Onfido Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Onfido Reviews

Updated 14 Sep 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 109 reviews

4.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
84%
Recommend to a Friend
85%
Approve of CEO
Onfido CEO  Husayn Kassai
Husayn Kassai
97 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Vague career progression path in most engineering roles(in 6 reviews)

  • "fast growing so if you don't like that you may be better suited to a larger company which is more steady(in 5 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Great company! Good people! Exciting product!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Client Service Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Onfido full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I joined Onfido pre-series A with less than 20 of us on the floor, and left with the company hosting more than 300 employees in several parts of the world - seeing all of that and the opportunities that came with it along the way was nothing short of amazing. I was given a runway to build a team, the opportunity to take on challenging projects and several opportunities to help shape my career - I owe a great deal to... Onfido! For me, the pros are that Onfido has a very exciting product solving a big problem, a network of amazing clients, a super inspiring workforce to learn from and grow with, and a huge number of great benefits that I was certainly able to enjoy - especially flexible working allowing for a great work-life balance.

    Show More

    Cons

    As with any start-up, you don't always have all the resources you require so you need to be creative and versatile - this makes Onfido a place to get your hands dirty and build! As the company has grown and the different organisations in the business take shape, sometimes procedures and the need for sign-off come at the expense of efficiency - a difficult balance to strike! Onfido has a truly amazing culture... and this is sometimes taken for granted, however, newer leaders don't always mirror the same energy that built Onfido to what it is now - typical growing pain but I know we'll get it right in due course.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Further promote accountability and visibility across the whole company, especially at senior leadership level - regular updates from our leaders and transparent measurements of performance for all to see in consistent formats. Continue to invest in the product, in people, and tools for the team to use allowing them to work smarter. Room for individual contributors to share their thoughts on potential changes... in processes, policies and direction isn't strong in every part of the company - people certainly feel more onboard when they're heard and kept in the loop. All in all, keep going!

    Show More
    Onfido2019-07-31

    Onfido Response

    August 1, 2019Cofounder & COO

    Hey, thanks for this detailed review. Glad you could join us for the journey from 20 -> 300, and hope you grew as much as we did during it. Noted on new leaders. We're working hard to ensure our recruitment process is as thorough as it always has been and we never slip into just ...

    Show More
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Great vision and product"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Onfido full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    It has been a really great experience so far. The onboarding was intense but very valuable. You get to meet fellow Newfidos and instantly have some friends in every department. Onfido really makes sure you get to know the entire business including a Q&A session with the founders. Made me feel very comfortable from Day 1. The culture is great and the leadership team do a good job to make sure it is maintained.... Not easy for such a fast growing company. Benefits include flexible working, mental health coaching, fully stocked kitchen with fresh food pretty much every day. Lot's of opportunities to learn and develop, such Onfido university. Everyone is super friendly and approachable, including C and VP level. Last but not least, the product is second to none and our clients love it. Made the right choice.

    Show More

    Cons

    Onfido is a fast growing start-up. You have to take your own initiative sometimes to get answers and help, however everyone is happy to take time for you. You will have to put some hard work in for time to time, but you will see the results.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you are doing, particularly in terms of culture, training and support while we grow.

    Onfido2019-07-30

    Onfido Response

    August 2, 2019Cofounder & COO

    Thanks for the review!

  3. Helpful (1)

    "Love it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Designer in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Onfido full-time

    Pros

    Welcoming people, feeling of belonging Lots of training and growth opportunities Strong focus on career advancement Amazing benefits Feel supported You are trusted to do your job, no micromanaging Flexible hours Interesting product and discussions around the ethics of what Onfido does Flat structure Socialising is actively encouraged Feel respected as an individual You can have bad days and it is ok... Wellbeing is in focus: mental health sessions, subsidised gym membership, tons of healthy food provided, people check in on you to make sure you're not struggling with the workload Amazing talent in the organisation and pleasant personalities - you can learn lots

    Show More

    Cons

    New business that grows rapidly - can lack in structure at times, but people are working on it.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work. Your vision is admirable and we really appreciate all your efforts to keep the culture strong while scaling up.

    Onfido2019-07-25

    Onfido Response

    August 1, 2019Cofounder & COO

    Thanks for the review! I loved "you can have bad days and it is ok"—it's a nice way to frame the supportive culture we've tried hard to build here :)

  4. Helpful (1)

    "Fast growth and lots of opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Onfido full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Customers love the product. Opportunities for progression. Supportive and collegiate environment Transparent decision making at the top-level Good company benefits Good bonuses if you hit targets

    Cons

    Need to have better communication between sales and account management teams as sometimes they create a whole lot of work/promises we can't deliver on. Existing structures are under pressure from the very strong growth company is going under

    Advice to Management

    Overall, just keep doing what you're doing but make sure that your internal processes are able to handle the increased volume of work

    Onfido2019-06-14

    Onfido Response

    June 16, 2019Cofounder & COO

    Thanks for the great review!

