Debenhams Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Debenhams Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 1252 reviews

3.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
45%
Recommend to a Friend
61%
Approve of CEO
Debenhams CEO Sergio Bucher
Sergio Bucher
245 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good benefits of the company such as the staff discount card(in 156 reviews)

  • "Great training, friendly staff, flexible hours(in 67 reviews)

Cons
  • "High pressure to open credit card accounts(in 105 reviews)

  • "Minimum wage pay is lower than many other high street retailers(in 55 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Buying Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Debenhams full-time

    Pros

    Friendly team, organised and strategic

    Cons

    Brands could do with a refresh

    Debenhams2019-03-15
  2. "Nice place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Advisor 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Debenhams part-time for more than 6 years

    Pros

    Great team, always tasks to do, decent working hours and breaks

    Cons

    Constant change in management , short staffed, long periods stood in fitting room

    Debenhams2019-05-18
  3. "Lovely place to work for, but not many opportunities for growth within retail environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Advisor in Bournemouth, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Debenhams part-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    A good environment to work within and the holiday perks were amazing.

    Cons

    The pay was rather low and there isn’t much opportunity to progress.

    Advice to Management

    None.

    Debenhams2019-05-16
  4. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at Debenhams part-time

      Pros

      Good structure and training, not boring

      Cons

      Low wage for under 21s minimum wage of £6.35

      Debenhams2019-05-12
    • "Good fo students not for career"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Sales Advisor in Cardiff, Wales
      Recommends
      Negative Outlook
      No Opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Debenhams part-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Flexible hours Good locations Fairly laid back environment

      Cons

      Poorly managed shop floors leading to high pressure environment

      Advice to Management

      Better understanding of the customer service process advisors are facing

      Debenhams2019-05-10
    • "Senior Sales Advisor"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Senior Sales Advisor in London, England
      Recommends
      Negative Outlook
      No Opinion of CEO

      I worked at Debenhams part-time for more than 6 years

      Pros

      - Colleagues were amazing - Nice downtime when store isn't busy -paid to do nothing (sometime)

      Cons

      - Management never around, very easily swayed by customers and promise progression opportunities that they forget about

      Advice to Management

      Consider when telling someone possibilities of progression, do so with a grain of salt

      Debenhams2019-05-21
    • "pressure for credit cards"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Sales Assistant 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      No Opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Debenhams part-time for more than a year

      Pros

      flexible hours some nice co workers short shifts

      Cons

      pressure for debenhams master cards- they care more about this than actual customer service or getting any other jobs done. bad management who bully staff

      Advice to Management

      motivate team more. more incentives to get he credit cards. don't speak to staff like they are a piece of dirt

      Debenhams2019-05-18
    • "Good temporary job"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Customer Service Associate 

      I worked at Debenhams part-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Flexible hours, good management

      Cons

      Low pay, not a lot to do

      Debenhams2019-05-18
    • "Food services advisor"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      No Opinion of CEO

      I worked at Debenhams part-time

      Pros

      Fairly good pay for a first time job aged 17. Staff train you well and job is easy enough if you listen.

      Cons

      Sometimes bosses only see negatives. Had a customer tell my boss I'm great as I helped them only for boss to tell me to hurry and get back to my station (it wasn't busy)

      Advice to Management

      Maybe work on praise and incentivising staff not just targets as one doesn't come without the other. I like the routine of the job though

      Debenhams2019-05-02
    • "Slow Progression"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Assistant Buyer in London, England
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      No Opinion of CEO

      I worked at Debenhams full-time for more than 4 years

      Pros

      Good Training and development opportunities

      Cons

      Slow progression , Overtime expected

      Debenhams2019-05-16
    Found 1252 reviews