Medpace Reviews

Updated 13 Sep 2020

To filter reviews, or .
2.7
33%
Recommend to a Friend
30%
Approve of CEO
Medpace President and CEO August Troendle
August Troendle
246 Ratings
Pros
  • "Free lunch (it’s a salad everyday, but it’s free, if you don’t want it then don’t eat it, delicious(in 96 reviews)

  • "The training program for CRAs is intense(in 24 reviews)

Cons
  • "poor upper management leadership(in 29 reviews)

  • "Lack of flexibility to work from home (though surely COVID-19 has proved this can be achieved(in 26 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (1)

    "Excellent place to work and learn."

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Bio Statistician in Cincinnati, OH
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Medpace full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Excellent place to work and learn. Employees are friendly and helpful. Free and healthy lunch. Good benefits and salary. HR is very supportive and always there to help. I dont need more than these things in my workplace.

    Cons

    Eating a salad every day is difficult but it's healthy. A food truck is also there as an alternative to salad.

    Continue reading

    Medpace Response

    Human Resources

    Thank you for leaving a review. We are thrilled to hear you are enjoying your time with Medpace and taking advantage of some of the on-site perks we offer at the organization. If the free lunch is not your first choice, we have several other alternatives. We currently bring food trucks on-site every day to add variety, and we also have worked out free delivery with a few surrounding restaurants for our employees. In addition, we are in the process of adding a cafeteria to our new building that will open next year. We hope to have plenty of options for all Medpace employees. Thank you for the feedback.

  2. "Excellent environment to grow especially in the UK office"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - CTM in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Medpace full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The team was kept motivated and constantly encouraged to do their best. There were a lot of opportunities to develop as an individual in a collaborative environment.

    Cons

    Lack of flexibility to work from home

    Continue reading

    Medpace Response

    Human Resources

    Thank you for your feedback! We appreciate your input, and are happy to hear you enjoyed the collaborative environment and advancement opportunities we offer here at Medpace. We believe our office-based model promotes a collaborative environment to ensure our employees and sponsors feel heard and valued. By allowing our employees to utilize “flex time”, we still give them the ability to have a flexible schedule that encourages a well-balanced work/home life. Any recommendations you have on improving our environment or policies can be sent to your HR representative. We are always looking to address concerns and hear new ideas. We appreciate your feedback!


  3. COVID-19
    Helpful (14)

    "Megalomaniac CEO"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Former Employee in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Medpace full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The people in the London office (aside from some of the CTMs) are so kind and friendly and there is genuine camaraderie amongst them. The office location is beautiful - in the centre of the city with the the most prettiest skyline for a view from some of the offices.

    Cons

    Everything has to be authorised by the CEO - he reviews every CV for any potential new hire, expenses that may not fall within the reporting time (even due to extenuating circumstances). Lack of flexibility to work from home (though surely COVID-19 has proved this can be achieved!) CTMs in the London office (the more senior ones (not the newer ones - they're lovely!) do not really associate with other members in the office. Lack of clarity in their procedural documents. Lack of empathy from the most senior management (i.e. CEO). Put the well being of the business before the well being of staff.

    Continue reading
  4. Helpful (7)

    "Terrible management and treatment of staff"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - CTM in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Medpace full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The London office is in a good location on cannon street and the coffee machine makes good coffee. During break time, iin the kitchen we have a good laugh and conversation over our terrible experiences here in medpace

