CWT Employee Reviews about "upper management"

Updated Aug 10, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

Found 14 of over 1,213 reviews

4.0
71%
Recommend to a Friend
CWT Chief Executive Officer Michelle Frymire
Michelle Frymire
0 Rating
Pros
  • "Flexible Environment, work from home(in 52 reviews)

  • "The perfect place to start your career in an international work environment(in 43 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Upper Management is more interested in the BIG Picture than the associates(in 26 reviews)

  • "work life balance, career opportunities(in 25 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    What people are saying about CWT

    Join the conversation on
    Join the conversation on

    Reviews about "upper management"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Great Workspace | Huge COVID-19 Impact

      Aug 10, 2020 - Revenue Analyst in Minnetonka, MN
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      -Newly Renovated Office -Good Direct Management -Fun events and culture

      Cons

      -Upper management not transparent -WFH has a stigma, is treated like a privilege when advertised as a perk -Occasional long hours and bringing work home

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 1.0
      Current Employee, more than 10 years

      The company has lost its focus.

      Dec 9, 2018 - Senior Travel Counselor in Minneapolis, MN
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      none. Benefits are adequate, but no longer as good as they once were

      Cons

      They took a reasonably good company to work for and destroyed it. We don't have the tools to do our jobs. We have technology that falls over and slows our ability to get the 600-second OCL they want. They flex our hours down until this isn't a full time job. We are forced to bid our vacation a year out, but with the flex, you don't earn as many hours as your planned, and then you end up giving back vacation days. There is no depth on the service floor, so if you need a day off, or get invited to an out of town event, or even have to deal with family issues, you cannot get time off approved and you end up with occurrences....and then they penalize you for trying to play by their rules. Upper management is so clueless about what we do, a bunch of efficiency experts who didn't even know what a GDS is (and thought we had to call all hotels and airlines to get a confirmed reservation) was sent in to tell us how to do our jobs. They didn't even know what are jobs do. Our clients are angry. They feel rushed when talking to us about really complicated travel. And there are now off-shore counselors who don't even speak English well enough to understand what they are being told.

      Continue reading
      9 people found this review helpful
    3. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 10 years

      Travel Counselor

      Nov 16, 2017 - Corporate Travel Counselor in Colorado Springs, CO
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      It's a job and they pay you.

      Cons

      SO many! They have been going through major upheaval, getting rid of many managers and employees. No raises this year, hiring freeze, doubling agent workloads and then jumping all over you about how long calls are holding. Upper management just doesn't care. They refuse to listen to the employees about how stressful they have made it. Agents are in tears and customers are leaving.

      Continue reading
      7 people found this review helpful
    4. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 8 years

      Out sourcing is the focus

      Sep 5, 2017 - Anonymous Employee in Minnetonka, MN
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Employees are for the most part knowledgeable, willing to help and easy to work with.

      Cons

      Upper management tends to micro-manage when it isnt needed. Overall company focus for the future is to outsource as many positions as possible, this compiled with poor training creates a severe impact to customer service.

      Continue reading
      7 people found this review helpful
    5. 1.0
      Current Employee, more than 10 years

      travel agent

      Aug 19, 2017 - Senior Travel Counselor in Minneapolis, MN
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The front line agents are devoted to their jobs, believe in serving the client, and supporting each other.

      Cons

      First line managers are overloaded and cannot supervise their teams in real time. Above that, senior managers don't give a hoot about the people that actually interact with the customers. Our tools don't work and slow down agents doing their jobs. They keep talking about these great tools but we don't know what they're talking about because the ones we have are slow, unreliable, and can't talk to each other. Then they crash. They gone back to the giant team model and expect agents to handle up to 50 high-touch clients smoothly. Agents cannot remember all the one-off exceptions the salespeople give clients to get them to sign up. There is no life/work balance. We are losing senior agents all the time because they can't stand what has happened to our company. Travel agents are treated badly. You are supposed to get vacation but unless you are psychic and can plan everything that's going to happen a year ahead, you cannot get any time off. Not even if you have a wedding or a funeral. They make you wait list months in advance and keep you waiting until the last minute. Managers however can do whatever they want. We haven't had a raise in years. We are supposed to have a bonus program but no one knows how it works. They say we work full time, but we usually don't. They "flex" our hours down. If you don't make much on the hourly to begin with, that can really cut into a family budget. They do not respect the lower level workers or their human needs. we don't even have a HR rep any more. There is no one to go to with a problem. There is no career development or even the smallest attempt to identify good workers or talent. Upper management shows up once in a while to do these road shows or come to the site to tell us these grand plans, but the words that come out of their mouths are nothing like what they really do....which is to treat the agents like cash register clerks. We have very difficult jobs where knowledge of math, geography, law, and accounting are all everyday skills. Upper management just doesn't understand what we do or how we do it.

      Continue reading
      14 people found this review helpful
    6. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 10 years

      No

      Jul 14, 2017 - Senior Travel Consultant in Seattle, WA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Global corporation and has been around for awhile

      Cons

      Upper management is the biggest con. They are only concerned with saving the company money and don't care if their employees are happy.

      8 people found this review helpful
    7. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Travel consultant

      Jun 18, 2017 - Travel Consultant in Phoenix, AZ
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great to be able to work at home. Good work life balance and good pay.

      Cons

      Scheduled not flexible. Upper management not engaged.

      2 people found this review helpful
    8. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 8 years

      Program Manager

      Feb 19, 2016 -  in Crofton, MD
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great team environment. Travel benefits and discounts

      Cons

      Upper Management is totally disconnected

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    9. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 10 years

      Senior international travel agent marine/offshore

      Aug 26, 2015 - International Marine/Offshore Travel Agent in Houston, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Employment benefits are very good

      Cons

      Lack of training in new management. Mostly new mid-to upper management. Need more training.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    10. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 10 years

      a good company to work for

      Jun 26, 2014 - Support Agent in Phoenix, AZ
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I enjoy the co-workers. Many people have been here 10 years or more. The management is very friendly and really listens and values constructive comments. There is a good balance of work/life. The office does do several employee events per year.

      Cons

      Long commute and little opportunity to work from home. Movement into upper management is restricted if you do not have the correct skill sets. You cannot get the needed skill sets unless you get them somewhere else.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 14 Reviews
    </>Embed

    Popular Careers with CWT Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at CWT? Share Your Experiences

    CWT logo
    or