Onfido Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Onfido Reviews

Updated 17 February 2019
84 reviews

Filter

Filter


4.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Onfido CEO, CoFounder Husayn Kassai
Husayn Kassai
74 Ratings

Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • "Absolutely no politics, very good culture and the best work life balance" (in 8 reviews)

  • "The company is growing very quickly and adapting to change" (in 5 reviews)

Cons
  • "Vague career progression path in most engineering roles" (in 6 reviews)

  • "Nothing outside the norm for a very very fast growing company no longer really a startup" (in 5 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. Helpful (2)

    "An exciting and innovative place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Onfido full-time

    Pros

    The company has a fresh and young feel, with some very modern and positive ideas and approaches to how a company works. The attitude is relaxed and friendly, and yet at the same time dedicated and determined. There is a very clear sense of pride in the work done here.

    Cons

    I can't really think of anything to put here.

    Advice to Management

    Keep looking forward, and maintain the core beliefs values.

    Onfido Response

    17 Jan 2019 – Cofounder & COO

    Thanks for the great review! We certainly take pride in the work we're doing to create a more open world.


  2. "Working at Onfido"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Onfido full-time

    Pros

    Great world leading technology.
    Very friendly workplace

    Cons

    None to mention thus far

  3. "Fast growing, pacy and fun place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Onfido full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    The appetite for 'better' is hugely apparent. It really is a place in which you can present your ideas and run with them.
    Onfido definitely puts culture at number one, providing a fantastic environment and driving behaviours that enable you to be your best.
    If you're new to start ups then this is a fantastic place to be at an exciting time!

    Cons

    There is a certain amount of entitlement felt by a few members of the team. They joined when Onfido truly was a tiny 'start-up' and want to keep it exactly the same, sometimes to it's detriment. Change is a constant and embracing it is the way forward!

    Advice to Management

    Try not to assume the worst because of the actions of a few.

    Onfido Response

    27 Jan 2019 – Cofounder & COO

    Thanks for the great review, and the useful feedback. Hopeful that we can embrace change while not forgetting about the things which made us successful in the first place. Eamon


  4. Helpful (2)

    "Very good ScaleUp if you are up for the challenge!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Onfido full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Great emphasis on culture and output rather than politics

    Cons

    Still growing and maturing as an organisation hence have various hiccups on all fronts. You have to be ready to find workarounds to deliver value.

    Advice to Management

    Need to learn become more customer-centric. In 2018 there were a lot of initiatives to improve on that but there is still a very inward-looking culture.

    Onfido Response

    17 Jan 2019 – Cofounder & COO

    Thanks for the review, and completely agree about customer-centricity. It's crucial, and we hope our new Create Customer Buzz value that we launched in 2018 will go some way to ensuring we put the... More


  5. Helpful (1)

    "Evolving"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Quality Assurance in London, England
    Current Employee - Quality Assurance in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Onfido part-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Provides opportunities to learn, develop, build confidence, progress & shine !
    Helps one to integrate with clever concepts, brilliant intelligent minds and tech. Work environment and culture is second to none.

    Cons

    Honestly can't see any as of now...

    Advice to Management

    Keep pushing boundaries !

    Onfido Response

    17 Jan 2019 – Cofounder & COO

    Thanks for the great review! We're proud of our culture :)


  6. Helpful (1)

    "A young but mature company with great potential!!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Onfido full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Impressive level of energy within the organisation, great culture and all other main ingredients that made a great company!!

    Cons

    Like all fast growing company, it must prepare itself for the next phase.

    Advice to Management

    Stay focus on its course, strategically and culturally!!

    Onfido Response

    17 Jan 2019 – Cofounder & COO

    Thanks for your positive review. It's tough to keep energy levels high when you move so fast... so I'm glad we've impressed you :)


  7. Helpful (1)

    "Good team building a great business"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - London in London, England
    Current Employee - London in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Onfido full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    - Feel very autonomous in my role
    - Culture is really important, people are really protective of it
    - Company is growing and team is working hard to maintain culture
    - People want to hear your ideas
    - The leadership team and available and accessible
    - Teams work collaboratively

    Cons

    - The rapid scale makes forming teams tricky
    - Things can move a little too fast at times

    Advice to Management

    Keep things human. Support teams to form.

    Onfido Response

    17 Jan 2019 – Cofounder & COO

    Autonomy, culture and a flat hierarchy are definitely a huge deal at Onfido. Thank you for your review; I'm so glad to hear you're enjoying your time with us.

  8. Helpful (1)

    "An excellent model of how to run a company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Limerick:

    A good place to work with smart people
    The opportunities are really quite regal
    The product is great
    Joining the company is your fate
    Even if you enjoy reading Der Spiegel

    Cons

    Some issues with technical debt which need to be resolved but people are aware of this and working on it. If you are very accustomed to autocratic working environments it might be a bit of a shock - lots of opportunity for people to take control of their own work and progress (obviously this comes with some responsibility).

    Advice to Management

    I personally feel OnThursdays (which is a cool “assembly” in which the cofounders answer questions, or there are guests from other companies) should be fortnightly.

    Salary could do with a little bump (or even better, more share options), else it is very likely good people will be poached and hard to keep continuity.

    Otherwise, keep up the good work and keep pushing in the right direction.

    Onfido Response

    17 Jan 2019 – Cofounder & COO

    What a review! A poet in our midst.

    Thanks for the feedback about tech debt, OnThursdays and comp. All useful stuff for us to hear.


  9. Helpful (1)

    "Come and work with - and for - the best"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Onfido full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    - Fantastic culture: Values led with wonderful, friendly employees
    - Trustworthy co-founders who care about people and making Onfido a great place to work
    - Great opportunities for career development and advancement

    Cons

    - Only those growing pains that any fast-scaling company faces (e.g. finding the right balance between process and agility)

    (All major problems have historically been worked on and resolved through company feedback mechanisms and quick decision-making at executive team level)

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you're doing with a focus on maintaining the fantastic work culture Onfido grows :)

    Onfido Response

    17 Jan 2019 – Cofounder & COO

    We definitely care about making this a great place to work. Thanks for the feedback about process vs ability.


  10. "Innovative company solving a really big problem"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Onfido full-time

    Pros

    Onfido is focused on solving a really big problem for customers (that's only getting bigger--as the world moves online, how do your customers prove their identity), which makes the work extremely gratifying. We're at the forefront of the industry and are rapidly becoming known as the most innovative and nimble, and customers want to work with us for our thought leadership, technology and service.

    Team members are smart, focused and always willing to go the extra mile to help each other. Not to mention they're also a great group of people.

    Lots of expansion. As our growth accelerates, there are opportunities to move within the company or geographically and to keep on learning and growing which is well beyond that traditionally of a company this size.

    You learn something every day. Whether it's in the ML space, or just in other outside interests (lots of clubs or Slack channels) you can never be bored. If you are, that's your own fault.

    Ranges of company get togethers, with the whole company all flying into HQ twice a year.

    Huge focus on ensuring

    Cons

    Nothing outside the norm for a very very fast growing company no longer really a startup.

    Advice to Management

    As we grow, it's easy to let culture slide--please make sure that what makes Onfido great stays that way.

    Onfido Response

    27 Jan 2019 – Cofounder & COO

    Thanks for the positive review. We'll make sure the culture doesn't slide :)