Experian Reviews

Updated Jul 27, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 2,833 of over 3,978 reviews

4.2
85%
Recommend to a Friend
94%
Approve of CEO
Experian Chief Executive Officer Brian Cassin
Brian Cassin
521 Ratings
Pros
  • "Truly a company that cares about employees' mental well-being and work/life balance(in 214 reviews)

  • "Great opportunities & flexible work environment(in 146 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Senior management lack of sense of direction(in 79 reviews)

  • "Work/Life balance is not so great(in 67 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years
      Featured Review

      The Next Big Exciting Tech Firm You May Not Have Considered!

      Jan 20, 2021 - Director of Software Engineering in Nottingham, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Amazing people, positive flexible but focussed culture, huge breadth of opportunity, you can really make a difference in the company and in society. The company is very ambitious and has a fantastic global platform for growth - there are lots of very positive changes happening and we are starting to emerge from being a data/financial organisation to be a force in technology.

      Cons

      We are quite rightly heavily regulated, so you need to be aware that there's some extra training and diligence required in delivering our services to customers. This protects our data and helps us focus on doing all the right things for clients and consumers - this is a good thing, but can be an adjustment for people coming from different industries.

      3 people found this review helpful

      Experian Response

      Head of HR - UK&I

      Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback! It is hugely appreciated and we are thrilled to read about your experience with us. If you'd like to share any further suggestions or feedback, please do feel free to contact AccessHR and this will be treated confidentially. Thanks again for leaving a review. - Employer Brand Manager

    2. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Great company with loads of potential

      Jul 4, 2021 - Senior Talent Acquisition Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Team environment, great ethics, real focus on inclusion, massive market potential. Loads of ex-employees want to come back which is probably the best indication of the company and culture.

      Cons

      Some people work crazy hours (but these are mostly by choice or lack of planning), salaries are okay but not market leading.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 1.0
      Former Employee

      Slave Labour with No Recognition

      Jul 17, 2021 - Anonymous Employee in London, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Honeyed fingers in many recruitment agency pots - Good for students looking for a little extra - Good for recent graduates who are desperate for work (roles limited to customer service roles)

      Cons

      - Salary far below national market average - Expectation to work hard and long hours with no overtime pay - No career progression - Poor bonus schemes (if at all) - No recognition - Terribly toxic elitist/fraternity culture (a big game of who knows who) - Discrimination against those who are looking to move internally to better positions (people in customer services are kept in customer service, even if they are qualified to apply for a better position outside of it) - Class discrimination - Sex/gender discrimination - Invisible leadership who expects people to be inspired from templated circular emails

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Experian Response

      Experian

      Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We are very concerned with some of the points you have raised and would welcome a further conversation with you, especially as we believe we have made significant progress in many of the areas you have mentioned over the past few years. We completely appreciate and respect your feedback and unique experience, however felt it was important to share some of the context and details relating to the points you have mentioned. With regards to recruitment agencies, over the course of the previous financial year we used agencies to fill 11 of 506 roles. Despite the very small numbers, we work hard to ensure we have great relationships with trusted providers, and so we'd welcome any feedback you have if your experience was with one of our suppliers, as we appreciate that everyone's experience is unique, and we'd love to learn and grow based on more specific details. Our salaries are reviewed annually in line with the external market to ensure that we remain competitive, and this is coupled with the internal salary review and annual bonus scheme which has recently been significantly enhanced in the UK (if you have not attended any of the recent webinars, please contact AccessHR and we will happily send you some information about this). We have also very recently communicated out about an additional share award for our employees, and so please do check your inbox for the details. We work incredibly hard to ensure that our salaries are competitive, but also our overall offering which includes benefits, lifestyle, health and flexibility, both when it comes to flexing benefits and also flexibly working (99% of our employees are working and will continue to work flexibly). With regards to progression, around 40% of our roles are filled internally, and we pride ourselves on the progression and development opportunity that exists at Experian, whether this be via recognition or promotion, formal qualifications, development courses, secondments, Gigs and more. With regards to our colleagues in customer service, we have filled a number of roles internally with colleagues from this area and many individuals at Experian started their career journey in one of the call centres. Regardless of the candidate background or their current role, we consider every application and assess all candidates fairly and transparently, and hire based on merit and nothing else. Again, we appreciate your individual experience and we'd love to be able to chat with you and ensure you are making the most of the opportunities available and that we continue to learn from your feedback. Discrimination is something that we take incredibly seriously - there is zero tolerance for any form of discrimination and we strongly urge you to contact your line manager, HR or myself for a confidential discussion. Please do contact me if you feel comfortable to do so as we'd love to help enhance your overall experience at Experian. Jane Avison - jane.avison@experian.com - Employer Brand Manager

    4. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      Nice place to work

      Jul 23, 2021 - Senior Analyst in London, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good team dynamic Broad range of data to work with The people are fun!

      Cons

      Management constantly changing the direction of work. Work life balance isn’t the best. Management don’t really take this into consideration when setting deadlines.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 4.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Good company to work for

      Jul 22, 2021 - Technical Assistant in Nottingham, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good benefits, nice people, rewarding

      Cons

      Low pay for this position

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Great Place to work

      Jun 28, 2021 - Marketing Executive in London, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Decent competitive salary, very forward thinking company

      Cons

      When things need changing, they can take almost take too long

      1 person found this review helpful

      Experian Response

      Experian

      Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We appreciate your feedback and share this with our leadership teams in order to continually improve here at Experian. Employer Branding Manager

    7. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      Great place to learn politics

      Jul 13, 2021 - Account Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      high pressure environment so learn quickly, great product variety, some wonderful technical staff

      Cons

      Very political, poor commission & salary, no clear direction

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Not bad place to work

      Jun 8, 2021 - Client Account Executive in Nottingham, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good wages and benefits company offers

      Cons

      Bad management in Nottingham, managers do not handle sensitive issues for example a staff member had to be reported for their behaviour, it wasn't handled confidentially eventually the whole office knew.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful

      Experian Response

      Experian

      Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We're pleased to know that you enjoyed the benefits on offer during your time with us. Regarding management, we work hard to ensure that all people leaders are fully trained and supported in dealing with sensitive issues. We don't stop at mandatory training and there are always training courses, webinars, live events and many resources available in addition to support from HR and a dedicated HR business partner. However, we appreciate your experience and we are disappointed to see that this issue may not have been dealt with in the manner we would expect. We are keen to explore this further and understand what more we can do to support, and so if you are happy to contact me, any further information will be treated entirely confidentially. You can do so by emailing jane.avison@Experian.com - Employer Branding Manager

    9. 3.0
      Former Employee

      OK work, low pay

      Jul 13, 2021 - Junior Data Analyst in Nottingham, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Some weeks of training in SAS given.

      Cons

      Low salary, perhaps standard for the region. I looked overseas for better opportunities.

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Experian Response

      Experian

      Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We appreciate your feedback and share this with our leadership teams in order to continually improve here at Experian. We wish you the best of luck in your endeavours and hope that you are enjoying your time overseas! Employer Branding Manager

    10. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 8 years

      Great opportunity but they will take their pound of flesh!

      Jun 13, 2021 - Prefer Not to Disclose 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      No real hierarchy, good on the job development, lots to improve, lots of opportunities, recognition is good

      Cons

      Pay, work life balance, listening to employees, ego driven leadership

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 2,833 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Experian Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Experian? Share Your Experiences

    Experian logo
    or