MHR Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

MHR Reviews

Updated 20 Feb 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.2
58%
Recommend to a Friend
71%
Approve of CEO
MHR Chief Executive Officer Anton Roe  (no image)
Anton Roe
42 Ratings
Pros
  • "There seems to be some disgruntled people who have left MHR for one reason or another(in 17 reviews)

  • "Really lovely offices and free parking(in 12 reviews)

Cons
  • "Some old school thinking with dress code (again same as above)(in 17 reviews)

  • "None that would prevent me from recommending MHR as an employer of choice (although perhaps public transport links could be better for the area)(in 10 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (5)

    "Hard work pays off"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Head of Department in Nottingham, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MHR full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I cannot believe some of the negative comments I have read on this site. Yes, I do work hard and put in extra work when required, and am even sometimes under a little pressure. I also met someone I did not get on with once, but is this not normal in almost every place of work. There seems to be some disgruntled people who have left MHR for one reason or another. I cannot speak for them, but I can comment on my experience. In my 3 years of working at MHR, I have been promoted twice and had three pay rises. I work alongside some of the most talented people I have ever met. I have requested, attended and passed exams for two career training courses, which the company has paid for in full, along with my hotel, food and travel expenses. I have also attended countless internal courses organised by our fantastic Training Department. My meals here are discounted and I don't have any car parking costs, which potentially saves me hundreds of pounds every month. I consider myself fortunate that I get a car allowance and above average pension contributions paid for me. I am proud to wear a suit and tie every day, in my modern heated/air conditioned office using the most up to date technology available. MHR is always expanding, its innovative and our products are at the cutting edge of technology. I choose my office hours, meaning I can start early, so I get home before 5.30pm almost every evening to have dinner with my young family and spend quality time with them. If you are talented, hard working and willing to learn, (and dress smartly) then MHR is a great place to work. If your not, it's not.

    Cons

    Occasional lack of resource. Communication between employees and senior management is redundant in many areas. Lack of a company wide social experience for employees and their families, such as a summer or Christmas function.

    Continue reading
    MHR2019-05-21
  2. Helpful (3)

    "A Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Nottingham, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MHR full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    * Empowering Environment where all opinions and ideas are listened to * Believe strongly in Learning and Development of people . * Credit always given for good work * Honesty and Integrity highly valued * Family environment, very welcoming * Really lovely offices and free parking * Subsidised restaurants with great food * Extremely talented and supportive colleagues * Culture of Innovation and Excellence

    Cons

    * Communication between departments has room for improvement. This has however been recognised and work is already being done to make improvements. * Can't really think of any further Cons tbh...

    Continue reading
    MHR2020-01-22
  3. "Agressive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Project Manager in Nottingham, England

    I worked at MHR full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    They offer above average salary

    Cons

    Little respect for their employees

    MHR2020-02-05

    MHR Response

    February 14, 2020Social Manager

    Hi, Thank you for leaving a review. We would be interested to hear more of your feedback, please feel free to contact our HR director Jeanette.wheeler@mhr.co.uk

    Continue reading
  4. "Watch your back with senior management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager in Nottingham, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at MHR full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    High salary, onsite parking, nice offices, friendly colleagues

    Cons

    Watch your back. New senior management telling the managers to put someone on an improvement plan but make sure they are given something to fail on. Despicable behaviour for a company connected to the HR industry

    MHR2020-02-20
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Formal"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Service Administrator in Ruddington, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at MHR full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Free parking great colleagues to work with

    Cons

    Over worked Everyone is paid different salary - new starters join the company on a higher wage regardless if you have YEARS more experience then them

    MHR2020-01-27
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Don't make the mistake I did by working for MHR"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at MHR full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Big office space on grounds

    Cons

    No coffee or tea making facilities (have to buy it basically) No kitchen facilities (e.g. fridges or microwaves) Very hierarchical Ruthless with staff - if they have less than 2 years experience, will simply fire them as they know the employee can't raise an employee tribunal (this happened to me and it coincidently happened at the end of the year where they were cost saving) Developers wear suits (which is crazy as they aren't even customer facing) No way of innovating their products (simply just want to put a new 'skin' on it They don't accept reviews - they report it to glassdoor, I know 5 people that had their review taken down over the last year If the ' exective board' take a disliking to you - you won't be there long

    Continue reading
    MHR2020-02-06

    MHR Response

    February 14, 2020Social Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. Here at MHR we're proud of our heavily subsidised onsite restaurants and our professional image. On Glassdoor as a business, you cannot simply remove reviews unless they violate glassdoors review policy: https://help.glassdoor.com/article/Community-Guidelines/en_US

    Continue reading
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Don’t do it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Project Manager in Ruddington, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at MHR full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    High salary to keep people

    Cons

    BAD Culture No values from owner/senior leadership No people management No work life balance

    Continue reading
    MHR2020-02-04

    MHR Response

    February 14, 2020Social Manager

    Hi, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We would ask you to kindly take a look at this page https://www.mhr.co.uk/about-us/family-business/ and reconsider your comment about values.

    Continue reading
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Don't even bother"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Implementation Consultant 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at MHR full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    There are no pros to working here.

    Cons

    Archaic dress code, Overbearing management, told training would be continued then terminated a week later. If the chairman takes a dislike to you at first sight he'll get his way as its all about him and his Conservative (Tory) methodology that is outdated in the modern world.

    Continue reading
    MHR2020-02-01
  9. Helpful (1)

    "A great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Relationship Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MHR full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I’ve been at MHR for 2 years and love it! I work in a customer facing role with every team in the business, everyone is helpful, supportive and many go above and beyond

    Cons

    Some weeks my work/life balance is better than other weeks.

    MHR2019-11-11
  10. "I love working here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Consultant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MHR full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    MHR is a great company to work for. The management in my area of the business are fantastic and always appreciate a work life balance. Food is great too in the canteens too!

    Cons

    No occupational parental leave pay, often told to keep quiet if you don't like a decision/the way something is run

    Continue reading
    MHR2019-11-07

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 147 reviews
</>Embed