PerkinElmer Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

PerkinElmer Reviews

Updated 18 Nov 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.1
50%
Recommend to a Friend
64%
Approve of CEO
PerkinElmer CEO Rob Friel
Rob Friel
218 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Brilliant Company to Work For"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at PerkinElmer full-time

    Pros

    PerkinElmer really look after you and care about the progression of their employees

    Cons

    Quite a few regular reorganisations

    PerkinElmer2019-03-28
  2. "Good opportunity as a stepping stone"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Manager in Seer Green, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at PerkinElmer full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    good Market presence and recognised with the industry Friendly environment

    Cons

    Expectations of you can be too high sometimes Not very good training given

    PerkinElmer2019-09-13
  3. "(Was) an Innovative & progressive great place to work....( Now) avoid at all costs"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Procurement Role 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at PerkinElmer full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    A long history of fantastic and innovative products and services to the science and technology markets. Very hardworking, talented and diligent employees (not leaders)

    Cons

    Last 3 years company has deteriorated, having been taken over by Sr leadership whom short sighted strategies employed are for personal share option gain. Operations leadership has been taken over shamelessly by a GE person and pushed down through the organisation a culture of bullying and fear, employing Sr leaders from GE that provide no long term vision or strategy that have destroyed procurement for example and removed talented and knowledgeable personnel who only have the best interests of the company at heart. To any prospective personnel thinking of joining PKI avoid at all costs (especially in corporate procurement)

    PerkinElmer2019-09-16
  4. "Good work benefits, vague corporate message"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Engineer in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at PerkinElmer full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    PKI offered a decent benefits package and provided good support to its employees. We were provided with a workable level of financial support for R&D projects.

    Cons

    The overall corporate strategy was vague and not relatable to employees.

    Continue reading
    PerkinElmer2018-06-27

    PerkinElmer Response

    July 12, 2018HR Manager UK&IRE

    Thank you for sharing your views. PerkinElmer is continuously seeking to improve in all areas in its aim to be a top employer of choice and we are constantly looking at ways in which we can communicate better with our employees. We continue to provide employees with corporate strategy updates each quarter during our all-employee meetings and to share global videos and blogs housed on our internal intranet pages. Skip level meetings conducted by local and visiting Senior Leaders create ongoing opportunities for Senior Leaders and employees to interact more regularly. These meetings remain critical in offering our employees a deeper understanding of our corporate objectives, and how these resonate at a local level. In hearing the corporate vision, and in working in line with our new HRIM people management system, our employees feel they are more aligned to divisional strategy and upcoming objectives.

    Continue reading
  5. "Software Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at PerkinElmer full-time

    Pros

    Good atmosphere and flexible working time.

    Cons

    slow progress you can make in your career

    PerkinElmer2018-06-01

    PerkinElmer Response

    June 7, 2018Supervisor, Talent Acquisition Operations

    PerkinElmer is investing in Talent Management and Learning & Development projects in 2018 and the years ahead. We encourage you to speak with your manager and HR Partner regarding opportunities for learning and development, and appreciate you sharing your experience with us.

    Continue reading
  6. "Great Team Spirit!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Product Marketing Manager in Seer Green, England
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at PerkinElmer full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Everybody was very passionate about what they do- R&D team. Work hard, play hard. Best Scientific minds in one place. Loved working with everybody. One big family with passion for science. Flexible working conditions but everybody was very accountable for what they have to deliver

    Cons

    Most Senior Management way above mewas leading a rather ambiguous strategy in Analytical Science. First they were selling by the product, then by sector, then back by the product. I had 5 bosses within 3 years. Endless change of strategy and redundancies at the higher level. Bit like observing them going in the loops. H&R Management was an absolute disaster at that time only one was really effective and kind.

    Continue reading
    PerkinElmer2017-10-02

    PerkinElmer Response

    October 19, 2017HR Director, Northern Europe

    Thank you for sharing your views. PerkinElmer regularly reviews its organization to ensure that it matches the environmental challenges and that it serves our customers in the best possible way. We realize that it can create uncertainty and discomfort for our employees, which we do our best to minimize. Our HR function plays a key role in the change management process and we are sorry that you didn’t seem to find the support you were hoping for. If you have specific comments which we are able to address, please make contact.

    Continue reading
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Outstanding company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Seer Green, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at PerkinElmer full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I have been working here for a few months now and I cannot recommend PerkinElmer enough. The support and training I have received are definitely one of the most thorough and expansive experiences I have had in my career, to date. Management are supportive, and responsive. Work moves through everyone quickly, and communication is definitely one thing that is consistent throughout the company. Many of my colleagues are able to work flexibly around their busy schedules, working from home, or from remote locations. Also, there are also many great opportunities to travel to US offices to meet the rest of our teams too.

    Cons

    Must admit, location is in the middle of countryside - but on good commuter routes so fair enough.

    PerkinElmer2017-08-04

    PerkinElmer Response

    August 9, 2017Supervisor, Talent Acquisition Operations

    Welcome to the team at PerkinElmer! Thank you for your feedback. We take work life balance very seriously at PKI and are so glad to hear of the positive onboarding experience you have had working in a flexible environment.

    Continue reading
  8. "Great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at PerkinElmer full-time

    Pros

    The people are great & the company does amazing things for human health

    Cons

    Salaries are lower than other similar employers

    Continue reading
    PerkinElmer2017-07-17

    PerkinElmer Response

    July 26, 2017Supervisor, Talent Acquisition Operations

    Thank you for your feedback and dedication to PKI! We are glad to have you on the team.

    Continue reading
  9. Helpful (3)

    "Good points and bad points"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at PerkinElmer full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Some great products, some are the best on the market. Generally great colleagues.

    Cons

    Testosterone heavy management. Ever decreasing bonus pay when you exceed target. (And targets increase by a third year on year so even reaching target is virtually impossible now.) Male colleagues have larger bonuses. Not much potential for promotion for females. As much as I've tried not to believe it, I'm starting to think that PKI is a sexist company. Re-organisations that make no business sense and then ridiculous, and compulsory, 'team-building' activities with people you don't work with, you just happen to live in the same country as. Those aren't the people I need to team-build with. Save the money and give us our bonus payment structure back and a proper pay rise. I work with great products and that's the main reason I'm still here at the moment.

    Continue reading
    PerkinElmer2017-07-09

    PerkinElmer Response

    August 23, 2017Sr HR Director, EMEA

    Thank you for sharing your views. PerkinElmer prides itself on being an equal opportunity employer and we take the equality matter very seriously. We have a formal process to raise the concerns you may have and we encourage you to use it so that we can assess the situation you believe you are facing. We strive to be an employer of choice across our locations and are continuously seeking to ensure our employees are having a great experience with us.

    Continue reading
  10. "Company with big potential..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at PerkinElmer part-time

    Pros

    Solid global company constantly growing up. Efficient team of services and sales, the company will give you all the support and the means to reach the goal of each quarter year by year

    Cons

    a little bit confusion about the roles in the company, but mostly is due to people that not understand the process

    PerkinElmer2017-04-14

    PerkinElmer Response

    May 10, 2017Sr Life Science Recruiter

    Thank you for your feedback! With some of the new systems we are putting in place, this should help process flow. We encourage you to chat with your manager about any process improvement ideas you may have.

    Continue reading
Found 488 reviews