MHR Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

MHR Reviews

Updated Aug 28, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 132 reviews

2.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
48%
Recommend to a Friend
71%
Approve of CEO
MHR CEO Anton Roe  (no image)
Anton Roe
30 Ratings
Pros
  • "Canteen is good and reasonably priced(in 15 reviews)

  • "There seems to be some disgruntled people who have left MHR for one reason or another(in 12 reviews)

Cons
  • "Poor management, terrible dress code, outdated management, poor ways of delivering feedback(in 15 reviews)

  • "None that would prevent me from recommending MHR as an employer of choice (although perhaps public transport links could be better for the area)(in 10 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review

    "Hard work pays off"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Head of Department in Nottingham, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MHR full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I cannot believe some of the negative comments I have read on this site. Yes, I do work hard and put in extra work when required, and am even sometimes under a little pressure. I also met someone I did not get on with once, but is this not normal in almost every place of work. There seems to be some disgruntled people who have left MHR for one reason or another. I cannot speak for them, but I can comment on my... experience. In my 3 years of working at MHR, I have been promoted twice and had three pay rises. I work alongside some of the most talented people I have ever met. I have requested, attended and passed exams for two career training courses, which the company has paid for in full, along with my hotel, food and travel expenses. I have also attended countless internal courses organised by our fantastic Training Department. My meals here are discounted and I don't have any car parking costs, which potentially saves me hundreds of pounds every month. I consider myself fortunate that I get a car allowance and above average pension contributions paid for me. I am proud to wear a suit and tie every day, in my modern heated/air conditioned office using the most up to date technology available. MHR is always expanding, its innovative and our products are at the cutting edge of technology. I choose my office hours, meaning I can start early, so I get home before 5.30pm almost every evening to have dinner with my young family and spend quality time with them. If you are talented, hard working and willing to learn, (and dress smartly) then MHR is a great place to work. If your not, it's not.

    Show More

    Cons

    Occasional lack of resource. Communication between employees and senior management is redundant in many areas. Lack of a company wide social experience for employees and their families, such as a summer or Christmas function.

    Advice to Management

    In my opinion, senior management need to engage with employees at a lower level more. I believe they should take the time to walk the departments and talk to employees every so often.

    MHR2019-05-21
  2. Helpful (5)

    "Amazing opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Nottingham, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MHR full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    You’ll get to work with some of the most talented people you’ll ever meet. Very supportive staff always pushing personal development Best HR software of the market. Leading from the front by using it with their own employees and the benefits are clear Both HR and management really do care for people willing to wave the MHR flag Amazing opportunities for those who want to stand up and take ownership of their roles

    Cons

    Very fast-paced (not necessarily a con but some may see it that way) Some old school thinking with dress code (again same as above)

    Advice to Management

    Really impressed with everything I’ve seen at MHR. I’d like to see more frequent or larger training groups. I’d like to see more internal communications around mentoring opportunities.

    MHR2018-09-19

    MHR Response

    October 1, 2018Head of HR

    Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We would agree that we have some amazing and talented people working at MHR and there are lots of opportunities for employees to develop their careers further as we continue to expand globally. We provide many training and development ...

    Show More
  3. Helpful (5)

    "LOL"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Various 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at MHR full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Struggling to find any to be honest

    Cons

    Think of all the reasons you wouldn’t want to work somewhere, and this company fits the bill!

    Advice to Management

    Stop putting people in charge who cannot manage, do not take interest in their team WHATSOEVER and only care about being able to sit with the board like they’re part of the royal family and get special treatment. The most bullying culture I have ever had the misfortune to work for, shame as there are some lovely people around who you rarely get to see as they’re probably on the road not affected by any of the... stuff that goes off at head office. More advice to management - stop asking the preferred special employees to write positive reviews and start talking to the people working their backsides off what they really think. Mind if you do this, might be worth not false promising them you’re going to change either. Certain individuals have such influence over what goes off at MHR that is impossible to be yourself and have an opinion.

    Show More
    MHR2019-08-28
  4. "Lots of opportunities for a varied and exciting career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MHR full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great people at all levels Modern working environment Lots of opportunity to progress in your career and to grow as an individual Plenty of training available for all employees Options to work overseas for an innovative forward thinking business Subsidised restaurants on site Free parking

    Cons

    None that would prevent me from recommending MHR as an employer of choice (although perhaps public transport links could be better for the area)

    Advice to Management

    Continue what you are doing in respect to delivering change and achieving the long terms visions for the future whilst still managing to support and encourage individuals at all levels to achieve their goals and ambitions

