BPS World Reviews

Updated 3 Mar 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.8
64%
Recommend to a Friend
79%
Approve of CEO
BPS World CEO Simon Conington (no image)
Simon Conington
30 Ratings
  1. "Great Company, Great People - always show they care"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Leadership Team in Maidenhead, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BPS World full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Positive culture, where everyone supports one another The company values were brought together by the employees, this was refreshing and really brings us all to live our values It is an open environment, full of team work and problem solving - everyone has the opportunity and chance to voice concerns or ideas

    Cons

    None that I know of, it's a refreshing company to work at, and makes me say WOW everyday :)

    Continue reading

    BPS World Response

    September 26, 2019People and Culture Executive

    Thanks for your review, it is great to hear your experience with the company is so positive and that you feel part of our culture! We look forward to sharing your BPS journey with you.

  2. Helpful (1)

    "Mentally Exhausting"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Recruiter in Maidenhead, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at BPS World full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Some nice people but they don’t ever stay

    Cons

    No work life balance Unrealistic expectations

    Continue reading

    BPS World Response

    June 1, 2020People and Culture Executive

    Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. Please do take the time to contact our People & Culture department who would be happy to talk through any concerns you may have around the work/life balance. Employee engagement and well-being is an area we work very hard on and this was recognised by our Sunday Times Best Small Company to Work For 2019 accolade. We are always happen to listen to and take on board suggestions on how we can improve employee engagement. We look forward to hearing from you. people@bps-world.com

  3. Helpful (3)

    "Started off well, but didn't last"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Recruiter in Maidenhead, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at BPS World full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Really enjoyed my time at the beginning of my employment. A lot was promised and everything seemed optimistic. The people are lovely and the culture seemed genuine.

    Cons

    The culture seemed to change after a while. The image they depict is surface level, it doesn't actually represent who they are. They care a lot about their image, but not their people. Management can be very sneaky and will change their minds a lot. Targets are unrealistic and unfairly set, as they are meant to be set by yourself but never are. They try not to pay commission, so will argue that you haven't achieved your targets, etc. Career progression is hard, unless you're in the apprenticeship program. They don't reward what you're currently achieving, they like to set long and difficult targets instead.

    Continue reading

    BPS World Response

    October 3, 2019People and Culture Executive

    Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback, we value comments of employees, both past and present as it helps us improve. We are sorry to hear your views on our company culture. Company culture and employee engagement is an area we work very hard on as an organisation and have achieved great results, including a place in this year’s Sunday Times Best Small Companies to Work For list. This list was compiled based on the anonymous and confidential scoring of our employees. We also achieved the top 3 Star accolade from Best Companies, also based on our employees’ opinions and experiences. BPS offer a clear progression path after Apprenticeships, starting with the “Shining Stars” programme to further professional development. To support this there is an aligned L&D programme, including qualifications to work towards. At this stage there is also the opportunity to progress to a Managerial role and embark on the “Rock Stars” stage of the programme. Targets and commissions are clearly set out at the start of each quarter and remain in place throughout that time. MAPs (Monthly Action Plans) and Quarterly Objectives are used to ensure that everyone in the business is working towards the same common goals. MAPs are a monthly self-management tool that enable employees to understand and take responsibility for meeting their Quarterly Objectives. Quarterly Objectives are cascaded down from the Global Leadership Team’s playbook and used to monitor employee success and progress against their plans and objectives. Commission is always paid on targets which have been achieved. We fully acknowledge that there’s always areas where we can improve and if you would like to discuss any of these points in further detail, please do not hesitate to contact us. We look forward to hearing from you: people@bps-world.com

  4. "Great place to work"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Recruitment Consultannt in Maidenhead, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BPS World full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great training provided and lovely culture

    Cons

    Wouldn't say there is anything bad at BPS.

    BPS World Response

    September 26, 2019People and Culture Executive

    Hi - thanks for taking the time to submit a review, your opinion is valuable to us. We are proud of our learning culture and its great to hear this is a positive experience for you.

  5. Helpful (3)

    "Good apprenticeships - Cliquey environment."