    Cons

    Hmmm...where do I start? I have been here less than a year because I wanted to give the company the benefit of a doubt but now that I have several other offers let me shine a light on some absurdities of the company. I think if you decide to work here it should only be as a stepping stone or because you are in dire need to have a job and couldnt get anywhere else. By d way, I think the way HR is responding to reviews is laughable; rather than give excuses or claim reviews are not true, you could say you would try to do better and you have listened to their concerns. Because people are basically saying the same thing... I'd be as lay as possible in my explanations. First of all, the management is comically grotesque! They have a select few (made up of mainly CTMs) and they would only interact with these few while everyone else can literally go to hell! It is so bad that I and a few colleagues would say hello to the boss just to prove a point and not get 1 response from him but he would go around to those selected few, cracking jokes, laughing, sharing snacks, having drinks after work etc...seriously, it is painfully funny. Do not expect to work 37.5 or 40hours, especially if you want to be noticed or taken seriously...we do 50 to 60 hours weekly and get no recognition/appreciation whatsoever. The HR is also another aspect that probably needs reformation, they have set the premise where you can just wake up in the morning, decide to make false accusations against anyone and get away with it...if this happens to you, HR management will treat you like a common criminal (not exagerating), I dont know if this is done to get you to quit. A lady who quit in january would always go to the bathroom crying because of the unfair treatment she received from HR, it's just absurd that they do this. They also, of late, started hiring fresh graduates causing us to stay longer in the office with more responsibilities. I believe that they want cheap labour so they pick up fresh graduates or people with NO EXPERIENCE WHATSOEVER in that role, and then have 1 or 2 people in the team who are capable to hold down the team - all because they want to be able to pay them peanuts. If I was a sponsor and I walked into medpace, i would be worried because the whole team looks naive! For Pete's sake, a recently hired coordinator (last year) was asking me what coordinators do, because he had never worked as a coordinator before, he only had past experience in the hospital in an unsimilar role but yet was given a senior position and of course a peanut salary...we are close colleagues now and i have nothing against the fellow but you can see how that impacts my job as the CTM? I am also beginning to see a trend in the way HR management treats afro staff, because late2019 and early this year a few incidents happened to 3 afro staff members that disgusted me to my core.. but I am still observing the situation and believe me I would add that to the review if I can categorically say so. The company also prides itself in not spending much to gratify or appreciate staff, last end of year, the select few ALONE were appreciated but it was funny to see how they got a small bottle of drink as 'awards'. While the rest of the office received a voucher for 1 free cup coffee (don't kid yourself, not starbucks or Costa or any of the good coffee shops), when we have wonderfully working coffee machines in the kitchen. They offer peanut salaries but I cant complain because they never forced anyone to accept the salary but the benefits are absurd; you are literally pointed to the direction where you can find good insurance, dentistry and others ...they dont actually pay a dime for you. Except they do this for the select few because they dont pay anything for me or other colleagues I have spoken with. They just bring in companies to talk to us but we make payments. I honestly think the USA branch has a better environment and is a good place to work in, but to be fair, the one in cannon street is a joke. My advice to you who is looking for a job in Medpace London, if its your first job after school then go for it..do not go in with so much expectations tho! Learn as much as you can and in 3 months start sending out your CV to other companies. Dont expect trainings, they dont...they only give you multiple SOPs to read, you have to be watchful and learn from experience. My question to you who isnt a fresh graduate: are you sure you cannot get something else? If you do decide to go for it, dont stop applying for other jobs, think of it as a means-to-an-end, only then can you come out with a smile on your face. The minute you get called in by HR just get your resignation letter ready.

    Continue reading

    Medpace Response

    Human Resources

    Thank you for leaving a review. We are very taken back and saddened to hear about your experience with Medpace. Admittedly, there has been change in the organization over the last few years due to our high growth rate. We acknowledge that as a company, we do have high standards and expect a lot of our employees. We are extremely excited about the growth we’ve seen over the last few years, and have plans in place to ensure our organization can keep up with the growth and continue to be successful, while still ensuring our employees enjoy the work environment we have created. In regards to compensation, we review this regularly. We consistently work with our Compensation and Benefits team to review salary and benchmarks to assure we are aligned with the market while also being competitive in the industry. We also acknowledge that Medpace is not a fit for everyone, and we are okay with that. Every employee has different needs, and it is unrealistic to think we can meet all of them. However, we always try our best to make every employee feel valued and satisfied in their position at the organization. We encourage you to address your concerns about your workload directly with your line manager. We are also saddened to hear about your feelings toward our HR team. Our HR department strives to serve the employees of the organization and provide a collaborative environment where they can continue to grow and thrive within the organization. Any issues brought to HR are prioritized accordingly. More specifically, they are all reviewed, and then escalated as necessary. We are always willing to address specific concerns, and also make it clear that we will escalate depending on the specific concern, but that in addition to advocating for individuals, HR and Management considers the best interests of employees collectively as well as the organization as a whole. We are always open to suggestions and feedback and appreciate your review. We do highly recommend you contact your HR Representation to discuss in more detail.

  5. Helpful (5)

    "Avoid"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Medpace full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Nothing springs to mind i am afraid.

    Cons

    Where do I start? Once or twice a year I come here to see the reviews; not sure why or what I hope to achieve. Sad in a way that nothing seems to have changed but grateful I am out; pleased to see that HR are responding to even the harshest critics (they did not respond to my original post). Shamefully treated by my boss with no HR representation (was told after 20y in industry by my boss that MP had been desparate to hire me) and stabbed in the back (and in the front if truth be told). Only reason I feel compelled to write is that if HR is really out there then for god sake do something.

    Medpace Response

    Human Resources

    Thank you for your feedback. We are very sorry to hear you feel there is negativity within the organization. We recognize that we are not a perfect fit for everyone, but we work hard to ensure we are a place that attracts employees not just for the short term, but provides an environment where our associates can grow in their career. We are very proud of the culture we promote. We encourage all employees who have concerns to contact their HR representative directly to discuss in more detail. Although is it clear that Medpace was not the best fit for you, we appreciate your review.

  6. Helpful (3)

    "One of the worst companies in the history of man. Corruption, mal practice, racism, nepotism. Poor management."

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Medpace

    Pros

    When this corrupt company announces its demise

    Cons

    Everything imaginable just avoid at all cost. Will destroy your family.

    Continue reading

    Medpace Response

    Human Resources

    Yikes! There are quite a lot of accusations in the title of this review, and we are a bit taken back! We are unsure as to where these have come from, considering they go against everything we stand for as an organization. We would like to hear some of these concerns. If you are still employed at Medpace, we strongly encourage you to chat with your HR Representative so we can discuss these in much more detail. We can’t shed light on problems that we are not aware of :) Thank you!

