Department for Work And Pensions Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Department for Work And Pensions Reviews

Updated 9 Sep 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 363 reviews

3.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
70%
Recommend to a Friend
72%
Approve of CEO
Department for Work And Pensions CEO Peter Schofield
Peter Schofield
48 Ratings
Pros
  • "Excellent place to work - Flexi-time, supported by colleagues, really worthwhile and interesting projects to work on with very talented people(in 58 reviews)

  • "Flexible working arrangements, short commute(in 39 reviews)

Cons
  • "Sometimes feels like centre managers can act in a tyrannical manner without any checks or intervention from senior management(in 21 reviews)

  • "I had to wait 5 weeks for a DWP Surface Pro(in 19 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (1)

    "Lovely place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Department for Work And Pensions full-time

    Pros

    Best people I've worked with, strong focus on work life balance and flexibility, interesting work, helping the public, competitive pay.

    Cons

    Usual cons of a major civil service department

    Department for Work And Pensions2019-01-16
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Flexible, rewarding and caring employer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Human Resources Manager in Sheffield, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Department for Work And Pensions part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I've worked in the Civil Service for over 20 years and love the flexibility this has given me. I have been able to have a fantastic work/life balance which has led to a rewarding and fulfilling career as well as being able to balance childcare commitments. DWP values its employees and all of my managers have been supportive of flexible working including working from home. I find the organisation to be a caring... employer and this resonates across the business; my colleagues are dedicated, focused and team spirited.

    Show More

    Cons

    Only the usual issues which are generally found in large organisations.

    Department for Work And Pensions2019-06-04
  3. Helpful (1)

    "PIP Claims"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Executive Officer in Cardiff, Wales
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Department for Work And Pensions full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Relaxed working environment , good people , fleck time.

    Cons

    Lot of office politics, too much red tape

    Advice to Management

    Start running it like a business.

    Department for Work And Pensions2019-09-04
  4. "Good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Manager 

    I have been working at Department for Work And Pensions full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    friendly team to work for

    Cons

    Poor management and lack of career development

    Department for Work And Pensions2019-09-03
  5. "A Good Career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Administrative Assistant in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Department for Work And Pensions full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Flexitime. Monday to Friday. Good pension.

    Cons

    Angry clients. Unemployed clients refusing to take jobs for no good reason. Senior managers who don't understand the job.

    Advice to Management

    Stay up to date!

    Department for Work And Pensions2019-08-30
  6. "Great pay and easy work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Case Manager 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Department for Work And Pensions full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    as above, and some wonderful people. you are trained to a high standard in order to do the job before you are given your own workload to work through at your own pace without a great deal of micro managing. lots of overtime if you want it and flexible working.

    Cons

    new job roles are dropped on you at short notice and those in charge do not have a clue about rolling out new initiatives and looking after the people.

    Advice to Management

    look after your people and they will look after you.

    Department for Work And Pensions2019-08-27
  7. "Civil Service"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - LO1 

    I worked at Department for Work And Pensions full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good conditions, friendly staff and flexible working

    Cons

    Poorly paid, overworked and stressful

    Department for Work And Pensions2019-09-09
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Job not a career - poor prospects/dead-end"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - AO Caseworker in Dundee, Scotland
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Department for Work And Pensions full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Flexi, laid back, community vibes amongst fellow AO's

    Cons

    Poor higher management, unorganised, dated practised, contradicting instructions, face-that-fits favouritism

    Advice to Management

    Get a management degree or at least some social skills preferably out-with the civil service for some decent reputation

    Department for Work And Pensions2019-09-04
  9. "Business analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Analyst in Newcastle, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Department for Work And Pensions full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Flexible working , good holidays, reasonable pay

    Cons

    Not enough progression, limited opportunities , lack of development

    Advice to Management

    None

    Department for Work And Pensions2019-08-17
  10. "Does the best it can with limited resources"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Case Manager 

    I have been working at Department for Work And Pensions full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Staff tend to have a “we’re all in it together” attitude, more experienced staff are always happy to help newer staff, good progression, when you actually can help customers it’s pretty rewarding

    Cons

    Not paid nearly enough for what we do, guaranteed to receive abuse from customers, policy that we have to enact is pretty awful, a fair amount of micromanagement

    Department for Work And Pensions2019-08-26
Found 363 reviews