Bio-Techne Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Bio-Techne Reviews

Updated 19 Jul 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 112 reviews

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
74%
Recommend to a Friend
87%
Approve of CEO
Charles Kummeth
75 Ratings
Pros
  • "Very high EPIC value in our company(in 6 reviews)

  • "Good Benefits, and descent compensation(in 5 reviews)

Cons
  • "Some deadlines expected by upper management seem extremely unattainable(in 5 reviews)

  • "Took away profit sharing, took away merit awards for 25 and 30 years of service(in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Growth opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bio-Techne full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Competitive benefits Some genuinely helpful colleagues HR trying to create a collaborative culture internally Working for established and respected brands Interesting product offering from protein reagents, instruments to genomics and diagnostics Customers appreciate the quality of products

    Cons

    Pay raises could be a lot better Shares are expensive to buy, need a significantly improved share scheme Pressure and workload can be at times high Some over-stretched teams need to be given more resources Can be hard to feel part of the bigger organization

    Advice to Management

    Look after your employees and they will stay loyal Keep up the communication to all the workers across the world

    Bio-Techne2019-04-22
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Became to business orientated losing focus on customers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Bio-Techne full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Large organisation with focus on getting whatever was needed to fufil the job. Expenses were generous.

    Cons

    Focus grew to forecasting and profit above customer service and relationships in search of profit to please shareholders

    Bio-Techne2016-05-12
  3. "Good place to work, limited advancement"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Minneapolis, MN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bio-Techne full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    It is a good place to work, convenient easy access location, pleasant environment, relatively relaxed.

    Cons

    Minneapolis location is the historical location and top management does not invest much in growth at this location. Because of that, career advancement is limited.

    Bio-Techne2019-07-19
  4. Helpful (3)

    "Job review for Lab Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Lab Assistant in Minneapolis, MN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Bio-Techne full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Get along with most employees.

    Cons

    Bad pay, poor management, no appreciation for long term job commitment

    Advice to Management

    Pay more

    Bio-Techne2019-06-17
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Love my team and job!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manufacturing Technician in Minneapolis, MN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bio-Techne full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great company and staff! EPIC people!

    Cons

    leadership needs to improve.

    Advice to Management

    People don't leave bad company's. They leave bad leaders.

    Bio-Techne2019-05-17
  6. Helpful (3)

    "Mis-Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Research Associate in Minneapolis, MN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Bio-Techne full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Let's see.....um..It's a job. It all depends on your Manager.

    Cons

    If you prefer out of control Management and a worthless HR who laughs at company meetings that they are off "probation" from swearing at employees this is the place for you !. If you appreciate being under staffed and low pay along with huge amounts of favortism, this is definatly the place for you. If you like a place where graduates quit after a month again this is the right place for you.

    Advice to Management

    Get a clue and learn how to treat people. Scientists do not automatically make good Management especially when they verbalize it to employees.

    Bio-Techne2019-05-31
  7. Helpful (2)

    "One year review of company~"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - QC Lab Clerk in Minneapolis, MN
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Bio-Techne full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The group of people I work with are GREAT! My job is such that I don't go home and worry about it. I get my work done and then I can relax when I get home. They are pretty flexible and have a family first mentality as long as it is not abused!

    Cons

    The commute! It takes a long time to get a response for repair of items. Copiers, file cabinets, computers... unless it is critical to performing your job.

    Advice to Management

    Stop hiring more upper management and help fill in positions that are sitting empty in various departments

    Bio-Techne2019-04-30
  8. Helpful (5)

    "Could be much better"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Minneapolis, MN
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Bio-Techne full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Nice work environment opportunity for growth

    Cons

    Runs operations beyond lean Lack of focus on one thing. Management is always pulling many directions so focus is never aligned and end product is not what it could be. Starting pay is low and expectations do not align with pay scale Some veteran management are afraid to ask for resources because they feel they will be looked at negatively. One person can only do so much before they burn out. Much of the work is...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Instead of investing in all of the executive staff or upper management invest in bringing on some new support positions and pay the support staff. The expectation of job performance is much greater than what you are willing to pay which is why there is major turnover and little stability in some of the support areas. Get rid of the EPIC culture BS. It started off with good intentions and then has grown into this creation...

    Show More
    Bio-Techne2019-05-08
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Mostly Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Minneapolis, MN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bio-Techne full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Very good benefits. Those who complain about benefits don't know what most companies offer. Bio-Techne is better than most.

    Cons

    Average 401k and PTO/holiday schedule. Average pay

    Advice to Management

    Look to best practices outside of Bio-Techne. There are easy ways to fix problems and find betters ways to do certain things.

    Bio-Techne2019-04-20
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Good lower management, rapidly expanding"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Advanced Research Associate 

      I have been working at Bio-Techne full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Smaller teams make work flows much more desirable especially in a lab setting.

      Cons

      Some deadlines expected by upper management seem extremely unattainable. Can be tough to voice concerns up the ladder.

      Bio-Techne2019-05-02
    Found 112 reviews