PageGroup Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

PageGroup Reviews

Updated 9 Feb 2020

To filter reviews, or .

4.0
85%
Recommend to a Friend
93%
Approve of CEO
PageGroup CEO Steve Ingham
Steve Ingham
127 Ratings
Pros
  • "Michael Page has been a great company to work for since I joined over two years ago(in 120 reviews)

  • "Collaborative and inclusive work environment(in 76 reviews)

Cons
  • "Long hours - 8:30am - 6pm plus working past this to hit targets(in 185 reviews)

  • "Hard to manage Work life balance(in 116 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "I really enjoy it.."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Recruitment Consultant in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at PageGroup full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Good work/life balance - Mature working - 'Dress for the day you want' - Newly implemented - Higher than average basic salaries - Amazing training - Realistic opportunity - never over sold

    Cons

    - Not a great comms structure - Gets a little hazy at management level - where do I direct my concerns?

    PageGroup2019-10-30

    PageGroup Response

    November 11, 2019Beverley Nicholas, Regional Talent Director

    Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback. It’s fantastic to hear that you are experiencing some of the great things that we strive to achieve at PageGroup. Like many large organisations, there are many ways we can communicate and connect. Yammer (Page Connect) is the most effective way you can collaborate with your fellow team members locally and across the globe. If you haven’t done already, I would encourage to join some of the many Yammer groups so you can stay up-to-date on what is happening in the organisation. Again, like many large organisations, it can be difficult to know where to direct your concerns. If you need to raise a concern, I would encourage to talk to your line in the first instance they should be able to assist you.

    Continue reading
  2. "It’s fun if you’re positive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at PageGroup full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Flexibility, pay, colleagues , infrastructure and progression

    Cons

    Pressure, macro pressures of a listed business

    Continue reading
    PageGroup2020-01-30
  3. "Fantastic business, but lost some of its Mojo!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Recruiter in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at PageGroup full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great foundations and some great leaders still in the business. The best training in the industry.

    Cons

    Lost its focus for its people, management too stretched to support fully and bonus are as described - poor.

    Continue reading
    PageGroup2020-01-15
  4. "A short but helpful step towards the right career.."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Associate Consultant in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at PageGroup full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The company is fantastic when you start, the training is second to none and really helps you start from the ground up with no experience in recruitment whatsoever. It's a good step in the right direction for recruitment however the big corporate company won't be for everyone. Great people for the most part, genuine and supportive however many are overshadowed by the toxic. (continued in cons) Social activities are fantastic. A huge, historical database of Clients and Candidates to help build your desk.

    Cons

    Encouragement from Line Management AND above to lie about Candidates, jobs etc. to gain leads, jobs on - I understand this is a sales role and there's a lot of competition but a 'do what you have to do' culture is definitely very evident here. Step over anyone and everyone you have to to get to the top. This could be appealing to some but I would avoid if you're not just in it for the money and would like a rewarding job that's not just financial. Money is everything for the company, but you'll take home peanuts. Niche desks with unrealistic targets. Also unclear targets however at interview the 'open and honest targets' were discussed. Long hours - 8:30am - 6pm plus working past this to hit targets. No work/life balance whatsoever, not even 30 mins if you make it up elsewhere. No flexibility and no understanding of the importance of this. A toxic culture under the surface - majority of people out for themselves and themselves only. Snaking behavior from other offices and departments. Benefits package isn't clear and hardly promoted? Performance often measured by quantity rather than quality.

    Continue reading
    PageGroup2020-01-16
  5. "Consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Consultant in London, England

    I worked at PageGroup full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good progression in the company

    Cons

    Unclear bonus structure all the time

    Continue reading
    PageGroup2020-01-09

    PageGroup Response

    January 22, 2020Beverley Nicholas, Regional Talent Director

    Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. It’s great that you benefitted from our progression opportunities at Page during your time with us. At Page Group we strive to support employees through our Career Journey program, which ensures that our best performers are offered the career progression that they deserve. Regarding our bonus structure, we do aim to show transparency where possible. This topic has been highlighted in our recent Have Your Say survey, so there is potential for the process to be visited.

    Continue reading
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Consultant in Bristol, England
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at PageGroup full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Excellent culture and client exposure

    Cons

    Lack of flexibility depending on manager

    PageGroup2019-12-02

    PageGroup Response

    December 17, 2019Beverley Nicholas, Regional Talent Director

    Thank you for your feedback. It is great to hear that you enjoy the culture we have at PageGroup, we are also very proud of the culture and values we have here. It’s fantastic that you are getting some great exposure to our customers. You have mentioned flexibility is a con. Although the amount of flexibly can vary depending, your role, length of series, and your performance expectations. PageGroup firmly believes in a high performance, high trust environment which focuses on output as opposed to the hours that people work.

