Onfido Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Onfido Reviews

Updated 3 Feb 2020

To filter reviews, or .

4.1
83%
Recommend to a Friend
80%
Approve of CEO
Onfido CEO, CoFounder   Husayn Kassai
Husayn Kassai
100 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Vague career progression path in most engineering roles(in 6 reviews)

  • "fast growing so if you don't like that you may be better suited to a larger company which is more steady(in 6 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great place to work with unique opportunities to have enormous impact"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineering Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Onfido full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Mature start up environment with an electric atmosphere of opportunity.

    Cons

    Fast paced growth requiring very quick process adaptation

    Onfido2020-01-03

    Onfido Response

    January 27, 2020Cofounder & COO

    Thanks for the fantastic review!

    Continue reading
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Avoid at all cost!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Onfido full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    New colleagues who keep joining and exiting

    Cons

    I will try to list a few and hope this is useful for others who are considering Onfido 1. Ignore the positive reviews and score in Glassdoor. These are all internally written and managed by a certain individual in the csuite to create a false impression externally (investors/potential employees) 2. Attrition’s is really high in both sales and ops team 3. Pay is ridiculous and commission is 0. There is no strategy currently on revenue side as multiple leaders came and exited as enough freedom/time was not given to them to perform. 4. Majority of sales are again inexperienced folks who have survived along the way growing up into a sales role in Onfido and having connections to the founders. They lack any knowledge in sales front and highly unlikely anyone in the industry is going to provide them an opportunity. 5. The sales quota assigned this year are impossible to achieve and this has become a open discussion point among all sales peers internally 6. The morale In the sales team is rather low and everyone is looking for an opportunity elsewhere 7. Globally it’s a sad state of affairs on the sales side. USA is going through constant change (unable to get along with UK) and other offices in Asia are more focussed on just getting daily amenities in place. It’s an open joke that individuals outside of HQ are treated as 2nd class citizens with no access to basic amenities. 8. Forget making any commissions here. It is 0 and there is high probability you would be fired in the first 3 months. 9. 0 work life balance in sales. The pressure will kill you. Period. 10. Look at LinkedIn and you will realise that almost 60+ sales folks were fired mercilessly in 2019. Internally this was quoted as misalignment and not a single csuite member took ownership on this.

    Continue reading
    Onfido2020-01-25

    Onfido Response

    January 30, 2020Cofounder & COO

    Hi there, I'm sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your time at Onfido. Many of the numbers in your review are off (for example, we didn't have 60 salespeople in total in 2019 and 100% of salespeople—not 30%—made commission last year). Regardless, it sounds like you generally had a tough time working with us which drove you to write this review. As with any company more than doubling every year, there are natural growing pains. We're lucky enough to have above market rate retention and engagement scores, and naturally although we can't please everyone, we certainly try. I truly hope you find a company where you love coming to work every day. Eamon

    Continue reading
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Great company! Good people! Exciting product!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Client Service Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Onfido full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I joined Onfido pre-series A with less than 20 of us on the floor, and left with the company hosting more than 300 employees in several parts of the world - seeing all of that and the opportunities that came with it along the way was nothing short of amazing. I was given a runway to build a team, the opportunity to take on challenging projects and several opportunities to help shape my career - I owe a great deal to Onfido! For me, the pros are that Onfido has a very exciting product solving a big problem, a network of amazing clients, a super inspiring workforce to learn from and grow with, and a huge number of great benefits that I was certainly able to enjoy - especially flexible working allowing for a great work-life balance.

    Cons

    As with any start-up, you don't always have all the resources you require so you need to be creative and versatile - this makes Onfido a place to get your hands dirty and build! As the company has grown and the different organisations in the business take shape, sometimes procedures and the need for sign-off come at the expense of efficiency - a difficult balance to strike! Onfido has a truly amazing culture and this is sometimes taken for granted, however, newer leaders don't always mirror the same energy that built Onfido to what it is now - typical growing pain but I know we'll get it right in due course.

    Continue reading
    Onfido2019-07-31

    Onfido Response

    August 1, 2019Cofounder & COO

    Hey, thanks for this detailed review. Glad you could join us for the journey from 20 -> 300, and hope you grew as much as we did during it. Noted on new leaders. We're working hard to ensure our recruitment process is as thorough as it always has been and we never slip into just filling roles for the sake of it. And thank you for the feedback on senior team comms. As you say, we need to do even more to gather input from the team before making a decision, and then communicating decisions out effectively. Hope you're enjoying your new role wherever you are!

    Continue reading
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Great vision and product"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Onfido full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    It has been a really great experience so far. The onboarding was intense but very valuable. You get to meet fellow Newfidos and instantly have some friends in every department. Onfido really makes sure you get to know the entire business including a Q&A session with the founders. Made me feel very comfortable from Day 1. The culture is great and the leadership team do a good job to make sure it is maintained. Not easy for such a fast growing company. Benefits include flexible working, mental health coaching, fully stocked kitchen with fresh food pretty much every day. Lot's of opportunities to learn and develop, such Onfido university. Everyone is super friendly and approachable, including C and VP level. Last but not least, the product is second to none and our clients love it. Made the right choice.

