Moderna Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Moderna Reviews

Updated Sep 13, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 68 reviews

3.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
52%
Recommend to a Friend
73%
Approve of CEO
Moderna CEO Stéphane Bancel
Stéphane Bancel
43 Ratings
Pros
  • "The benefits are great (who doesn't love free lunch every day) as well as great medical benefits(in 15 reviews)

  • "Fast paced environment and exponential career growth(in 13 reviews)

Cons
  • "Upper management basically will not care about the new employees and treat them poorly(in 8 reviews)

  • "Has great potential but there needs to be a solid growth plan, needs assessment and significant improvement with work life balance(in 5 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate in Cambridge, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Moderna full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Company Culture. Sense of belonging.

    Cons

    Difficult to move up in the company. Takes longer than expected.

    Moderna2019-09-10
  2. "Unrealistic expectations by management of their employees"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Moderna

    Pros

    Benefits, free lunch, onsite gym, people are nice and wicked smart.

    Cons

    Job leveling is not like any place I've ever been and, for an early phase company, isn't realistic. A company at this stage should be more flexible and willing to support employees to retain them. Managers often have 6-10 direct reports (or more) and are performing at a director level without the title or pay. In general, the fast pace is more because leaders are unable or unwilling to push back on exec leadership... when expectations are too high. Lots of 'yes' people chasing down the most recent ask of leadership. Not a lot of ability to personalize space or work quietly - makes it hard to feel like you can put down roots at this place. No flexibility to work remotely. This comes from the very top of the org.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Employees know that this isn't the only game in town - management needs to advocate for their teams and not just say yes to the execs' every whim all the time. The pace says more about the org than the employees: think about young kids playing soccer. Everyone mobs around the ball - no true strategy. That's what needs to change here.

    Moderna2019-09-13
  3. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineer II 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Moderna full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great teams, very collaborative. It feels like everyone is working very hard to achieve the same goal.

    Cons

    Long hours and a bit stressful to meet tight deadlines.

    Moderna2019-08-18
  4. Helpful (3)

    "Overcrowded, cold and toxic culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    Current Employee - Research Associate 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Moderna full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Insurance is pretty comparable to other companies, subsidized transportation, free lunch is nice if you don’t mind waiting in line and having no where to sit but at your desk most days

    Cons

    The culture is almost non existent but is talked up constantly by upper management. People are stressed and not happy to be at work, are overworked and cut corners which makes me question the quality of some of the work. Everyone constantly complains how absolutely freezing cold it is in the offices. People have to wear jackets inside in the summer. Space is really limited to the point that it feels like a turf war.... This is one of the most unwelcoming places I’ve ever worked. Some of the language used and stories I’ve overheard are completely offensive and sound like bullying. It’s completely embarrassing to think this has been going on without anyone stepping in. How does this get overlooked? I guess people don’t reach out to HR anymore because they don’t trust that HR is there for the employee. HR is really there for the company.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    My biggest advice: people can handle stress tons of work etc. but once the environment becomes toxic and the culture is ruined by hateful language, and that language is accepted by others around them, then people don’t seem to care about their work anymore. The amount of talking behind people’s backs makes it feel like being back in high school. It shouldn’t be shrugged off and creates a very hostile environment... that needs to be addressed. The new hires shouldn’t come in and look around wondering why this was ever okay.

    Show More
    Moderna2019-09-04

    Moderna Response

    September 11, 2019Head of Talent Acquisition

    Thanks so much for sharing your perspective. Moderna certainly takes a hard line on ANY accusations of bullying or inappropriate behavior. All employees are encouraged to anonymously report any potential violations of our Code of Business Conduct and Ethics via our ethics hotline ...

    Show More
  5. "Extremely bright and very passionate team trying to change the world with mRNA"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director in Cambridge, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Moderna full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Moderna is a very exciting work environment. Leaders and team are highly engaged -- especially if you like creating, building and breaking new ground. There are many opportunities to learn, as well as, to leave your mark . The Executive Team is very accessible and open to hearing proposals for making things better and faster.

    Cons

    Moderna is a young company and still 'under construction' in many areas. If you are not willing to roll-up your sleeves and help to build the future, Moderna might a difficult place. If you are expecting a finely tuned machine with a well-established work routine, you may be disappointed.

    Advice to Management

    Sometimes there are too many concurrent 'top priorities'. If everything is a priority, then nothing is a priority.

    Moderna2019-07-30

    Moderna Response

    August 7, 2019Head of Talent Acquisition

    Thanks for sharing your Moderna experience! We ARE a team of builders here - great point. And while many areas are 'under new construction' we accomplishing amazing things at an unprecedented pace.

