CWT Employee Reviews about "upper management"

Updated Aug 10, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

Found 14 of over 1,151 reviews

4.0
68%
Recommend to a Friend
95%
Approve of CEO
CWT President & CEO Kurt Ekert
Kurt Ekert
16 Ratings
Pros
  • "Flexible Environment, work from home(in 52 reviews)

  • "The perfect place to start your career in an international work environment(in 43 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Upper Management is more interested in the BIG Picture than the associates(in 26 reviews)

  • "work life balance, career opportunities(in 25 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Reviews about "upper management"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Great Workspace | Huge COVID-19 Impact

      Aug 10, 2020 - Revenue Analyst in Minnetonka, MN
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      -Newly Renovated Office -Good Direct Management -Fun events and culture

      Cons

      -Upper management not transparent -WFH has a stigma, is treated like a privilege when advertised as a perk -Occasional long hours and bringing work home

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 1.0
      Current Employee, more than 10 years

      The company has lost its focus.

      Dec 9, 2018 - Senior Travel Counselor in Minneapolis, MN
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      none. Benefits are adequate, but no longer as good as they once were

      Cons

      They took a reasonably good company to work for and destroyed it. We don't have the tools to do our jobs. We have technology that falls over and slows our ability to get the 600-second OCL they want. They flex our hours down until this isn't a full time job. We are forced to bid our vacation a year out, but with the flex, you don't earn as many hours as your planned, and then you end up giving back vacation days. There is no depth on the service floor, so if you need a day off, or get invited to an out of town event, or even have to deal with family issues, you cannot get time off approved and you end up with occurrences....and then they penalize you for trying to play by their rules. Upper management is so clueless about what we do, a bunch of efficiency experts who didn't even know what a GDS is (and thought we had to call all hotels and airlines to get a confirmed reservation) was sent in to tell us how to do our jobs. They didn't even know what are jobs do. Our clients are angry. They feel rushed when talking to us about really complicated travel. And there are now off-shore counselors who don't even speak English well enough to understand what they are being told.

      Continue reading
      9 people found this review helpful
    3. 3.0
      Current Employee

      CWT IT Tech Support

      Aug 10, 2010 - IT Tech Support in Saint Louis, MO
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Its a job, I can pay my bills, have a little left over to keep my head above water, but to make a career out of it, you would have to turn to the dark side and tow the company's corporate BS line.

      Cons

      At one time it would be great to work for a travel company, but not anymore. With CWT they do receive perks from airlines, hotels, and other companies we do business with, but they keep them to use for business trip or to reward upper management for jobs well done. But they never give any of the perks to the front line employees, we are good enough to interact with the customers, but our reward is our continued employment.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    4. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 8 years

      Too much take, not enough give

      Apr 29, 2014 - International Travel Counselor in Mendota Heights, MN
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The co-workers are very close and easy to work with. The company does fun things for its employees a few times a year. Benefits were ok.

      Cons

      The fun things the company does for it's employees usually has to be funded by the employees. The upper management has NO clue what it's doing. Full time for this company is now 35 hours a week. You can't speak your mind at this company without management taking action against you. The place was wonderful when it still had the "family business" feel... but since a board of directors was introduced, this place keeps going downhill more and more every year. They are WAY too concerned with their numbers and not as much about customer or even employee satisfaction. They told us they wanted us to "not" go the extra mile for the customers anymore (i.e. not call to confirm seats, ask for hotel room upgrades, even DOCUMENT our records because each save to the GDS costs money for the company!!) Just absolutely asinine ways of doing business. You have to be with the "in" crowd to get promoted.

      Continue reading
      7 people found this review helpful
    5. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 10 years

      a good company to work for

      Jun 26, 2014 - Support Agent in Phoenix, AZ
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I enjoy the co-workers. Many people have been here 10 years or more. The management is very friendly and really listens and values constructive comments. There is a good balance of work/life. The office does do several employee events per year.

      Cons

      Long commute and little opportunity to work from home. Movement into upper management is restricted if you do not have the correct skill sets. You cannot get the needed skill sets unless you get them somewhere else.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    6. 2.0
      Former Employee

      It's always a matter of the bottom line.

