merit not on who you play golf with

    Admiral Group2019-10-16
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Fantastic"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Executive in Cardiff, Wales
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Admiral Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Very good interview process and good culture

    Cons

    Promise of progression non existent

    Admiral Group2019-10-30
  5. "Mixed Bag"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Claims Specialist in Cardiff, Wales
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Admiral Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great share scheme **although this has now been changed to a lesser allowance**. Competitive base salaries. Comfortable work environment.

    Cons

    Unprofessional management behaviours(can only comment on former department). Poor communication.

    Advice to Management

    Simplify and communicate.

    Admiral Group2019-10-30
  6. "Got worse as it got bigger"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Consultant in Swansea, Wales
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Admiral Group full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Shares scheme, good working conditions.

    Cons

    Huge pressure, impossible targets, unfair , favouritism

    Admiral Group2019-10-16
  7. "Best company I've ever worked for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Motor Claims Handler in Newport, Newport, Wales
    Recommends

    I have been working at Admiral Group part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    People are very friendly - we have a reputation for being a great place to work, and people are keen to keep this. One of our mottos is "People who enjoy what they do do it better" - a lot of effort is made to make sure work is fun and people enjoy coming to work. Lots of perks.

    Cons

    Sometimes part-time evening staff miss out on perks. You need to wait until shares are 3 years old before you can cash them. The basic wage (not taking shares into account) isn't amazing.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you're doing!

    Admiral Group2019-09-19
  8. "Nice place to work. Good share scheme"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Data Analyst in Cardiff, Wales
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Admiral Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible working. Free fruit. Relaxed working environment. Shares.

    Cons

    Lower than average starting salary

    Admiral Group2019-09-14
  9. "good place to wok"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Baggage Handler in Swansea, Wales

    I have been working at Admiral Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    perks, gym, fruits share, flexibe

    Cons

    long hours, hoirs, hoirs, hours

    Advice to Management

    stop favioriting

    Admiral Group2019-09-23
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Not what they think they are"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Executive in Cardiff, Wales
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Admiral Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great people, lots of after work nights out, good facilities in the building such as consoles/ping pong tables etc.

    Cons

    Little care for personal wellbeing of employees. I have seen this a few times on here and it rings true - particularly in the sales department. You are expected to stay rooted to your chair with only 16 minutes of not being on the phone allowed ALL DAY outside of your lunch and break. That includes toilet breaks etc - meaning you can get told off for going number 2. Progression opportunities are talked about a lot... but are not a realistic possibility with very few positions becoming available and frequently being given to "The lads" very much a boys club culture and if you're not in the clique you've got no chance. Also shocking handling of a bereavement which led to me leaving. Asked me to come back into work the day I found out a relative was terminally ill.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Understand that your employees are people and not robots. Reward ambition instead of allowing your favourites to flourish even if they're not the best for the job.

    Admiral Group2019-09-19
Found 194 reviews