Liberty Mutual Insurance Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Liberty Mutual Insurance Reviews

Updated 24 Jan 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.3
56%
Recommend to a Friend
71%
Approve of CEO
Liberty Mutual Insurance President & CEO David H. Long
David H. Long
1,906 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "The work-life balance is great but people aren't super interested in their work more just the benefits that come along with it(in 300 reviews)

  • "Lack of communication from upper management(in 134 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Underwriting Team Lead 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Liberty Mutual Insurance full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Really good people. Positive progression opportunities and payment of exams. Great job!

    Cons

    Lack of career progression. Very corporate and forced into business areas without consideration of employees.

    Advice to Management

    I did not want to leave liberty but was forced into the situation where I had no other choice. I would have loved to have continued my career here but it was made impossible.

    Liberty Mutual Insurance2016-12-15
  2. "Not for me"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Advisor in Enniskillen, Northern Ireland
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Liberty Mutual Insurance full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good and consistan pay Possibility for progression

    Cons

    Work is monotonous Shifts aren't always flexible

    Liberty Mutual Insurance2019-11-21
  3. Helpful (7)

    "Liberty IT Belfast - Simply the Worst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Belfast, Northern Ireland
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Liberty Mutual Insurance full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Nice building, nice colleagues, okay coffee, occasionally okay work.

    Cons

    The management is skewed towards one denomination, its not very welcoming for those in the minority. Lots of GAA talk etc. As they say aon oráiste.

    Advice to Management

    I would ask Liberty Mutual to investigate what is going on at senior and middle management levels when it comes to promotions. It is clear something is not right about this place.

    Liberty Mutual Insurance2018-08-22
  4. "Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Liberty Mutual Insurance full-time

    Pros

    it has a greatgood environment,also it is a Hugh and known company which gives you the option to work wit teams internationally, it has development opportunities, and great team work

    Cons

    it is not very well paid, there a lot of contractors making important decisions related to full- time employees which demotivates.

    Liberty Mutual Insurance2018-04-16
  5. "Customer Care Agent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Liberty Mutual Insurance full-time

    Pros

    good base pay Friendly team mates

    Cons

    poor management and low cohesion between departments

    Liberty Mutual Insurance2017-02-22
  6. Helpful (4)

    "Avoid"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Liberty Mutual Insurance

    Pros

    Good staff badly treated by management. Can leave the job at work, comfortable chairs, very little else to say

    Cons

    Disgraceful management intent on removing all morale. Too scared of being blamed for something to make any intelligent decisions without climbing 3 levels of hierarchy

    Advice to Management

    Admit you can make mistakes and consider the people working under you for a change

    Liberty Mutual Insurance2016-12-19
  7. "Great pre-merger"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Liberty Mutual Insurance

    Pros

    The people, the package, the brand and reputation.

    Cons

    Incoming management post merger. More than a few feathers ruffled.

    Liberty Mutual Insurance2016-10-18
  8. "Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Liberty Mutual Insurance full-time

    Pros

    Good culture and hands on approach

    Cons

    low pay and low help from senior management

    Liberty Mutual Insurance2016-08-20
  9. "operation"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I have been working at Liberty Mutual Insurance

    Pros

    great place to work so far.

    Cons

    non as far as i can see

    Liberty Mutual Insurance2016-06-12
  10. "Fantastic"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Underwriter in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Liberty Mutual Insurance full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Lots of opportunity. Job security as it is a big company that's difficult to buy. Lots of opportunities to move around the company as well.

    Cons

    Long hours that aren't always rewarded. Hard work is the standard, making it hard to excel beyond that. Underpaid for now.

    Liberty Mutual Insurance2015-11-01
Found 4394 reviews