  7. Helpful (7)

    "One percenters"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Clinical Trial Manager in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Medpace full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Shared misery over bad conditions help make good friends

    Cons

    Unstable company in the UK which does not respect sponsors, employees or a healthy worklife balance. Official working hours are 37 hours a week but is really closer to over 50 houirs unless you’re a director or above and can make up their hours and work from home but insist we have to be in office. Advancement is driven by favoritism and blind loyalty only not by competence. Rules are bent for these 1% favourites while everyone else has to suffer. There is an underlying culture of ruling by fear within clinops in the UK and senior managers have walked away without any disciplinary actions for more than one kind of harassment and abuse while whistleblowers/affected staff are treated like criminals by HR and every effort made to make them leave following complaints. Unskilled staff are hired and thrown in the deep end with minimal box-ticking training which promotes a cycle of incompetence and poor quality. New hires are promised the moon and treated differently setting low expectations and progression promises are then disappeared with moving goalpost objectives and made up excuses. Medpace prides itself on low turnover but this is by harsh non-compete clauses than anything else. Avoid at all costs unless you’re absolutely desperate for work but be prepared to be unhappy and willing to leave in a year.

    Continue reading

    Medpace Response

    Human Resources

    Oh my goodness! We’re sorry to hear you have poor feelings about the organization -- although we certainly agree that we have fantastic staff! We are very taken back by some of the claims you have made in regards to our UK office. We are very aware that we’re going through a major growth period at this time. One of the drawbacks of a high rate of success is that we sometimes ask a lot of our associates. While it’s an exciting time for the company, we recognize growing pains are present and are working hard to bring great new employees to the company to provide a doable workload for all employees. In addition, all departments have training in place to ensure employees have a clear understanding on the role responsibilities and expectation. Should there ever be confusion on this, we encourage all employees to talk to their direct supervisor for clarification. Our HR department strives to serve the employees of the organization and provide a collaborative environment where they can continue to grow and thrive within the organization. Any issues brought to HR are a priority. They are all reviewed, and then escalated as necessary. We are always willing to address specific concerns, and also make it clear that we will escalate depending on the specific concern, but that in addition to advocating for individuals, HR and Management considers the best interests of employees collectively as well as the organization as a whole. Actions taken may not always be the exact result desired by the employee. A non-compete agreement is a very common practice in competitive industries, such as ours. Medpace notifies all candidates who interview of our employment contract prior to offering a position. This allows each candidate to evaluate if the non-compete agreement is something they feel comfortable with prior to joining the organization. We are saddened to hear you have negativity toward the company, but hope this mindset changes as we continue to expand and serve our industry. We encourage you to continue to address your concerns to your manager or HR as we will do our best to address.

  8. "Training"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - CRA 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Medpace full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great studies to work on

    Cons

    CRA Management not supportive with day to day tasks

    Continue reading

    Medpace Response

    Human Resources

    Thank you for leaving a review. We’re glad to hear you enjoyed the CRA position at Medpace. We are passionate about the work we do, and are happy to hear you enjoyed the studies you were able to be a part of. We have training in place for all managers (both new and experienced) to ensure they are leading their teams in the best way. We encourage all employees to express concerns to their supervisor directly, or contact their HR representative to discuss in more detail. We appreciate your input!

  9. Helpful (8)

    "Bad management"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Medpace full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Systems are good and IT is fine.

    Cons

    The main reason I left Medpace is because of terrible management. The system is very hierarchical and managers do not like to mix up with entry level or a little more experienced colleagues. What is worse is when country managers and HR do not take any steps to improve the company culture. There is no group spirit in this company.

    Continue reading

    Medpace Response

    Human Resources

    Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to hear you feel there is negativity within the organization; however, we work hard to ensure we are a place that attracts employees not just for the short term, but provides an environment where our associates can grow in their career. We offer a structure that promotes growth within the organization and allows for continual promotional opportunities for our employees. We are proud of the collaborative and flexible culture that we promote, and strive to make all employees feel valued, included, and satisfied in their work. The quarterly staff meetings we hold allow our employees to hear direct communication from our President, and we have training for all managers regarding cross-departmental communication, and communication with their teams. It is apparent that Medpace was not the best fit for you, but we appreciate your review.

  10. Helpful (1)

    "Positive environment"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Clinical Trial Coordinator in London, England
    Recommends

    I worked at Medpace full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Friendly people Good opportunities for career development Good training

    Cons

    Overworked stuff and slow salary increase

    Medpace Response

    Human Resources

    Thank you for your feedback! We appreciate your input and are happy to hear you enjoyed the collaborative environment, training, and advancement opportunities we offer here at Medpace. We are aware we are going through a period of high growth within the organization, and our leadership is making a great effort to thank current employees for their efforts during a busy season. At Medpace we are proud of the team culture we promote and the value we strive to bring to Medpace associates. We regularly review our compensation and benefits to ensure we are being competitive within our industry. Should employees ever have any specific concerns, we encourage them to reach out to their HR representative to discuss. We appreciate your input!

Found 427 reviews