MHR Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

MHR Reviews

Updated 18 May 2018
110 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

2.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
(no image)
Anton Roe
15 Ratings

110 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • The starting salaries are pretty good, and some of the people are nice (in 6 reviews)

  • Free parking, Provide lots of training, listen to staff, invest on staff morale (in 6 reviews)

Cons
  • More home working should be made available to the wider business, some would say dress code therefore a dress down day (in 14 reviews)

  • replacing staff lost through high turnover (in 8 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. Featured Review

    Helpful (6)

    "Excellent Company to work For"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Test Automation Engineer in Nottingham, England
    Former Employee - Test Automation Engineer in Nottingham, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at MHR full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    1. MHR provided its employee a solid platform for self development
    2. Good people all around and great culture within the company
    3. Internal promotion rate is excellent
    4. Competitive salary and good employee benefit package
    5. Free parking space
    6. No micro management as management trust you to get on with your work
    7. Very stable company, so you don't have to worry about redundancy. Lots of people with over 10-years with the company, shows people are happy working for the company.
    8. Employee contribution is recognized and celebrated monthly, quarterly and annually.
    9. Overall I have had an amazing 2-years at MHR and I will certainly recommend the company to anyone looking to work for a good company. I only left because I relocated to London with my family, otherwise, I will still be working for MHR

    Cons

    Personally, I didn't have any negative experience working for MHR. However, it does not mean the company is 100% perfect, surely there is room for improvement, for instance, being proactive rather than reactive to employee management.

    Advice to Management

    Management needs to be a bit more responsive when issues are raised, as sometimes, they are slow to react until the situation gets a bit awkward.

    MHR Response

    24 Nov 2017 – Head of HR

    Thanks for the really detailed review, it’s clear that you had a great experience at MHR. It’s good to hear that we are getting it right when it comes to culture, development and opportunities for... More


  2. Helpful (1)

    "An amazing place to be!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MHR full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Colleagues
    Flexibility
    Salary / Bonus / Rewards
    Flexible Benefits
    Growing and stable
    International
    Loads of opportunities
    UK company
    Direct contact with the board / owners
    Brilliant product (iTrent)
    One of the best hosting services in the industry

    Cons

    The idiots that post negative reviews while still working here. (Don't like it leave!)

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what your doing. Benefits for staff are getting better and better which we love.
    iTrent is the future keep making it better.

    MHR Response

    1 Feb 2018 – Content Marketing Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. As you have posted, at MHR we have lots of exciting things to offer employees – not only from a benefits perspective, but in respect to where the... More

  3. Helpful (4)

    "Stay away"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Payroll in Nottingham, England
    Former Employee - Payroll in Nottingham, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at MHR full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    The only pros I have is MHR shows you who the worst people in the world are and they all work there.

    Cons

    Directors can’t direct
    Managers can’t manage
    Team leaders can’t lead

    The only people who have a clue is the staff who get paid pennies but work the hardest.

    Advice to Management

    Find a job you can actual do and not fake it

    MHR Response

    21 May 2018 – Content Marketing Manager

    Thank you for your review. Clearly you didn’t enjoy your time at MHR. The only surprise to us, is that you stuck it out for 3-years, so it can’t all be bad? Every one at every level in our business... More


  4. Helpful (1)

    "Culture like from 20 years ago"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Outsourcing Administrative in Ruddington, England
    Current Employee - Outsourcing Administrative in Ruddington, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at MHR part-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Nice canteen
    Nice people
    Car parking
    Building is currently being updated

    Cons

    Chairman stuck in old days
    Suits a must
    Not future of work but past of work culture


  5. Helpful (4)

    "Unprofessional"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Business Analyst in Nottingham, England
    Former Employee - Business Analyst in Nottingham, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at MHR full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Good salary
    Career opportunities (if you face fits)
    people are nice

    Cons

    They exit people without giving any feedback to them
    they expect you to give 110% all the time
    old boys club - if you dont fit it - youll be out
    poor at making decisions only top bosses can make a decision

    Advice to Management

    listen to your people
    juice bikes are a good idea - more ideal like that
    focus on improving culture
    change the management team to focus on people

    MHR Response

    21 May 2018 – Content Marketing Manager

    Thanks for leaving your review.

    We pride ourselves on the opportunities for personal development for all of our employees irrespective of who they are, whether that is through the work of our... More


  6. Helpful (2)

    "Tentatively Recommend (subject to T&C's)"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at MHR full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    MHR have amazing software and offer reasonably competitive salaries and benefits. The working environment isn't for everyone as it's very formal, not very flexible (although making small improvements here) and a bit stuck up at times but they are honest about their ethos and Company image, so it's your choice as to whether this suits you or not.

    They are very successful and good at what they do and with that success has to come a lot of opportunity, if you fit in. There probably aren't so many companies as financially secure as MHR and they do invest in staff training and development, I found that any reasonable requests were granted so it's clear they care about people (for the most part).

    Whilst I think MHR have a long way to go at being a flexible and modern employer, the worklife balance is good and I never found that I had to take my work home with me

    For the most part I loved my time at MHR, I had many frustrating times and lots of times I wanted to leave but the great people and generally good experience kept me there, until recently.

    Cons

    The formal, outdated culture/working environment, if that's not your thing, but it's not fair to rate them badly for that if you know it and join them because they don't hide it.

