CDW Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

CDW Reviews

Updated 21 Feb 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.8
74%
Recommend to a Friend
93%
Approve of CEO
CDW CEO Christine Leahy
Christine Leahy
149 Ratings
Pros
  • "The company takes coworker surveys to heart and implements changes to support Work Life Balance constantly(in 183 reviews)

  • "Great place to learn great social environment(in 96 reviews)

Cons
  • "The only con is the base salary for AM's(in 92 reviews)

  • "not enough exposure to different Account Managers unless you go looking for it(in 69 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Amazing company to work for, they provide excellent benefits and support on both professional and personal levels."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Multilingual Service Desk Analyst in Peterborough, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at CDW full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Wonderful place to work. Good salary. Respected as an employee.

    Cons

    Work on a rota based schedule.

    CDW2020-01-04
  2. "."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technical Support Engineer-3rd Line in Peterborough, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at CDW full-time

    Pros

    Close to home, new technologies

    Cons

    Not flexible hours no Woking from home

    Continue reading
    CDW2020-02-07
  3. "A great Company with global reach"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Director in Nottingham, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at CDW full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Varied portfolio and benefits, private health and shares

    Cons

    Sales targets are high & they focus on the very large Clients not medium

    Continue reading
    CDW2020-01-24
  4. "Company Marketing Materials Oversold the Reality"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Product Manager in Peterborough, England
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at CDW full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    A good work/life balance is promoted and quarterly targets make it clear what is expected of you (even if they are a bit stressful to achieve).

    Cons

    Despite what the marketing says, the company doesn’t have much of a “family” atmosphere. As many people have worked there for years and years (not including the service desk), they are very cliquey and new people aren’t made to feel welcome. There isn’t really any career progression available and the systems used are very outdated and behind the times.

    Continue reading
    CDW2020-01-20
  5. Helpful (1)

    "So glad to have left. My Mental Health is so much better"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at CDW full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    They make a lot of money and have offices all over the world. That's where it ends.

    Cons

    Where to start. I did not have a good time at CDW UK probably the most unhappy I have ever been in a job. Boss yelled all the time in the office dreaded going into the office which I have never had in all of my working life. Constantly held back and was not allowed to improve. I am glad to say in my new role and my team are amazing and enjoy going to work now and CDW is a distant memory. It makes such a difference having a nice boss never had thought about it before as I had never had a bad one. Also, the computers look like they are running Windows 98 and Navision god knows what version. Also, you don't exist to Management unless your sales. I would never recommend CDW to anyone.

    Continue reading
    CDW2020-01-05

    CDW Response

    January 20, 2020Manager, Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your experience at CDW. We would like the opportunity to discuss your concerns directly and learn more so we can look into this further. I encourage you to contact us via one of the following options: 1) CDW Ethics and Compliance Office directly by calling +1 847-419-6160 2) Ethics Helpline at 0808-234-6224 or 3) Head of UK Coworker Services at coworkerservices@uk.cdw.com

    Continue reading
  6. "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at CDW full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Let you work like it's your own business

    Cons

    It can be quite clicky

    CDW2019-11-17
  7. "I would recommend CDW to others"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Service Desk Analyst in Peterborough, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at CDW full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    It’s a very nice team to work in, I have a good manager who cares about me, best manager I had. I have learnt a lot in the job since I have been here, I enjoy to come to work all the time because envoroment is good and job is fun. I got good induction at new start.

    Cons

    The shift hours are a bit annoying and not what I thought, the pay is not equal to same jobs

    Continue reading
    CDW2019-10-07

    CDW Response

    October 14, 2019Manager, Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for the good review! We value our CDW leadership and the positive culture!

    Continue reading
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Lovely company awful management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - London in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at CDW full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    there are some lovely people but if you are not in with the right crowd then there is no point. you can progress into different areas of the business

    Cons

    No help from management when needed People only get to the position there in not from working their way to the top but because of personal reasons Terrible chain of command for every department everyone is out for themselves and has no regards for anyone else

    CDW2019-11-08
  9. "Best place I have worked"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Service Desk in Peterborough, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at CDW full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I have worked for a few of the industry big players both in the Managed services and technical services arena, CDW is the best of the lot. Unfortunately the view of the place is sometimes tainted by those individuals that don’t want to work hard and develop a career but as a person who does, i have been afforded development and support whenever I have asked for it. It’s a busy environment and an overly sales led culture that sometimes drives a subordinate feeling at back office level, but the business is maturing, led by some new blood that have recently joined and i personally have been able to work my way up the ladder in a relatively short amount of time. As a female I feel empowered in an industry that is typically male dominated and I am impressed with the businesses culture and values. For those people who are willing to work hard and are progressing it’s a great place to be and an environment that identifies talent, but you can’t expect that to just come to you without putting anything in.

    Cons

    Pay is a little uncompetitive and systems are old. The rewards and recognition for Sales are not replicated enough at back office.

    Continue reading
    CDW2019-10-02

    CDW Response

    October 7, 2019Manager, Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for the great review! We value CDW’s culture and encourage our coworkers to make things happen.

    Continue reading
  10. "Great Opportunity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at CDW full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good location, people, opportunities

    Cons

    lots of politics which can make it difficult for new joiners

    Continue reading
    CDW2019-09-27

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 1981 reviews
</>Embed