General Atomics Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

General Atomics Reviews

Updated 30 Mar 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.7
76%
Recommend to a Friend
86%
Approve of CEO
General Atomics Chairman and CEO Neal Blue
Neal Blue
326 Ratings
Pros
  • "Challenging work, smart people, 9/80 work week(in 94 reviews)

  • "Great benefits, awesome schedule great co-workers(in 73 reviews)

Cons
  • "Management favors former military who think they’re still in the(in 25 reviews)

  • "With large growth comes large growing pains(in 16 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great Company!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at General Atomics

    Pros

    Company provides an excellent compensation package including 401k and company funded pension.. team oriented environment. Working at GA felt like I was part of something very important

    Cons

    Excessive travel has strained work/life balance

    General Atomics2017-04-25

    General Atomics Response

    May 5, 2017Systems Administrator

    Thank you for taking the time to leave your review about your work experience with General Atomics and affiliated companies.

    Continue reading
  2. "Excellent ecperience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at General Atomics

    Pros

    great pay great work atmosphere

    Cons

    long hours too many males

    Continue reading
    General Atomics2016-01-28
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Amazing Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Production Supervisor in San Diego, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at General Atomics full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Amazing company to work for. The people are some of the smartest people I've had the pleasure of working with.

    Cons

    Nothing significant to report. I was there 11 years and thoroughly enjoyed it.

    Continue reading
    General Atomics2020-03-22
  4. "ARFF Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Aircraft Rescue Firefighter in Palmdale, CA

    I have been working at General Atomics full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good benefits, cafeteria ok, can take leave as needed. Good job security, growth opportunities or transfer to other departments.

    Cons

    There can be quit a bit of down time, if your smart you will study to move up.

    General Atomics2020-03-25
  5. "Stability"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Process Improvement Lead in San Diego, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at General Atomics full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    General Atomics Aeronautical Systems is a great company to work for. As many in the aerospace & defense industry segment, they do have much more demand than capacity. Well structured business processes, and great benefits

    Cons

    Implementing new processes, and/or ideas could be difficult due to the many layers than need to be informed, and vetted

    Continue reading
    General Atomics2020-03-23
  6. "great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - QA Engineer in San Diego, CA

    I worked at General Atomics part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    nice and kindly people in the general

    Cons

    very hard and complicated work

    General Atomics2020-03-30
  7. Helpful (3)

    "Company Culture is a Real Problem"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Scientist in San Diego, CA
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at General Atomics full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good work and personal life balance. Very smart and competent people. Decent compensation.

    Cons

    Very weak company culture, to be honest its awful. Poor management hierarchy, possibly too much upper management.

    Continue reading
    General Atomics2020-03-24
  8. "Too fast of growth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Administrative in Poway, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at General Atomics full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great benefits to include 401K and Pension

    Cons

    The fast growth of this company has caused much disconnect through the management hierarchy. Their choice of managers is a big failure in the department I work in.; lack of appreciation and equal treatment. I have real difficulty with people who lie!

    Continue reading
    General Atomics2020-03-27
  9. "Very good!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Inventory Analyst in San Diego, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at General Atomics full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Pension plan and company match.

    Cons

    Lack of flexible work hours

    General Atomics2020-03-12
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Senior Program Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Senior Program Manager in Poway, CA

    I worked at General Atomics full-time

    Pros

    Interesting work. Nice people. Pension. Off Friday.

    Cons

    Difficult to grow. Stuck in small company mentality despite being so large.

    General Atomics2020-02-26
Found 769 reviews