    I definitely think they are too many chiefs as it were, I've worked at much bigger companies with far less senior managers and in my experience of MHR, senior people that are inept at their jobs seem to keep getting promoted out of those roles where they were wildly unsuccessful.

    MHR feels as though it's made up of many micro organisations, some of which are great working environments and some of which are really not so your experience will depend on where you work.

    Advice to Management

    Consider how you could become a little more modern and live your own values a little more.

    Keep doing all the things you do that make the Company successful but consider getting with the times a little more - Most tech companies are wildly different to MHR and I think you could incorporating some of the things they do well whilst maintaining your own values.

    Focus on the true MHR at interviews so that people know what kind of organisation you are, because truly it isn't for everyone and not putting enough emphasis on this in the recruitment cycle just leads to the wrong people joining, then leaving and posting bad reviews.

    ** My recommend to a friend below is with the caveat that I felt they were the specific type of person that would fit in, the larger portion of people that would work in this sector I probably wouldn't recommend MHR to.

    MHR Response

    7 Mar 2018 – Content Marketing Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to write a review and for being honest with your feedback. We would agree that there are plenty of opportunities across the business to develop your career further; in... More


  7. Helpful (5)

    "Not a bad place to work, they just need to practice what they preach"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Ruddington, England
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Ruddington, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at MHR full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    *In my time with MHR I have come to know a lot of people I would call friends and enjoyed some good days working alongside of them,
    90% of people you would meet at MHR are some of the most friendliest people, who when in need of help will be there to support you and help you through the rough times which there are a lot of at MHR,
    It is these people who hold together MHR, and without the workers MHR would fall,
    Through all the poor management decisions, abysmal implementation of internal software, it is the work of the employees who make it happen rectifying the poor decisions made from director level and above.

    * If you think wearing a suit to work is to much, this is not the place for you nor is it a valid reason to give the company a bad review, this is the company image to be professional

    *Working hours are good mondays to friday's although to accommodate peoples home life, more options for flexi time / remote work would be appreciated more.

    Cons

    There are only a few negative I found when working for MHR was the management, they are so far removed from the main workforce and do not know what is happening as they only listen to sycophants, poor decision making when it comes to system implementations,

    We were handed a book on the 7 principles of professional services, this highlight exactly how poor the prof services is, each person was handed this book and there was no further improvement in the department, people felt like it was well ive handed you the book my hands are washed of the fall out.

    also If you are a person who likes to stroke the egos of the upper management you will do well here, as they reward people who shout the loudest not the people who get on and do their work and get the jobs done,

    The atmosphere in the Hall is very pretentious and can be very uncomfortable at times,

    Advice to Management

    here is a quote to the management I believe will say how the majority of the workforce feels.

    “Some in management positions operate as if they are in a tree of monkeys. They make sure that everyone at the top of the tree looking down sees only smiles. But all too often, those at the bottom looking up see only a s ses.”
        Simon Sinek – Start with why.

    MHR Response

    27 Feb 2018 – Content Marketing Manager

    First of all let me thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We welcome feedback from all current and previous employees as it helps shape our employee experience initiatives. We 100% agree... More

  8. Helpful (5)

    "Not the best!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at MHR full-time

    Pros

    New offices and location, good opportunities if you are selected.

    Cons

    Only the customer feedback is considered
    High turnover
    Lack of flexibility

    Advice to Management

    Stop being defensive your recent replies only serve to prove that recent comments have foundation. I doubt that any employees will come and discuss issues with you now they believe they will be told concerns are nonsense and MHR don't want people who raise issues and that they can be easily replaced with the 27 other replacements?

    MHR Response

    8 Feb 2018

    Thank you for your review. I would agree that we have a great working environment and there are many and varied opportunities for development for all employees who want it. We are now using Glassdoor... More


  9. Helpful (4)

    "Professional Services"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at MHR full-time

    Pros

    Good car allowance (But it hasn't been increased for 3 years)
    You'll get offered a decent pay rise if you threaten to leave

    Cons

    Expectations to be available all hours.
    In excess of 14 project per PM.
    No personal development time.
    Managers are not trained to support the teams.
    Massively high staff turnover in professional services
    Project managers feel the need to keep their work mobiles on 24/7 to try and avoid customer escalations.
    Managers are not trained or enabled to support their teams with escalations
    No incentive schemes.
    Poor pension contributions
    25 days holiday with no option to roll over and no uplift after long service
    People only get pay rises/promotions when they threaten to leave.
    Managers openly discuss other colleagues in an open plan office and on WhatsApp chat groups.

    Advice to Management

    MHR needs to rethink its management structure. Too many managers stuck in their ways. Needs fresh blood and innovative ideas.

    Motivate the teams with productive training days and prioritise people over revenue.

    MHR Response

    7 Mar 2018 – Content Marketing Manager

    Thank you for your review, I’m sorry to hear that your experience at MHR wasn’t what you had hoped. I take the points you have raised very seriously – it is not company policy for employees to work... More


  10. Helpful (3)

    "MHR - the people make it worth while"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at MHR full-time

    Pros

    The employees I've worked with over the years have made my employment worth my while.

    Cons

    Loyalty/long service doesn't always benefit the employee.

    MHR Response

    1 Feb 2018

    Thank you for leaving a review and for highlighting the great people we have at MHR, however I’m not entirely sure what you mean in relation to loyalty/long-service comments. Long service and loyalty... More


Showing 110 of 112 reviews
Reset Filters