  6. Helpful (11)

    "Could be a great place to work, management is not good."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Cambridge, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Moderna full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great Benefits and Perks, HR Team is responsive with proven leadership. Could be a great place to work but in dire need of help with living up to the core values with some current managers.

    Cons

    Communication and expectation setting deplorable. Managers in dire need of leadership training. Environment fosters negativity. Has great potential but there needs to be a solid growth plan, needs assessment and significant improvement with work life balance. Open concept seating meant for collaboration but it is proven to be a detriment not a help. Not enough thank you's for the work being done but a lot of... negativity for what needs to be done with current staff and management.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Develop management training program with a defined measurement strategy to help managers manage people that includes growth plans and career paths. Develop ways to improve work life balance by allowing 10 hour 4 day work weeks in the summer months to motivate people and allow for ample time with family or providing flexible work schedules that are supported. Improve business processes that are realistic and aren't... micro managed to the extent it impedes the ability to progress. Needs assessment throughout departments for ample staffing. Lastly, remove the managers that are causing dissatisfaction and turnover to allow for consistency, growth and improvements. If it's broken, fix it.

    Show More
    Moderna2019-06-13

    Moderna Response

    July 19, 2019Head of Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for your feedback. We take communicating with and developing our employees very seriously and have launched a plan to better enable our managers and grow their leadership capabilities. In addition, though our engagement surveys, and ‘Voice of the Employee’ group, we have ...

    Show More
  7. "Good Benefit, Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Mfg Associate 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Moderna full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good Benefits, "can do" culture

    Cons

    Fast paced if you're not used to that

    Moderna2019-05-28
  8. Helpful (3)

    "Awesome work, cutting edge technology, bad communication"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Research Associate in Norwood, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Moderna full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great benefits, awesome work, fast paced culture

    Cons

    Poor communication from upper management and between different groups

    Moderna2019-05-17

    Moderna Response

    May 22, 2019Head of Talent Acquisition

    Thanks for your review - and bringing up some of the challenges you are experiencing. I'll pass this feedback along - and be sure to share your feedback directly with your manager or HR. One thing I know....It's almost impossible to over-communicate. Glad you are enjoying the culture ...

    Show More
  9. Helpful (24)

    "Culture Fail"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Sci in Cambridge, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Moderna full-time

    Pros

    The underappreciated people with uncommon grit.

    Cons

    For young PhD graduates, I highly recommend this place. You can get your foot in the R&D industry door. You'll become a manager almost immediately. In some cases, you won't even need to complete much postdoc time. You'll be a leader with a voice that is heard. Actually, you might not even need to interview. Now... if you don't have a PhD.... Run. It doesn't matter how much experience you have, how much... non-doctoral education you have, how long you've served the company, performance, dedication etc. It doesn't matter..... Run. The PhD gatekeeping by Moderna is demoralizing to so many key personnel. It creates two classes of employees, and the lower class is disillusioned. I'm convinced this is why Moderna is going to fail. The most important thing to people is respect. Passion and drive are so key for a company like this. When you don't feel respected, passion for the work is near impossible to hold onto. When you don't feel respected, you take the easy outs. You do the minimum. When you don't feel respected, you don't squeeze in one more experiment before going home. You come in late, you half-ass the documentation, you procrastinate, you order more reagents than you need. A fair salary and solid perks alone don't buy respect. The work needs to be appreciated. Talent needs to be recognized. And not with a title like, "Senior Principal Research Associate". Think about how ridiculous that title is for a second. Do you really think people that receive that title are grateful? (they weren't). That's a scarlett letter. That title says, I know you're working hard, but you are incapable of creative problem solving or leveraging any scientific knowledge to propel the company forward. HR messaging is that this is the industry norm. It's not. And even if it was, that doesn't make it right. RAs notice, RAs talk, RAs leave, RAs get disillusioned. And that's one of the saddest things about this, treating people this way becomes a self-fulfilling prophecy. The company used to at least pretend this was a meritocracy. Not anymore. Ironic too - the president and CEO are non-PhDs.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Wake up

    Moderna2019-06-02
  10. "Great science with demonstrated proof of concept But..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Former Employee in Cambridge, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Moderna full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Very innovative approach - has great potential to treat several diseases especially with recent breakthroughs.

    Cons

    People and teams are not as engaged as they should be.

    Advice to Management

    Take steps to increase employee engagement.

    Moderna2019-05-12

    Moderna Response

    May 22, 2019Head of Talent Acquisition

    Thanks for sharing! Yes - we are working on amazing, cutting-edge science. And we are working on pockets of the company where engagement isn't up to par with the rest of Moderna - pinky swear! We have several great programs in the works to continuously gauge and improve engagement. ...

    Show More
Found 68 reviews