Mercy Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Mercy Reviews

Updated 11 Nov 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.3
58%
Recommend to a Friend
72%
Approve of CEO
Mercy CEO Lynn Britton (no image)
Lynn Britton
283 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good working environment with good benefits(in 40 reviews)

  • "Great people to work with and awesome communities to serve(in 33 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "patients and co-workers are great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Family Nurse Practitioner 

    I have been working at Mercy full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I love who I work with and helping patients

    Cons

    not the best benefits offered

    Mercy2019-11-11
  2. Helpful (1)

    "RN"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Mercy full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Room for advancement, great coworkers, and flexibility in scheduling for work/life balance.

    Cons

    Staffing ratios, pay is not as competitive as other healthcare entities in the market, and leadership is lacking at night as well as resources.

    Advice to Management

    Listen to staff about RN to patients ratios. We want to give the best care possible. But, sometimes when you are spread too thin with high acuity patients you can lack in adequate patient care.

    Mercy2019-11-04
  3. "Rad Tech"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Mercy full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great benifits And very nice place to work

    Cons

    The pay scale is low as compared to others

    Mercy2019-10-29
  4. "Great place as a patient, slave as a worker."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Patient Care Associate in Creve Coeur, MO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Mercy full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Checks cleared so there's that....

    Cons

    Understaffed Workload is more then we are prepared to handle Pay is ridiculous Overworked

    Advice to Management

    I am on one of the busiest floors in the hospital and alway receive assignments of 9 patients ts because we are so understaffed. I make $11.50 an hour that comes to about $630 every two weeks which equals about 24 I every year. After paying rent ($450) and cell phone bill ($80), I am left with a whopping $100 left to survive off of for two weeks. WE are at the front lines. WE are the ones to notify nurses of... problems and yet get paid peanuts in comparison to the work we do. The pay is not competitive at all. Barnes recognized it and pays. Why can't you guys do the same? Are we too busy tied up in "the ministry of Jesus" and forgetting it takes US, the employers, to keep the hospital going? But we can afford paying the top dogs six figures huh?

    Show More
    Mercy2019-11-11
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Fear layoffs; must be St Louis elite to stay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Administrative Director in Springfield, MO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Mercy full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great benefits, great physicians, great mission

    Cons

    Constant fear of downsizing, or of saying the wrong thing to trigger management

    Advice to Management

    Get a grip on hiring, stop the every three year layoffs. Be more open to people not from St Louis being part of senior leadership. Stop the top down, use your local resources better. Learn to really value the employees.

    Mercy2019-11-08
  6. "Best place I've ever worked"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Recruitment Assistant in Oklahoma City, OK
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Mercy full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great coworkers, faith-based environment, great benefits

    Cons

    none. i'm very happy here.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work!

    Mercy2019-10-23
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Terrible pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Patient Access Representative 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Mercy full-time

    Pros

    Good insurance, many really nice people, good hours, clean.

    Cons

    Terrible pay, no job security

    Advice to Management

    Increase the pay and people will stay.

    Mercy2019-11-06
  8. "Great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Certified Nursing Assistant CNA in Oklahoma City, OK
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Mercy part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible hours Good work environment

    Cons

    With float pool, it is hard to get to know the people around you.

    Mercy2019-10-22
  9. "Mercy is a great hospital!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Registered Nurse in Saint Louis, MO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Mercy full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Everyone in the hospital is friendly. There are many opportunities to transfer within the hospital after you complete one year on the floor you started on. Opportunities to pick up extra shifts if that's what you are looking for.

    Cons

    Base pay is not great but there are opportunities to pick up extra shifts to earn more money.

    Mercy2019-10-17
  10. "Decent place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Environmental Services Technician II in Washington, MO

    I have been working at Mercy full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    There are good working relations with other departments.

    Cons

    The pay and hours are not the greatest.

    Mercy2019-10-17
Found 881 reviews