Ascential Reviews

Updated 25 May 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.5
64%
Recommend to a Friend
89%
Approve of CEO
Ascential CEO Duncan Painter (no image)
Duncan Painter
53 Ratings
Pros
  • "Excellent company ethos and working environment(in 6 reviews)

  • "Takes inclusion very seriously (88% agree) - a great place to be yourself and thrive(in 5 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Fantastic company!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Human Resources in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ascential full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great career opportunities, flexible working, great values/ethos, respectful, complete autonomy, global business, fast paced, great offices and a fantastic HR team.

    Cons

    None come to mind! Advice for prospects: just be open and resilient to change!

    Ascential2020-03-11

    Ascential Response

    April 15, 2020

    Thank you for the feedback - we appreciate it!

  2. "Promised the earth, given nothing"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - IT Technical Services Engineer in London, England
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Ascential full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Very little, office locations really only thing going for them!

    Cons

    CTO is a joke! Team last to hear of planned things going on, BS all hand meetings is a waste if time and money. Stop loosing best assets and look closer to home at management structure. Lost so many talented team members i tried but gave up

    Continue reading
    Ascential2020-05-25
  3. "Good Inclusive company"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Head of Sales in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Ascential full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    - Encourages inclusivity - Good commission structure - Fun & Sociable culture

    Cons

    - Lack of training - Highly demanding with long work hours

    Ascential2020-05-01
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Boys Club"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Marketing in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Ascential full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Central London location; well-resourced in most areas; opportunities for international travel

    Cons

    It is an old-fashioned boys club dressed up as a modern plc. Medicore white men do very well in this company, whatever the gender mix on the executive board says. Avoid.

    Ascential2020-04-22

    Ascential Response

    April 24, 2020

    Thank you for your feedback. I’m sorry that you did not feel comfortable communicating these frustrations while you were with Ascential. Our aim is to provide an inclusive and integral working environment for all, and in the recent engagement survey we scored 89% in this category, but recognise there is still some work to do. We would welcome the opportunity to learn more about your specific experience. If you’re willing to expand, please contact your former MD or the HR team at people@ascential.com, Thank you.

  5. "A fast-paced, results driven business"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Vice President, Marketing in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ascential full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Clear long term vision, strong leadership, entrepreneurial spirit, customer focused, bright colleagues, dynamic, energetic and fun

    Cons

    Not a lot of structure / process / procedures, limited resources

    Continue reading
    Ascential2020-03-02

    Ascential Response

    April 15, 2020

    Thank you for the feedback - we appreciate it!

  6. "Good Company"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Head of Business Applications in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ascential full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Flexible and very positive environment to work in

    Cons

    Slightly silo'd and think support functions can be overlooked

    Continue reading
    Ascential2020-02-26

    Ascential Response

    April 15, 2020

    Thank you for the feedback - we appreciate it!

  7. "Exciting, progressive, values driven company with a great adult-to-adult culture"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ascential full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Operates in multiple growth markets with many exciting brands - Very transparent and communicative - High quality leaders and managers - Manager NPS is 87% (in global all-employee survey) - Takes inclusion very seriously (88% agree) - a great place to be yourself and thrive - Superb on work flexibility - genuinely encouraging of it (88% agree) - Empowering culture where your encouraged to make decisions (92% agree) - People are proud to work here and with their colleagues (92% agree)

    Cons

    Not many... - Very open, honest and straightforward with feedback - can take a little getting used to - Very fast paced so not necessarily great for those prefer a more stable, sedate pace

    Continue reading
    Ascential2020-02-24

    Ascential Response

    April 15, 2020

    Thank you for the feedback - we appreciate it!

  8. "Company with direction and vision"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Content Director in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ascential full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Talent, pace, well-run, good culture, great leadership team, good benefits, good vision

    Cons

    Relentless commercial pressure can be tough for leaders

    Ascential2020-02-15

    Ascential Response

    April 15, 2020

    Thank you for the feedback - we appreciate it!

  9. "Great Company"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Personal Assistant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Ascential full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great work ethic. Employees are all treated the same and there is no hierarchy. A lot of support and everyone is very helpful.

    Cons

    Only con I would say is that there needs to be more training available for support staff.

    Ascential2020-02-07

    Ascential Response

    April 15, 2020

    Thank you for the feedback - we appreciate it!

  10. Helpful (1)

    "Meh"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Development 
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ascential full-time

    Pros

    Good location, casual dress code

    Cons

    It’s very clicky. Reminds me of being back in school. You are either a cool kid or you aren’t. Salaries are not competitive in my opinion. Lack of professionalism. Casual bigotry seems to be ok. It never gets checked.

    Ascential2020-01-31

    Ascential Response

    April 15, 2020

    Thank you for your feedback. Our aim is to provide an engaging working environment for all. We always welcome the opportunity to learn more about your specific experience. If you’re willing to expand, please reach out to your MD or HR. Thank you.

Found 82 reviews