    Continue reading
  7. "Competitive but worth it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Consultant in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at PageGroup full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good bonus structure Good career progression

    Cons

    The toilets could be nicer

    PageGroup2019-11-20

    PageGroup Response

    November 29, 2019Beverley Nicholas, Regional Talent Director

    Thank you for your excellent feedback, we appreciate your comments on bonus structure and career progression, both are very important factors that we know really drive our employee engagement and essentially influences employee commitment to Page. Positive engagement and career progression opportunities at Page has allowed us to continue to work alongside some fantastic individuals and to be able to watch their careers grow and reach great heights. We recognise some of our facilities might be in need of a bit of an update, over the last year we have transformed both of the reception areas in our London Aldwych office and are continuing to look at developing and improving the look of a number of our other offices and facilities across the UK – including our recent upgrade of our Victoria House Office.

    Continue reading
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Terrible organisation , avoid working here at all costs"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Finance Analyst in Slough, Berkshire, South East England, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at PageGroup full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    None , can not actually think of any

    Cons

    Everything Poor management Finger pointing culture Terrible work life balance Inconsistent messages from management Old systems No laptops desktops only Annual leave will below industry average

    Continue reading
    PageGroup2019-12-15

    PageGroup Response

    December 30, 2019Beverley Nicholas, Regional Talent Director

    Thank you for taking the time to feedback. We are sorry to hear that your experiences so far have not been especially positive. There are challenges and pressures with working in any sales environment and I appreciate this doesn't suit everyone. PageGroup does have the best training in the industry with our structured and extensive development programmes, often cited as best-in-class for the recruitment industry. Our strong track record of internal career moves and promotion from within means that people who join us know that they could be our future senior managers and main Board Directors. Also, we value and reward teamwork which means you benefit from high levels of support from all your colleagues. We also offer a flexible benefits package ensuring we can accommodate working patterns that mean people can sustain the balance in their life that suits them. Whilst we will provide you with all the resources, training and support, you will need the right mindset and determination to excel in recruitment.

    Continue reading
  9. "Only Suited for a Specific Type of Person"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Newcastle, England
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at PageGroup full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The office parties Champagne awarded after first money made for company

    Cons

    Grey areas around lying to people especially those who are out of work Managers are selected on ability to earn money for company and not to support other employees Target based roled

    Continue reading
    PageGroup2019-10-28

    PageGroup Response

    November 6, 2019Beverley Nicholas, Regional Talent Director

    Thank you for your feedback, PageGroup enforces a strict code of conduct, ensuring that all our consultants are thoroughly trained and comply with these obligations, including senior management. Our code of conduct is primarily there to ensure adherence with the following areas; compliance with all applicable laws and regulations (including all laws prohibiting discrimination), the reporting of misconduct, malpractice, illegal or unethical behaviour; working with candidates, clients and business partners fairly and honestly; promotion of diversity and equality, and treating people fairly and with respect. I am sorry to hear that this was not your experience whilst at Page. We constantly strive to improve our training program and tailor it to developing management and leadership capabilities. PageGroup offers some of the best training in the industry with our structured and extensive development programmes, often cited as best-in-class for the recruitment industry.

    Continue reading
  10. "Would most likely work there again"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - IT Infrastructure in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at PageGroup full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    - Fun atmosphere - Social - Willing to train personnel, real training budget. - Work hard, play very hard - A High percentage of back office staff can't bring themselves to leave or eventually come back for a 2nd tour - Being such a large organisation, preferring organic growth, there are many personnel development opportunities in the form of sideways and lateral career progression - Good Managers (mostly).

    Cons

    - Some of the larger back office business functions end up "silo-ing" their team members. - Some managers would benefit from management training as leadership doesn't always come naturally.

    Continue reading
    PageGroup2019-10-05

    PageGroup Response

    October 11, 2019Beverley Nicholas, Regional Talent Director

    Thank you for your review, I’m delighted that you would work for us again. We make sure that we enjoy a collaborative atmosphere and work as a team. We have five values that have always contributed to our success; take pride, be passionate, never give up, work as a team and make it fun. We have always been proud of the training and development available to our employees at PageGroup. Thank you for your recommendations, we continue to improve as a business based on employee feedback for example, our employee engagement surveys and other channels such as Glassdoor.

    Continue reading

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 235 reviews