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Recruitment 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at BPS World full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    A good apprenticeship scheme Will find you in further education and development Good to get a soft start in the recruitment world

    Cons

    Pay way below market rate Very male-heavy on the sales floor creating an imbalanced environment Lots of closed-door conversations Lack of progression opportunities after apprenticeships HR is very cliquey and unsupportive when it comes to the mental health of employees Employee offboarding process is made very public, with any criticism from employees buried as opposed to taken on and dealt with Lack of global communication, isolation of offices Senior management very condescending, causing a lack of faith (especially in the CEO)

    Continue reading

    BPS World Response

    October 2, 2019People and Culture Executive

    Thank you for your honest feedback. Your comments are important to us. We are sorry to hear you feel there was a lack of opportunity after apprenticeships. We offer the “Shining Stars” path of our careers programme which furthers professional development. To support this there is also an aligned L&D programme available, including qualifications to work towards. In terms of the mental health of our employees we take this very seriously, which is why the Employee Assist Programme, a 24-hour confidential free phone service, is made available to all. We care about our employees and regularly monitor our engagement levels through Monthly Action Plans, Personal Development Plans and monthly “Happiness” surveys. We work hard to integrate our global offices and do this through our weekly global communications meeting - which includes all our regional offices. In addition, we use our intranet system to regular post blog updates from regional offices and for offices to “chat” daily on the newsfeed. Monthly communications are posted with all organisational news and offices regularly communicate with each other via Skype. The CEO has an “open door” policy and as an organisation we welcome all comments and suggestions to help us continuously improve our performance and our engagement levels. Once again, thanks for your candid feedback. If you’d like to discuss further, please feel free to get in touch with us at: people@bps-world.com

  6. "Progressive and recognised as a Top 100 Employer"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Maidenhead, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BPS World full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great environment Modern kit Team spirit is positive Diverse international client base Business is growing Plan in place for the immediate and long term development of the company both in the UK and internationally Proactively tackling non-performance and this has had a positive effect on the business

    Cons

    None that I can think of

  7. Helpful (2)

    "Oppressing and disorganised"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at BPS World full-time

    Pros

    Friendly atmosphere (although can be very noisy at times), close to train station. They easily give you a senior job title despite lacking experience. Free fruits and biscuits.

    Cons

    Lack of structure and organisation. It's a small family company and may not be suitable for people used to big professional places . Often felt obliged to attend social events, like posts etc. No healthcare or very interesting benefits. Lots of redundancies recently.

    Continue reading

    BPS World Response

    April 16, 2019People and Culture Executive

    Thank you for your honest and candid feedback. While we’ll continue to live and breathe our values and mission of ‘people can be more’ we’ll take your comments regarding engagement and structure onboard. As a business we recently had to make some difficult decisions that weren’t taken lightly. This resulted in a small percentage of valued colleagues leaving for new opportunities. We’re always open to feedback on the processes we put in place for such eventualities. Should you wish to raise any feedback on these then please feel free to contact us directly

  8. "Great Team and Great company"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Consultant in Warrington, North West England, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BPS World full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Plenty of opportunity within the business, fun atmosphere and a great team to work with. A company that really listens to what you have to say.

    Cons

    No cons to working with BPS world

    Continue reading

    BPS World Response

    April 15, 2019

    Thanks for taking the time to submit a review! We pride ourselves on maintaining high levels of engagement across our global offices. It's great to hear you feel you have a true voice within the company and you're enjoying the opportunities available to you in Warrington. Thanks again!

  9. Helpful (1)

    "Consultant"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at BPS World full-time

    Pros

    team atmosphere, good office enviroment

    Cons

    low pension, no healthcare, bonus unobtainable

    BPS World Response

    April 2, 2019Marketing and PR Executive

    Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Your feedback is valuable to us and we will take your comments into account when we next conduct a review of our benefits package.

  10. "Brilliant place to work!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Digital Marketing in Maidenhead, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BPS World full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    From the very start of my time at BPS World I felt welcomed by the entire company, they are heavily invested in both the culture of the company and your growth both professionally and personally. The develop here is second to none and the work environment is fantastic!

    Cons

    I have no complaints at all

    Continue reading
Found 39 reviews