      Nov 20, 2009 - Senior Travel Consultant in Toronto, ON
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great benefits, good salary level, good incentive program

      Cons

      Employees are really just a number. Management is top heavy. Too much upper management that has no clue or concept as to the issues that face front line staff. Never operate in a proactive fashion. Upper managment is completely unapproachable which is plainly stated to employees by said management. Little regard for client retention both in the corporate and leisure business.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 8 years

      Out sourcing is the focus

      Sep 5, 2017 - Anonymous Employee in Minnetonka, MN
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Employees are for the most part knowledgeable, willing to help and easy to work with.

      Cons

      Upper management tends to micro-manage when it isnt needed. Overall company focus for the future is to outsource as many positions as possible, this compiled with poor training creates a severe impact to customer service.

      Continue reading
      7 people found this review helpful
    8. 1.0
      Current Employee, more than 10 years

      travel agent

      Aug 19, 2017 - Senior Travel Counselor in Minneapolis, MN
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The front line agents are devoted to their jobs, believe in serving the client, and supporting each other.

      Cons

      First line managers are overloaded and cannot supervise their teams in real time. Above that, senior managers don't give a hoot about the people that actually interact with the customers. Our tools don't work and slow down agents doing their jobs. They keep talking about these great tools but we don't know what they're talking about because the ones we have are slow, unreliable, and can't talk to each other. Then they crash. They gone back to the giant team model and expect agents to handle up to 50 high-touch clients smoothly. Agents cannot remember all the one-off exceptions the salespeople give clients to get them to sign up. There is no life/work balance. We are losing senior agents all the time because they can't stand what has happened to our company. Travel agents are treated badly. You are supposed to get vacation but unless you are psychic and can plan everything that's going to happen a year ahead, you cannot get any time off. Not even if you have a wedding or a funeral. They make you wait list months in advance and keep you waiting until the last minute. Managers however can do whatever they want. We haven't had a raise in years. We are supposed to have a bonus program but no one knows how it works. They say we work full time, but we usually don't. They "flex" our hours down. If you don't make much on the hourly to begin with, that can really cut into a family budget. They do not respect the lower level workers or their human needs. we don't even have a HR rep any more. There is no one to go to with a problem. There is no career development or even the smallest attempt to identify good workers or talent. Upper management shows up once in a while to do these road shows or come to the site to tell us these grand plans, but the words that come out of their mouths are nothing like what they really do....which is to treat the agents like cash register clerks. We have very difficult jobs where knowledge of math, geography, law, and accounting are all everyday skills. Upper management just doesn't understand what we do or how we do it.

      Continue reading
      14 people found this review helpful
    9. 1.0
      Current Employee

      Better business plans have been witnessed in any Marx Brothers movie...take your pick...

      Sep 15, 2008 - Guess in San Antonio, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The best reasons to work for CWT is that due to the disorganization of the management and company over all there is plenty of OT available to people in various departments and at various levels. So, if you are an hourly employee, you can make significantly more than what your "salary" is based on.

      Cons

      Because of the lack of clearly defined job functions, the multiple layers of red tape that need to be cut through , the disorganization of the upper management and their failure to provide any leadership whatsoever, nothing ever seems to get done. And, even when something does get done, the resulting "change" only seems to be negative. It seems that HR (both before they bought out TQ3 Navigant International, and after) hires people based on the prospective employee simply having a pulse and an IQ that would freeze water were it a temperature. Promotions within the company seem to be given to people that most firmly had their lips locked to the south end of the person who was in the job before them and (this is assuming that I need say more...) whom are, both by their previous experience and present example, not qualified for the positionsthey are in. The company makes it very hard to advance not only in maintaining a high level of security and secrecy about what qualifications are required for each "position" within the company, but also by not investing (either time or money) in the advancement (personally or professionally) of people currently employed who could really make this a GREAT place to work and would transform us from the Marx Brothers surrealistic nightmare that it currently is to the premier travel service that the "Mangement" is deluding themselves into believing it is.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    10. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 10 years

      Travel Counselor

      Nov 16, 2017 - Corporate Travel Counselor in Colorado Springs, CO
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      It's a job and they pay you.

      Cons

      SO many! They have been going through major upheaval, getting rid of many managers and employees. No raises this year, hiring freeze, doubling agent workloads and then jumping all over you about how long calls are holding. Upper management just doesn't care. They refuse to listen to the employees about how stressful they have made it. Agents are in tears and customers are leaving.

      Continue reading
      7 people found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 14 Reviews
    </>Embed

    Popular Careers with CWT Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at CWT? Share Your Experiences

    CWT logo
    or