Aegon Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Aegon Reviews

Updated 21 Jun 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 374 reviews

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
70%
Recommend to a Friend
59%
Approve of CEO
Aegon CEO Alexander R. Wynaendts
Alexander R. Wynaendts
61 Ratings
Pros
  • "Bom ambiente de trabalho e gest(in 32 reviews)

  • "Excelente empresa para se trabalhar Possui um excelente ambiente de trabalho e reconhecimentos(in 24 reviews)

Cons
  • "Falta de previsibilidade sobre o futuro(in 22 reviews)

  • "o bons, o que acaba compensando um pouco(in 18 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Progressive and flexible, great values"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - HR-officer in Edinburgh, Scotland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Aegon full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Supportive, recognise ability, flexible, fair

    Cons

    Head office is in Edinburgh

    Aegon2019-06-17
  2. "Not bad. Not great."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Investment Administrator in Edinburgh, Scotland
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Aegon full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Depending on your role, you're trusted to get on with your daily tasks, with little interference. Support is normally available when you need it. Training is generally good. Onsite parking and canteen. When overtime is available, you're not expected to do it.

    Cons

    You're very much a small cog within a big machine. Little, if any, recognition given to your abilities, achievements or loyalty. Opportunities to progress career ladder and pay grades are few and far between. Have seen too many examples of cliquey groups getting ahead. Don't expect any pay rise except the bare minimum each year.

    Aegon2019-06-15
  3. "-"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Platform Administrator in Glasgow, Scotland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Aegon full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Nice people who were engaging

    Cons

    Not that many opportunities, not enough training

    Aegon2019-05-28
  4. "Do not work here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Platform Back Office in Edinburgh, Scotland
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Aegon full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Some of the people are nice to work with and helpful.

    Cons

    Most of the management was useless. They were not interested in knowing their staff at all and did not know how to manage staff. Some colleagues were only interested in them self. The pay is far too low, especially for people who do a good job and have lot of experience and loyalty to the company. A lot of people left around the same time as me and are continuing to leave.

    Advice to Management

    Manage your staff and not the figures on reports.

    Aegon2019-06-21
  5. "Good Company to Work For"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      No Opinion of CEO

      I worked at Aegon part-time

      Pros

      I liked the majority of my colleagues, I was made to feel comfortable.

      Cons

      Some elements of micro management.

      Advice to Management

      You do not always know better.

      Aegon2019-05-07
    • Helpful (1)

      "What is was like to work at Aegon"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Platform Administrator in Edinburgh, Scotland
      Recommends
      Negative Outlook
      No Opinion of CEO

      I worked at Aegon full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      What made my job enjoyable were the people I worked with.

      Cons

      It was very disorganised in terms of managing employees and there were a lot of times where myself and my colleagues were left in the dark about certain new aspects of the business.

      Advice to Management

      I understand that the business world is subject to constant change but make sure to keep employees in the loop. They will be much happier.

      Aegon2019-05-06
    • "Nothing works"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Edinburgh, Scotland
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      No Opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Aegon full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      They’re not firing everyone, just people in England, so for the time being we’re safe.

      Cons

      HR - useless, when you get a response from them it’s usually ‘speak to your manager’ - I won’t, that’s what ye’re there for. Resourcing - the company they use called Sanderson are useless, either don’t get paid or incorrect pay when it comes through. Management only interested in profit, not customer focussed at all.

      Advice to Management

      Treat your customers better, otherwise ye’ll lose them all.

      Aegon2019-05-25
    • Helpful (1)

      "awful"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      Former Employee - Back Office Administrative in Edinburgh, Scotland
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at Aegon full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      parking is good that is all

      Cons

      everything is bad at aegon

      Advice to Management

      get to know your staff

      Aegon2019-05-16
    • "Financial Administrator"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Financial Administrator in Edinburgh, Scotland
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      No Opinion of CEO

      I worked at Aegon full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Good opportunities and experience. Good people to work with.

      Cons

      Too much work and pay could be better

      Aegon2019-04-09
    • "“Front office administrator”"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Front Office Administrative in Edinburgh, Scotland
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at Aegon full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      Good people however a lot don’t stay around for long. Overtime available regularly

      Cons

      Poor pay, they recently upped it for new comers, higher than everyone else that was on floor already which is a bit of a kick in the face. If you’re a contractor stay away - I seen about 6 contractors in one week be taken away into a room and told to leave. Shift pattern can change very last minute. If you have a medical appointment to attend you have to ether do it out with work time, work back the hours or take annual...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      Learn the products, be around more for your team. In fact know your team!

      Aegon2019-04-11
    Found 374 reviews