Argos Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Argos Reviews

Updated 14 Feb 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.6
64%
Recommend to a Friend
71%
Approve of CEO
Argos CEO John Rogers
John Rogers
222 Ratings
Pros
  • "Flexible hours so you can balance work and social life(in 57 reviews)

  • "Good Management & a great team(in 46 reviews)

Cons
  • "Headsets had a habit of letting us down(in 44 reviews)

  • "Weekly rota - struggled to make plans outside of work because we didn't receive our(in 42 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Happy"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service 

    I have been working at Argos part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Flexible hours Lots of learning Friendly colleagues Motivating managers

    Cons

    Current wage is a bit low

    Argos2020-01-26
  2. "Helpful Staff"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Customer Service Advisor 

    I worked at Argos part-time

    Pros

    Staff are very helpful and managers are frieendly.

    Cons

    Very busy over Christmas period

    Argos2020-02-14
  3. "Excellent part time work for a student"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Store Associate in Leeds, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Argos part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I only had a 6-hour contract so could fit work around my studies, most of the time the shifts were reasonable.

    Cons

    Carrying things around a storeroom is quite dull, I didn't get trained to use the tills for 6 months.

    Continue reading
    Argos2020-02-12
  4. "Good work environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Advisor in Basildon, East of England, England
    Recommends

    I have been working at Argos part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Fun, varied work environment, good pay

    Cons

    Customers can sometimes be problematic

    Argos2020-02-06
  5. "Enjoyable employment in a good atmosphere"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Agency Support 

    I have been working at Argos full-time

    Pros

    Plenty of people to talk to

    Cons

    can be long hours on weekends

    Argos2020-02-02
  6. "Basic retail job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service in Manchester, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Argos part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible hours, usually good colleagues

    Cons

    Low pay, and they expect you to be everywhere at once

    Continue reading
    Argos2020-02-14
  7. "Horrible"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant in Coleraine, Northern Ireland

    I have been working at Argos part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Mingling with people great team on floor

    Cons

    Management are awful and bullies

    Continue reading
    Argos2020-02-13
  8. "Nice place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Administrative in Glasgow, Scotland

    I have been working at Argos part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Nice place to work with

    Cons

    nothing bad to say about workplace

    Argos2020-02-12
  9. "Great place to work... slowly changing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Argos full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great culture of developing people, good work / life balance, Usually get an annual bonus.

    Cons

    Financial targets can be hard to hit, resource levels are at a bare minimum meaning it’s hard to manage, as you are are very hands on. Sainsburys ownership now means things are changing rapidly

    Argos2020-02-11
  10. "Interesting role"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Performance & Culture Coach in Stafford, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Argos full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Variety of work and tasks Strong senior leadership team People are friendly and reliable Autonomy in the role

    Cons

    bands and pay structure flat and difficult to progress

    Continue reading
    Argos2020-01-26

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 1117 reviews