H&R Block Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

H&R Block Reviews

Updated Dec 5, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.6
71%
Recommend to a Friend
79%
Approve of CEO
H&R Block CEO Jeffrey J. Jones II
Jeffrey J. Jones II
287 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "hours were not flexible during tax season(in 265 reviews)

  • "not all tax pros stay every year due to seasonal employment(in 123 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Receptionist 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at H&R Block part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Make your own schedule Flexible

    Cons

    No insurance Pay Can be stressful

    H&R Block2019-12-05
  2. "Tax"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Tax Preparer 

    I have been working at H&R Block part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Love meeting and helping new people each year.

    Cons

    The amount of hourly wages.

    H&R Block2019-12-03
  3. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Team Leader 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at H&R Block full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Work life balance Pay Co-workers Exceptional training

    Cons

    No benefits for seasonal positions

    H&R Block2019-11-30
  4. "review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Agent 

    I worked at H&R Block part-time

    Pros

    good good good good good

    Cons

    work life balance isnt great

    H&R Block2019-11-24
  5. "Great company. Fast paced environment. You have to be very self-motivated to learn if new to the industry."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Multi-Unit Team Leader in Nashville, TN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at H&R Block full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Experience, training, fellowship, community involvement.

    Cons

    Very busy during tax season. Difficult to have ideal work - life balance

    Advice to Management

    On the right path with the online virtual focus. Stick to your values to give back and have a presence in building community, connecting people.

    H&R Block2019-11-24
  6. "H&R Block"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Tax Specialist in Buffalo, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at H&R Block part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Unlimited learning possibilities, flexible schedule, great co workers

    Cons

    Some people think Block is the IRS and gets angry at you when refunds are offset.

    H&R Block2019-11-23
  7. "Working for H&R Block"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Receptionist in Montebello, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at H&R Block part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The work environment was great and coworkers were friendly. Everyone was very helpful. Also, you get exposed to learning new things.

    Cons

    It was hard to confirm and make appointments with clients because clients don't want to do their taxes their anymore or they think it is too expensive. As receptionists we could only do so much, but they still pressure us with making appointments even though you attempt to reach as many clients as you can.

    Advice to Management

    Improve communication system. Also, for the location I worked with, they focused too much on the negatives and forgot to recognize the positives. It personally made me unmotivated to confirm and make appointments because I called so many people and left voicemails, but ultimately they only noticed that I hadn't confirmed or made those appointments.

    H&R Block2019-11-23
  8. "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Tax Senior Associate 

    I have been working at H&R Block full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Challenging, always learning something new.

    Cons

    Can be stressful when dealing with people's taxes.

    H&R Block2019-11-23
  9. "First Year Tax Pro"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Tax Preparer in Orlando, FL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at H&R Block part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    They will teach you the basic of what you have to know to do navigate through your first few tax returns

    Cons

    Low pay for the amount of work that is put in

    H&R Block2019-11-19
  10. "One of the best !"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Receptionist in Nashua, NH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at H&R Block part-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    We value our clients. We are transparent and sincerely want what is best for our clients that we serve. Tax time is a very stressful time for a lot of people. We want our clients to come in and allow us to take care of the needs. We believe in building relationships with our clients and strengthening them as we grow into a business relationship with them. I take great pride in serving our clients.

    Cons

    My position is seasonal.

    H&R Block2019-11-19
Found 3217 reviews