    Cons

    Onfido is a fast growing start-up. You have to take your own initiative sometimes to get answers and help, however everyone is happy to take time for you. You will have to put some hard work in for time to time, but you will see the results.

    Continue reading
    Onfido2019-07-30

    Onfido Response

    August 2, 2019Cofounder & COO

    Thanks for the review!

    Continue reading
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Love it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Designer in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Onfido full-time

    Pros

    Welcoming people, feeling of belonging Lots of training and growth opportunities Strong focus on career advancement Amazing benefits Feel supported You are trusted to do your job, no micromanaging Flexible hours Interesting product and discussions around the ethics of what Onfido does Flat structure Socialising is actively encouraged Feel respected as an individual You can have bad days and it is ok Wellbeing is in focus: mental health sessions, subsidised gym membership, tons of healthy food provided, people check in on you to make sure you're not struggling with the workload Amazing talent in the organisation and pleasant personalities - you can learn lots

    Cons

    New business that grows rapidly - can lack in structure at times, but people are working on it.

    Continue reading
    Onfido2019-07-25

    Onfido Response

    August 1, 2019Cofounder & COO

    Thanks for the review! I loved "you can have bad days and it is ok"—it's a nice way to frame the supportive culture we've tried hard to build here :)

    Continue reading
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Fast growth and lots of opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Onfido full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Customers love the product. Opportunities for progression. Supportive and collegiate environment Transparent decision making at the top-level Good company benefits Good bonuses if you hit targets

    Cons

    Need to have better communication between sales and account management teams as sometimes they create a whole lot of work/promises we can't deliver on. Existing structures are under pressure from the very strong growth company is going under

    Continue reading
    Onfido2019-06-14

    Onfido Response

    June 16, 2019Cofounder & COO

    Thanks for the great review!

    Continue reading
  7. Helpful (6)

    "Meritocracy"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Onfido full-time

    Pros

    I don't normally write reviews but saw the spate of negative reviews from recently fired salespeople in the San Francisco office and although I don't like speaking about individuals I felt I had to speak up I've worked in a few sales orgs and Onfido is pretty routine . The top performers make a lot of money and the bottom performers are asked to leave I think Onfido's mistake was hiring too many junior salesfolk who might have been shocked at the way sales works in a company with high growth targets Most of us more senior folk are used to it

    Cons

    Nothing out of the ordinary at a sales org. There's a grind but if you work hard you make a lot of money. If you're lazy you don't. For US team, communicating can be hard with HQ in England but the management are working on this. San Francisco feels the pain more than NYC due to time difference.

    Continue reading
    Onfido2019-05-22

    Onfido Response

    May 25, 2019Cofounder & COO

    Hey, I really appreciate you taking the time to offer a candid and sobering review like this. It was a shame we had to let go of a few people in the US team, but we have a good strategy to move forward and we're confident we're in a stronger place now.

    Continue reading
  8. Helpful (3)

    "A very special startup"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Onfido full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Onfido is a very special startup: - we are trying to solve a foundational problem in the online world - we are doing it with a great approach and tons of enthusiasm - we are an incredibly diverse and talented team.

    Cons

    Being the problem to solve very challenging and the team, on average, young, Onfido's journey is not always smooth. But which true adventure is always smooth?

    Onfido2019-06-01

    Onfido Response

    June 5, 2019Cofounder & COO

    Thanks for the kind feedback! It's definitely a rollercoaster journey :)

    Continue reading
  9. Helpful (4)

    "Company that cares"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Researcher in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Onfido full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Onfido really cares about employee experience and talent retention. To achieve that they offer very flexible working hours / working from home policy, learning and development opportunities. Your path to progress within the company is also very clear. Most importantly, the people are work with are great. I've not worked in any other company where I didn't encounter any communication issues / personality clashes etc. Your managers and colleagues are there to help and look out for you, always open to discussion. Great vibes, there are basically no blocks stopping you from doing your best work.

    Cons

    As the company's growing rapidly, the office is getting crowded. There's plenty of company events that sometimes take up a chunk of your time. I believe those problems will be eventually resolved.

    Continue reading
    Onfido2019-05-28

    Onfido Response

    May 30, 2019Cofounder & COO

    Thank you for the positive feedback! Feels great knowing that we're giving you an enjoyable career experience. We'll keep expanding the office space as we grow too :)

    Continue reading
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Excellent company culture with an emphasis on work-life balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Account Executive in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Onfido full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    When you join the company, everyone tries everything they can to support you. There is a positive vibe and sense that this company is going place, with a lot of support to help you learn and do the best you can.

    Cons

    The US team grew too fast last year with some clearly bad hiring choices. Concerns were raised about the low performers early on but only recently has been corrected. It's taken longer than it should have to correct. Similar issue in the Singapore office.

    Continue reading
    Onfido2019-06-02

    Onfido Response

    June 5, 2019Cofounder & COO

    Thanks for the review! Appreciate your feedback about us taking longer than we should have taken to correct for bad hiring choices. It's sometimes hard to have these conversations and we do our very best to give people a chance to improve. But you're right that in this case we gave them too long. With a strong new sales leadership and a new performance management process in place, we don't think this will be an issue moving forward.

    Continue reading

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 112 reviews