    MHR2019-06-27
  5. "Don't believe everything you read - every department is different"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MHR full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Before I joined MHR I read some of the reviews on here and was worried I'd made a mistake moving to my new role. I shouldn't have worried! I've been at MHR now for just over a year, and have already been promoted and enjoyed a pay rise. My manager is incredibly supportive, listens to my ideas for my career progression and puts them into practise. The marketing department at MHR is full of fantastic, creative... people and it's the best team I've ever been a part of. I have a lot of freedom to try my own ideas for projects and campaigns, with support from the senior team. I've been able to shape hours to fit around my work/life balance, and start early to avoid getting stuck in traffic! Even even worked at home when I need to. I can't speak for what it is like in other departments and areas of the business but in Marketing I really enjoy working here and would recommend making your own judgement by attending an interview or speaking with the people you would be working with before deciding against working here.

    Show More

    Cons

    Politics. Like every organisation it can be difficult working with other departments and their own goals as they don't always align. I know there are attempts to improve communication between departments but progress is slow. It can get a little busy and under pressure at times but that's pretty normal in a growing organisation. Having to pay for tea and coffee every single day does get expensive and whilst... the canteen food is nice, there isn't much of a scale in terms of pricing for a range of budgets.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Consider ways to make more of an effort to show within the organisation that you are listening and that changes are being made to improve certain areas of the business. Whilst the canteen is great, consider providing facilities to allow people with less disposable income to make their own drinks and microwave their food. Senior management would benefit from spending more time with a variety of people around... the organisation to ensure they can spot any problems before they get out of control. Chances are these reviews are from people who spent a while suffering in silence before leaving on bad terms.

    Show More
    MHR2019-06-26
  6. "I’ve grown and developed at MHR"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing Programmer Specialist in Nottingham, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MHR full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Complete ownership over your work meaning you can achieve a lot of you want to.

    Cons

    Not much to be honest. I really enjoy working at MHR

    Advice to Management

    We need more females in management and c level, but then again so do most companies

    MHR2019-06-12
  7. Helpful (8)

    "MH ARRGHH - Thinking about implementing iTrent? Don't"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at MHR full-time

    Pros

    Nice Canteen Free Parking That is about it

    Cons

    Where to start..... Poor management, terrible dress code, outdated management, poor ways of delivering feedback. I've not gone to the other side on a system implementation, and we've had nothing but issue after issue. Web Recruitment doesn't work, it is not an ATS. The majority of clients are public sector who probably don't know any better. The Ui is terrible, outdated, updates are released which don't work.... Which require further updates. Awful really awful. Also, terrible comments from senior management on social media especially if you're a "leftie"

    Show More
    MHR2019-05-29

    MHR Response

    June 7, 2019Head of HR

    Thank you for reposting your original posts from earlier this year. I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your time at MHR and that you found our professional image and approach difficult to work with. I am equally saddened to hear that you still appear to be having problems ...

    Show More
  8. "Company that rewards for hard work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MHR full-time

    Pros

    Unlike other reviews I believe that MHR offers great opportunities for those that work hard and want to progress. Great people and products.

    Cons

    Parking is becoming a problem.

    MHR2019-04-19

    MHR Response

    April 29, 2019Head of HR

    Thank you for taking the time to post a review and highlighting the great people, products and prospects on offer when working for MHR. I would like to address your concern around parking and assure you that work is in progress to provide additional secure parking on our Britannia ...

    Show More
  9. Helpful (7)

    "Software Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Ruddington, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MHR full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Free parking Good canteen Time to develop new skills Use latest technologies

    Cons

    Wear suits No kitchen or fridge Does not listen to staff Favours individuals over team Appoint friends to positions Blame culture Bad benefits Bad pension No work from home Expect staff to work throu lunch and stay over without asking nor paying extra time or time in loo

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your team

    MHR2019-03-27

    MHR Response

    April 2, 2019Head of HR

    As a current employee, could I please ask you to contact either myself or your HR Business Partner at your earliest possible convenience in order to discuss the concerns you have raised in your review. You may feel that you or your wider team aren’t being listened to, but if you come ...

    Show More
  10. Helpful (12)

    "Software Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in Nottingham, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at MHR full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    You get to meet some amazing people and work with top developers State of the art canteen

    Cons

    Bullying tactics Constant criticism Blame culture Not being noticed when going the extra mile Managers do not care about you

    Advice to Management

    - Remove the managers and replace them Why build an app called 'People First' when you dont put them first

    MHR2019-03-21

    MHR Response

    March 27, 2019Head of HR

    Thank you for taking the time to leave a review and highlighting the amazing people and top developers we have here at MHR. I am sorry that you did not enjoy your time with us and felt that our people do not come first. That is not the case, we have a number of schemes to reward ...

    Show More
Found 132 reviews
</>Embed