  5. Helpful (3)

    "A very special startup"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Onfido full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Onfido is a very special startup: - we are trying to solve a foundational problem in the online world - we are doing it with a great approach and tons of enthusiasm - we are an incredibly diverse and talented team.

    Cons

    Being the problem to solve very challenging and the team, on average, young, Onfido's journey is not always smooth. But which true adventure is always smooth?

    Onfido2019-06-01

    Onfido Response

    June 5, 2019Cofounder & COO

    Thanks for the kind feedback! It's definitely a rollercoaster journey :)

  6. Helpful (4)

    "Company that cares"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Researcher in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Onfido full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Onfido really cares about employee experience and talent retention. To achieve that they offer very flexible working hours / working from home policy, learning and development opportunities. Your path to progress within the company is also very clear. Most importantly, the people are work with are great. I've not worked in any other company where I didn't encounter any communication issues / personality clashes... etc. Your managers and colleagues are there to help and look out for you, always open to discussion. Great vibes, there are basically no blocks stopping you from doing your best work.

    Show More

    Cons

    As the company's growing rapidly, the office is getting crowded. There's plenty of company events that sometimes take up a chunk of your time. I believe those problems will be eventually resolved.

    Advice to Management

    Keep it up!

    Onfido2019-05-28

    Onfido Response

    May 30, 2019Cofounder & COO

    Thank you for the positive feedback! Feels great knowing that we're giving you an enjoyable career experience. We'll keep expanding the office space as we grow too :)

  7. Helpful (1)

    "Energetic, exciting - it was a brilliant career decision for me"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Onfido full-time

    Pros

    Every day is exciting, and you get to bounce off some of the smartest people I've ever worked with. I've learned more here than in any previous role. There's huge amounts of goodwill and energy to make this a good place to work.

    Cons

    It's fast, and you definitely get days where you feel tired. We all know what the end goals are, but you need to figure out the way to get your area there, and make it happen - this is inspiring some days, and feels like a mountain to climb other days, so you have to be sure you're the kind of person that would thrive like this.

    Onfido2019-06-05

    Onfido Response

    June 13, 2019Cofounder & COO

    I'm so glad to hear that. We're working hard to do exactly what you say--ensuring you learn more here than in any other role. And yes--life at Onfido is not for the faint-hearted!

  8. Helpful (2)

    "Excellent company culture with an emphasis on work-life balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Account Executive in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Onfido full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    When you join the company, everyone tries everything they can to support you. There is a positive vibe and sense that this company is going place, with a lot of support to help you learn and do the best you can.

    Cons

    The US team grew too fast last year with some clearly bad hiring choices. Concerns were raised about the low performers early on but only recently has been corrected. It's taken longer than it should have to correct. Similar issue in the Singapore office.

    Advice to Management

    Hold to the same standards when hiring in global offices.

    Onfido2019-06-02

    Onfido Response

    June 5, 2019Cofounder & COO

    Thanks for the review! Appreciate your feedback about us taking longer than we should have taken to correct for bad hiring choices. It's sometimes hard to have these conversations and we do our very best to give people a chance to improve. But you're right that in this case we gave ...

    Show More
  9. Helpful (4)

    "Privilege to work with smart people in such a fast-growing company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Operations Analyst in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Onfido full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - The talent - Meritocracy - Ambitious goals - Flexible working - Supportive culture

    Cons

    Company is evolving at speed, be prepared to evolve with it.

    Advice to Management

    Stay close to employees

    Onfido2019-05-25

    Onfido Response

    May 25, 2019Cofounder & COO

    Thanks for the positive review!

  10. Helpful (4)

    "Meritocracy"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Onfido full-time

    Pros

    I don't normally write reviews but saw the spate of negative reviews from recently fired salespeople in the San Francisco office and although I don't like speaking about individuals I felt I had to speak up I've worked in a few sales orgs and Onfido is pretty routine . The top performers make a lot of money and the bottom performers are asked to leave I think Onfido's mistake was hiring too many junior salesfolk... who might have been shocked at the way sales works in a company with high growth targets Most of us more senior folk are used to it

    Show More

    Cons

    Nothing out of the ordinary at a sales org. There's a grind but if you work hard you make a lot of money. If you're lazy you don't. For US team, communicating can be hard with HQ in England but the management are working on this. San Francisco feels the pain more than NYC due to time difference.

    Advice to Management

    Good work on clearing out the bad eggs but you need to get the hiring right the second time around.

    Onfido2019-05-22

    Onfido Response

    May 25, 2019Cofounder & COO

    Hey, I really appreciate you taking the time to offer a candid and sobering review like this. It was a shame we had to let go of a few people in the US team, but we have a good strategy to move forward and we're confident we're in a stronger place now.

Found 109 reviews