Onfido Reviews

Updated Jul 20, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 141 of over 149 reviews

4.0
82%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Onfido CEO Mike Tuchen (no image)
Mike Tuchen
7 Ratings
Pros
  • "Work/life balance, Sanctus mental health coaching, great colleagues, great opportunities to learn, good office(in 12 reviews)

  • "Benefits include flexible working, mental health coaching, fully stocked kitchen with fresh food pretty much every day(in 9 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Onfido is a fast growing start-up(in 7 reviews)

  • "Vague career progression path in most engineering roles(in 6 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Hidden Gem of a Tech firm

      Mar 4, 2021 - Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Lovely place, lovely people, growing quickly

      Cons

      Currently remote working, could pay more

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Cool scale-up quickly going corporate

      Jun 11, 2021 - Anonymous Employee in London, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great team; interesting product; good staff benefits and perks

      Cons

      Getting very corporate very fast; not very diverse

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      I am happy here.

      Apr 19, 2021 - Designer in London, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Forward-thinking - Inspiring - Fast-growing, it never gets boring - Agile - Lots of opportunity to learn and grow - Trusted to do your best and innovate - Efforts are recognized - Great benefits and support - Culture initiatives promote open dialogue between employees (mental health, inclusivity, etc)

      Cons

      - The amount of change can feel a bit stressful and chaotic at times, especially when it's about leadership changes.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    4. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Great place to work

      May 24, 2021 - Business Operations 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Collaborative, fast paced, and supportive environment with lots of autonomy and the opportunity to build your own processes and ways of working. Office is a great and dynamic place when open...

      Cons

      Lots of change and lots of work.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      An amazing team to be part of

      Jun 17, 2020 - Vice President of Operations in London, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      It's really nice to feel part of something rather than just going to work. The atmosphere and diversity mean there's never a dull moment and you constantly learn from the great people around you. All 3 founders are still active in the business are stronger drivers of this culture. The executive team are all inspiring leaders in their fields. I personally work most closely with COO, CFO and CRO who have all been very supportive of my career growth. They all truly care about the teams the lead and will make time for you whenever you need it. It is also nice to work in the forefront of machine learning. When I joined Onfido I treated it like an investment in my career. I wanted to work in an industry thats growing fast and I want to back the winning horse. Online Identity is booming and thanks to our approach using machine learning we are doing just that. Everyone who joins gets equity in the company and it's great to feel like you genuinely own (a small) part of the company. Onfido nearly doubles in size every year, and it's been amazing to welcome so many more very talented to my team. in the short time. Having been here slighty over a year, I can honestly say it's the best decision I've ever made.

      Cons

      As we are growing at such pace, there will always be challenges that need resolving quickly. We are a company of doers, so you need to be happy to role up your sleeves. I personally like this, but it's clearly different than working for an established company.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    6. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Fantastic place to grow your career

      Feb 1, 2021 - Account Executive 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Business is growing fast with strong products - Lack of arrogance on where we need to improve - Company culture is good where employees felt truly looked after - Strong management team and great hiring process means business brings on good candidates

      Cons

      - Harder to understand how the teams all fit together but this is more due to remote working than the company specifically

      1 person found this review helpful
    7. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Great Company with a fantastic culture

      Jan 14, 2021 - Operations in London, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Onfido has one of the best cultures I have experienced. Everyone wants you to be the best you can and the work is challenging, yet rewarding

      Cons

      Some internal processes need to be changed in order to keep up with the fast growing nature of the company, but I'm sure this will happen in due time.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Highly political. Be ready for a bumpy ride.

      Jan 28, 2021 - Engineering in London, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      New CEO onboard might get better alignment in exec team. Good camaraderie.

      Cons

      Infighting at senior level is very obvious and damaging. People getting burned out. Exec team doesn't live by the culture principles.

      Continue reading
      11 people found this review helpful
    9. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Painful - one star too many

      Jul 11, 2020 - Business Development Manager in London, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Thriving industry with demand. Company has only done well by virtue of being in this space.

      Cons

      My time at the company was underpinned by dirty politics and a highly corrupt top tier. Dogmatic management. C suite in particular 'company face' is highly controlling over every minutiae. Lacks respect for opposing view but presents as philanthropic making it hard for outsiders to understand reality. Non personable and highly detached character style in leadership seen as norm. Mechanical and non human approach. Lack of delegation due to control aspect. Non transparent pay, some in sales paid 4x others without any discernible difference or reason. Target driven approach means this company and in particular those at top have lost complete touch with their people. Main founder knows nobody's name and treats everyone like a number to drive sales. Company feels like a chicken slaughterhouse or factory with zero culture. Onfido and in particular those leading it are a recipe for disaster. Stay clear. All they care about is money and targets not humans, despite claiming otherwise.

      Continue reading
      12 people found this review helpful
    10. 4.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Fast paced, exciting, and supportive Company

      Nov 11, 2020 - Anonymous Employee in London, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great people, really interesting machine learning tech, going through an exciting growth phase

      Cons

      Growth phase means it is fast paced and you need to be able to adapt quickly and work in some level of ambiguity at times, so if this is not your way of working you may not enjoy it.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 141 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Onfido Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Onfido? Share Your Experiences

    Onfido logo
    or