MHR Reviews

Updated 2 Jun 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 192 of over 196 reviews

3.8
67%
Recommend to a Friend
85%
Approve of CEO
MHR Chief Executive Officer Anton Roe  (no image)
Anton Roe
68 Ratings
Pros
  • "MHR provide a subsidised staff restaurant which serves great breakfast and lunch options in lovely surroundings(in 21 reviews)

  • "Really lovely offices and free parking(in 19 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Formal dress code a little outdated(in 24 reviews)

  • "None that would prevent me from recommending MHR(in 16 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Great opportunities for Growth and Development

      10 Mar 2021 - Graduate 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great support network, from peers to line managers to mentorship schemes. On- site facilities are great, subsidised canteen and coffee bars. Great internal training and focus on feedback and progression. Clear efforts are made to ensure employees feel well looked after - from the buildings facilities through to Employee Assistance Programmes and Wellbeing groups.

      Cons

      The scheme is structured brilliantly, at present there are no cons I would mention - 6 months into my career I feel settled within MHR. With current circumstances (social distancing, remote working) I feel that MHR have sustained the same level of support for their employees.

      1 person found this review helpful
    2. 1.0
      Former Employee

      Worst employer out there. If you care about your mental health, avoid MHR at all costs.

      2 Jun 2021 - Prefer Not to Say 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good canteen. Good parking. Ruddington is nice.

      Cons

      Horrible management, no overtime, a lot of pressure and threats about you losing your job on a monthly basis. They don't care about their employees as they advertise. In fact, if you reed any of their brochures, they do exactly the opposite of what they advice in terms of HR management! I have seen too many talented employees get fired for minor reasons, I have witnessed people getting shouted at and also embarrassed in front of other colleagues. Some even have cried and had to walk out the office.

      Continue reading
      7 people found this review helpful
    3. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      A good Agile workplace tangled up in red tape

      1 Mar 2021 - Software Developer in Nottingham, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      * Good hiring process means that your peers will be smart, friendly, hard-working people * You'll work with talented developers on an interesting app with clean and tidy code * A fairly successful implementation of Agile and good oversight keeps work moving * Comfortable modern office with great food from on-site cafeteria

      Cons

      * Upper levels of the company are money-driven and not interested in advice or suggestions from below * Management attempts to enforce outdated culture (dress requirements, rules on hair colour, tattoos, etc. even for employees who never meet customers) * Management obsession with metrics and KPIs leads to micromanagement and gaming the system to keep numbers in the green regardless of the actual state of work * Culture leads to great pressure to toe the line and work harder, not smarter, focusing on fixing symptoms while moaning that things never improve because the causes are not addressed

      Continue reading
      6 people found this review helpful
    4. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      Good Company being held back by some poor senior staff

      12 May 2021 - Sales BDM in Nottingham, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Chairman was very supportive and motivating.

      Cons

      Transactional products overpriced and not in line with main Competitors. Payroll support was withdrawn with no replacement. Service Management did everything possible to stop me getting deals over the line, influenced by HR.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    5. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Great place to work.

      25 Feb 2021 - Field Marketing Specialist in Ruddington, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I started at MHR in the middle of the pandemic which could have been a problem, however, the onboarding process was great. I felt like part of the team straight away and got to meet everyone virtually. The positives of working in the MHR marketing team are that everyone is very welcoming and there is a great opportunity to work with lots of different people. It's a very positive and fun environment where hard work is rewarded and recognised by your colleagues and managers. The team always encourages new out-of-the-box marketing ideas and will support you in any way necessary.

      Cons

      I have been at MHR for 4 months and so far haven't encountered any negatives to my job role.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 5.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Really lovely place just not for me

      23 Apr 2021 - Payroll Analyst in Ruddington, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Really nice office, state of the art equipment, friendly staff, buy/sell 3 days holiday

      Cons

      No flexible working but makes sense as working in Payroll I suppose.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Great

      3 May 2021 - Consultant in Nottingham, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great salary and Chance to progress

      Cons

      Sometimes get overlooked as a dept

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Good employees but old values

      22 Apr 2021 - Consultant in Nottingham, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Flexible environment to work in

      Cons

      Not likely to sort out management issues

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    9. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      A warm welcome to an exciting company

      17 Dec 2020 - Internal Trainer in Nottingham, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Everyone is hugely helpful and welcoming. I have been given autonomy and trust straight away. My ideas from previous experience are welcomed and encouraged. I felt part of a great team right from day 1. The recruitment and interview process was seamless, personable and efficient. The team were in touch when they said they would be, if not beforehand. My first couple of weeks have been well structured and I have felt supported throughout. The offices provide a great working environment with a mix of the traditional and modern. MHR provide a subsidised staff restaurant which serves great breakfast and lunch options in lovely surroundings. I am excited to learn more about my role and MHR. I believe this has been a great career choice for me.

      Cons

      The benefits on offer are basic but this would not outweigh the pros.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Great place to work!

      7 Mar 2021 - Sales Executive in Nottingham, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great team culture and work life balance! I would definitely recommend MHR to anyone considering a career. Great support during Covid-19.

      Cons

      None that I can think of.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 192 Reviews
    </>Embed

    Popular Careers with MHR Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at MHR? Share Your Experiences

    MHR logo
    or