Citation Reviews

Updated 11 Jan 2021

To filter reviews, or .
4.1
76%
Recommend to a Friend
99%
Approve of CEO
Citation CEO Chris Morris (no image)
Chris Morris
41 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great place to work, lovely colleagues, great perks(in 8 reviews)

  • "Established, Corporate, Culture, Professional & Forward Thinking(in 5 reviews)

Cons
  • "Being so fast paced, it can be hard for many people to find the time to be more involved with other areas of the business(in 6 reviews)

  • "I haven't come across any cons as of yet(in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
  1. "THE BEST company to work for"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - National Customer Success Manager in Wilmslow, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Citation full-time

    Pros

    Atmosphere, teamwork, culture, benefits and much more!

    Cons

    I am in my 6th year and I've loved every minute!

    Citation Response

    December 23, 2020

    It’s fantastic to hear you are loving working at Citation, here’s to another 6 years!

  2. COVID-19

    "Too many changes"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Client Success Manager in Wilmslow, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Citation part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great friendly team... below management

    Cons

    Ethos has changed so everything is about making a quick buck so that the parent company can sell on. Harsh financial stance towards clients during Covid

    Continue reading

  3. "Great company"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Business Development Consultant in Wilmslow, England

    I worked at Citation full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great Company, good culture, made the effort to involve everyone.

    Cons

    Work was repetitive, and strict management.

  4. COVID-19
    Helpful (2)

    "Where do I start?"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Consultant in Manchester, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Citation full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Decent bonuses from time to time. Getting your birthday off.

    Cons

    Where to start! The last 12 months of working here was hell on earth. They must have been the only company I know of who increases their sales peoples targets during a global pandemic and hands out disciplinaries when said inflated targets couldn't be reached. The company favouritism in this place is rife and if you don't fit into the management "clique" then you are giving the worst data to work and micro managed every single minute of the day! For a company that offers HR and Employment Law to SME's across the UK, how they treat their own sales staff is horrendous. Clique giving the best data, better opportunities to work while the rest slog it out for the scraps left, and as for earning bonus it got harder month on month as they changed the "caveat" as they saw fit during the month. Seems like they have lost so many of their good sales people due to the treatment of them, all to protect their favourite's, and I see that they are constantly advertising now for staff, so much so that it must now have become a revolving door company it seems in their contact centre. I know of 1 manager who had at least 6 grievance's and complaints lodged against her, yet still works for the company. Toxic culture, and if you are reading this review my advice is to go work for another company that will actually value you, treat you as a person and maybe take on board your advice and experience and ways to make work places better. Managers worked to the bone and can't think for themselves, all follow the same protocol and procedures without the ability to think for oneself.

    Continue reading

    Citation Response

    December 23, 2020

    Thank you so much for your feedback, what you’ve described is certainly at odds with our ethos, culture and leadership style we promote. 2020 has been a challenging year for many reasons, we’ve worked hard to not only service our existing clients, but we’ve also worked hard to keep growing the business and bringing on new clients. We know this is the best way of not only protecting the jobs of all of our colleagues but also enables us to help more SME’s around the country at a time that they really need it. Factually I don’t recognise some of the things you describe, such as the manager with 6 grievances, but that doesn’t change the way you felt about our culture which is completely at odds with what we strive to nurture. Colleague feedback helps us grow and improve, so please get in touch with our Internal HR department to share more of your insight into your experience.

  5. "Answered phones + transferred to relevant department"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Receptinist 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Citation full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great team and always felt fully supported. Rotational training

    Cons

    Very little variation in the work

    Citation Response

    December 23, 2020

    We’re so pleased you would recommend us. We care about the wellbeing of our colleagues so I am happy to hear that you are feeling supported. Thank you for your feedback.

  6. Helpful (1)

    "Promised training that was never given"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Accounts Assistant in Wilmslow, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Citation full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Quite flexible with hours worked

    Cons

    Made redundant from this company Promised training for more advanced accounting and never was trained for this. Instead I was inputting sales invoices which was a mundane task and not what I was promised at interview.

    Continue reading

    Citation Response

    December 23, 2020

    I am pleased that you liked our approach to work life balance, we recognise this is more important than ever. I am sorry to hear that you would not recommend us and that our training was not what you had anticipated. We work hard on our recruitment, it’s a huge effort from all involved to get the very best people into the business and a huge commitment to change jobs and a join a company so I’m sorry to hear we’ve not been able to deliver your career plans.

  7. "Best place"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Consultant in Manchester City Centre, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Citation full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Top 100 companies in the the times list, they really look ahead!

    Cons

    None I can think of right now

    Continue reading

    Citation Response

    December 23, 2020

    We are so proud to have ranked 29th on the Sunday Times Top 100 Best Companies list and this is a testament to the great colleagues we have at Citation! Thank you for your feedback.

  8. Helpful (2)

    "Awful"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - A Nobody in Wilmslow, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Citation full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    None, very clique atmosphere, favouritism rather than results based rewards, poor management.

    Cons

    Continuing from above,terrible management culture, management are considered never wrong when often are, no employee support, poor progression opportunities, perceived as good but beg to differ.

    Continue reading

    Citation Response

    December 23, 2020

    Thank you for taking the time to give us some feedback. It doesn’t sound like you’ve had a typical experience with us and what you’ve describe isn’t the leadership approach we’d encourage. It is disappointing to hear that you have left our business with the opposite impression that we strive to create. We recognise that we don’t always get it right and it is feedback from our colleagues that has ensured we improve year on year.

  9. "Great Business to work in"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Head of Live Communications in Wilmslow, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Citation full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great culture built around teamwork - lively, positive and supportive

    Cons

    None of any significant interest

    Continue reading

    Citation Response

    December 23, 2020

    It’s good to hear that you enjoyed our culture – it’s vital to our business success so we work hard to protect and nurture it. Thank you for sharing your feedback with us.

  10. "Amazing company to work for"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Recruiter in Wilmslow, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Citation full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - There is always something exciting going on at Citation whether its Halloween, Christmas, pancake day or even Blue Monday. - They value each and every employee and have a strong 'work hard play hard' culture - Sunday dread is a thing of the past!

    Cons

    I haven't come across any cons as of yet

    Continue reading

    Citation Response

    December 23, 2020

    We all spend too long at work not to have fun, so it’s good to hear you are enjoying it. PS we do throw great events don’t we!

Viewing 1 - 10 of 85 English Reviews