Brightside Academy Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Brightside Academy Reviews

Updated 26 Oct 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.1
26%
Recommend to a Friend
15%
Approve of CEO
Brightside Academy  Chief Executive Officer Martin Handler (no image)
Martin Handler
30 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Depending on management, no support(in 8 reviews)

  • "Low pay for amount of things done(in 7 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "really well done company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Brightside Academy

    Pros

    great work and amazing company

    Cons

    no cons for the company itself

    Continue reading
    Brightside Academy2018-12-10
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Worst Place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Brooklyn, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Brightside Academy full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I see none what so ever

    Cons

    Very unprofessional the Director doesn't repand the ones that does wrong but what to enforce rules to the one that does their job. Some of the staff bully other staff members and also scream at the children. Very Ghetto place and dirty. They over enrolled children in the classroom with not enough staff.

    Continue reading
    Brightside Academy2019-10-27
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Terrible Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Teacher 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Brightside Academy full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    None . This company is trash and doesn’t care about anything but their own money

    Cons

    Terrible management and no Care for employees or students

    Continue reading
    Brightside Academy2019-10-20
  4. Helpful (1)

    "The Smithfield location borders on abuse. Few people seem to even care. The whole center is a disaster."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Preschool Teacher 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Brightside Academy full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    None. The company is a disaster and desperate for people.

    Cons

    Abusive people towards kids and staff. Was forced off my lunch early to fill in a staffing gap because someone came back half an hour late. The late person wasn't reprimanded and I lost half my lunch.

    Continue reading
    Brightside Academy2019-10-14
  5. "Run"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Teacher Assistant in Brooklyn, NY

    I worked at Brightside Academy full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Some staff were awesome to work with. Building great bonds with kids and some parents

    Cons

    Everything else. Salary, upper administration was horrible. They don't care about the staff at all. They barely care about black and brown children at all and the level of their learning. Teachers are constantly over-ratio and overworked. Often you are asked to do things to cover up their flaws and asked to go above and beyond while getting scraps in return. Minimal to no raises are given. Horrible place to work. Not worth it

    Continue reading
    Brightside Academy2019-09-17
  6. "My growth with in the company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Family Advocate in Pittsburgh, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Brightside Academy full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Received a degree, and was promoted 4 times.

    Cons

    One of the downsides is a lack of staff.

    Continue reading
    Brightside Academy2019-08-29
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Worst Professional Experience in 40 years!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Fleet Manager in Philadelphia, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Brightside Academy full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Hard working bus drivers who come to work with the best intentions, but are unappreciated. No trust or respect from senior leadership.

    Cons

    If you want to be micromanaged to death, come work here. From Fleet to the Academies, no one has any authority to make decisions or affect change. Horrible and toxic work environment. Anyone with any professional experience should steer clear of this place.

    Continue reading
    Brightside Academy2019-09-28
  8. Helpful (1)

    "1/10 Would Not Recommend"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Lead Teacher 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Brightside Academy full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    +I worked along some of the most dedicated women I know.

    Cons

    +Health and Safety- Our building was falling apart and we had to do emergency evacuations in my classroom multiple times a month. We would either go to the library across the street or to another room that didn't have controlled A/C / Heater. +We were over ratio and rooms were overbooked to the point we didn't have enough cubbies for the children so we had to put their jackets under the sink. +Not supportive leadership- We were often shamed to improved being told we embarrassment to the supervisor, by the supervisor herself. She even told my coworker to be quiet, in the middle of a meeting and when I reported that to HR, my director said, "Well she needed to be quiet!" +The food is not healthy for the children, it's often pancakes, hashbrowns, and canned fruit. +There was a lack of supplies for the children, which led to them fighting a lot. + There is no computer, wifi, or printer for the teachers. All copies we made at home, or our colleges. Lesson plans were handwritten. +Not enough support in the classrooms. Children were having meltdowns, and we really need a training in trauma support, or a school counselor. +There was mistreatment of staff in general. +Working a full 9 hours was very draining. While we do get paid more, with the little resources, and having to print/buy things after work I would get home late.

    Continue reading
    Brightside Academy2019-08-21
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Great Place To Work - Very Nice Team Members"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Brightside Academy full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Teachers are dedicated and hard workers. Good culture - teaching young children to be successful in PreK! Benefits are full package, fun to work with young children, lots of hugs.

    Cons

    Nothing to mention at this point.

    Continue reading
    Brightside Academy2019-05-22
  10. Helpful (3)

    "Toxic environment from the top down."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Philadelphia, PA
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Brightside Academy full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Teachers can achieve their CDA

    Cons

    Toxic environment from the executive team, micromanagement, racists undertones from members of the executive team, untrusting of their employees, paranoid leaders, mission statement does not match what is actually happening, they do not deliver quality education to the children, retention rates are horrible , it’s a revolving door of unqualified “teachers” No supplies given the teachers to perform their jobs.

    Continue reading
    Brightside Academy2019-04-25

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 142 reviews