Eventbrite Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Eventbrite Reviews

Updated 1 Mar 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.4
87%
Recommend to a Friend
91%
Approve of CEO
Eventbrite Co-Founder & CEO Julia Hartz
Julia Hartz
180 Ratings
Pros
  • "Friendly work environment that really makes an effort to honor work life balance(in 50 reviews)

  • "Strong perks and benefits (Free food, catered lunch, dogs in work)(in 20 reviews)

Cons
  • "Growing pains associated with a scaling company: some disorganization at the senior level can give individual contributors whiplash and cause burnout(in 16 reviews)

  • "There are a lot of changes as expected with a growing company, but sometimes I feel the communication could be better(in 11 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Amazing people, amazing workplace!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Eventbrite full-time

    Pros

    It is a super friendly and collaborative workplace- everyone is ready to help at any time. Also, the leaders are very approachable and always open to suggestions, new ideas and processes. It's a company with a lot of potential, I really like the mission and the work-life balance!

    Cons

    I cannot think of any cons, it is truly an incredible place to work!

    Eventbrite2019-11-05
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Fantastic Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Development Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Eventbrite full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good office culture, supportive management, great product, accommodating hours, friendly co-workers.

    Cons

    Longer hours than ideal for commuters, but not a huge problem.

    Eventbrite2019-07-02
  3. "I love working here!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Eventbrite full-time

    Pros

    People, the opportunity, leadership, autonomy to get on with your job

    Cons

    Big goals can be daunting

    Eventbrite2019-04-02
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Fab Place to Work - would highly recommend!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Eventbrite full-time

    Pros

    Fab working environment full of intelligent, creative and hard working people. Great benefits and lots of opportunities to foster new initiatives and progress your career. Would recommend Eventbrite to anyone!

    Cons

    Nothing that constitutes a 'con'!

    Eventbrite2018-07-02
  5. Helpful (3)

    "Excellent Organisation - Excellent Team"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Eventbrite full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Superb benefits and a great team to work with. The London office has some very smart and talented people working here. The management team allows us the freedom to do our jobs well and supports where it is needed. This leads to a far better atmosphere than in many of my previous workplaces.

    Cons

    Being a US company, it sometimes feels that the UK has to fight a little harder to explain that the needs of the business might be different here.

    Continue reading
    Eventbrite2018-05-30
  6. Helpful (3)

    "Big opportunity, talented people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Eventbrite full-time

    Pros

    Passionate and talented team, high achieving, fast paced and exciting place to work, opportunity for growth and movement within company, good benefits, working with a product that is genuinely fantastic, and loved by a lot of event organisers.

    Cons

    Unique place to work (lots of little nuances), which you need to adapt to, and can sometimes be difficult. Pressure can be on the high side.

    Continue reading
    Eventbrite2018-06-01
  7. Helpful (4)

    "London office - 5 stars"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Eventbrite full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Number one reason this is the best place I have worked is because this office has some of the best people I have ever had the pleasure of working with - collaborative, hardworking, sociable and passionate. The leadership team are supportive and truly invested in our success. The right team is in place and this shows through the amazing results and growth we have had in the last year.

    Cons

    We do still have to be a bit scrappy to make things work for us locally, but I kind of like that.

    Continue reading
    Eventbrite2018-02-17

    Eventbrite Response

    February 23, 2018

    Thanks for the feedback! Our growth in Europe is a direct result of the hard work your team puts in each day. -Julia Hartz, CEO

    Continue reading
  8. Helpful (6)

    "event manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Event Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Eventbrite

    Pros

    personal growth and promotion opportunities , excellent working environment

    Cons

    busy and demanding environment , lots of responsibilities

    Continue reading
    Eventbrite2017-04-05
  9. Helpful (15)

    "No longer the place it was"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Eventbrite full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good office location free lunch, and some great benefits. However there is still no pension plan for UK employees. Some good staff Great potential if they had stronger leadership

    Cons

    The company is dominated by a sales culture that is driven by targets, and lead by a management team who have a blame culture. They are quick to sack staff rather than taking responsibility for their own incompetencies as managers. The US office often make decisions on behalf of the international teams without consultation and without any knowledge of the international markets and their business needs. There is a lack of experienced leadership in the UK and a complete lack of understanding of the market they are trying to move in to. The culture has been on the decline in the last 2 years and much of the talent in the UK and US has moved on. The huge turnover of staff is something that I have never experienced before.

    Continue reading
    Eventbrite2017-02-22
  10. Helpful (12)

    "Past it's best"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Business Development Manager in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Eventbrite full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Eventbrite employs some incredibly talented people who work very hard & (used to) have a lot of fun doing it. I have seen more brand / employee loyalty and emotion attached to this place than anywhere I've worked - to me this is a sign of truly great culture. When times were good they were really good, but when they were bad.... (I'll get to this later) You get free lunch!

    Cons

    Eventbrite masquerades as a "startup" when really they have been running for 11 years but still haven't sorted out some very basic business processes (like employing local HR, ensuring people get paid the right salary/commission, actually reaching profitability etc etc). Although Eventbrite celebrates & boasts of it's "startup culture" it no longer exists. In reality management want everyone to behave like they are in a big, musty old corporate machine with no diversity, no freedom / trust / autonomy, a very slow pace of change, an extremely hierarchical structure and a general "do as I say not as I do" attitude. This is a shame and a waste of the talent & loyalty of the staff that built and stuck with it over the last crucial 3-5 years or so. It's no wonder the last 12 months have seen a mass exodus of key staff members from all departments in every country Eventbrite operates. This is a business that's lost it's direction and lost it's soul.

    Continue reading
    Eventbrite2017-02-21

    Eventbrite Response

    February 27, 2017General Manager UK/Ire

    Thanks for your feedback, I'd like to respond here but also invite you to come chat with me to continue the discussion. Our business has evolved, especially in the UK. With the growth in the market comes the responsibility to add more process and structure to make sure we can scale. It sounds like this shift wasn't easy for you or communicated as well as I would have liked. We're proud of the scrappy startup muscles we built to get us where were are, but they're different skills than we need now that our main goal is scalability and supporting our growth. I believe in hiring the best people, giving them the tools, training and resources they need to be successful, and never intend to restrict autonomy or freedom to do their best work so that they can thrive. - Joel Crouch

    Continue reading
Found 328 reviews