Pertemps Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Pertemps Reviews

Updated 14 Jan 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.5
65%
Recommend to a Friend
46%
Approve of CEO
Pertemps Lifetime President  Tim Watts (no image)
Tim Watts
52 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good team, work hard, play hard(in 6 reviews)

  • "They go the extra mile to ensure you are looked after and paid on time(in 4 reviews)

Cons
  • "Very long hours sometimes needed in recruitment(in 6 reviews)

  • "Appalling pay rates and lack of interest from head office(in 5 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "A great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Pertemps full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    A business that treats people like grown up’s and provides a framework that allows autonomy and opportunity.

    Cons

    No business is perfect and sometimes change is slower than some might like.

    Advice to Management

    Take time to understand your people since many have skills/experience that is under utilised.

    Pertemps2019-12-30
  2. ""Fast food" jobs"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Warehouse Worker 

    I worked at Pertemps part-time

    Pros

    Warehouse jobs come fast and usually are available

    Cons

    Quality of work is terrible

    Pertemps2020-01-14
  3. "It is okay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Receptionist in London, England

    I worked at Pertemps part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great jobs with good pay

    Cons

    This can be rare as there can be lack of work and and harsh agents

    Advice to Management

    Be nicer to your agents and take into consideration sick days and personal circumstances.

    Pertemps2020-01-03
  4. "Good flexible work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Temp Agent in Warwick, West Midlands, England

    I have been working at Pertemps part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I am a student and can fit work around my schedule

    Cons

    Shifts are not always available

    Pertemps2019-12-02
  5. "Recruitment Consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Recruitment Consultant 

    I have been working at Pertemps full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great Place to work - really care about their employees, extensive training and great managers/people to work with

    Cons

    You have to be extremely resilient to work in recruitment

    Pertemps2019-11-28
  6. "do not use"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Administrative 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Pertemps full-time

    Pros

    i do not have any pros

    Cons

    they are terrible, do not use them... the Holborn branch is a disaster and because of their insufficiency i lost out on a contract, they didn't ask for references in advance, they do not update you regularly, and when you chase them they do not respond, i wasted 2 weeks on them because of their lack of customer service and ability to keep their candidate updated they also clearly haven't applied for my DBS as i chased it and the update service didn't have a record of my name so they didn't apply for it when they were meant to.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    learn to keep updating candidates every step of the way, if you need references ask for them in plenty of time and do not ignore candidates when they are trying to chase things up and find out what is happening...

    Pertemps2019-12-21
  7. "Generally good agency to work for but varies branch to branch"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Recruitment Consultant 
    Recommends
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Pertemps full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Not targeted on calls made, can plan your own workload and not have to work to set processes - as long as you get results, you can find your own way.

    Cons

    Long hours to get results. Lack of salary progression. Few training courses available after induction is completed.

    Pertemps2019-11-12
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Looking for job security and career prospects in a modern workplace, then look elsewhere."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - IT Specialist in Meriden, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Pertemps full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    It's better than being unemployed.

    Cons

    If you value job security and career progression and are looking for a modern, forward thinking company - do not work here. Why I hear you ask? Career progression: Well in 15 years of working for the company, the "old boys" (and girls) club at the top of this company did not change one bit. Nobody moves on. They cling on desperately way past retirement age, leaving no room for anyone to rise through the ranks. Nobody below them moves either, so people don't stick around once they realise there is nowhere to go. Job security: From the moment you join you will always be wondering when it's your team's turn to be made redundant. It happens alot. Often merely on the whim of the chairman. Usually they like to get rid of whole teams just before Christmas but the axe could fall any time, so make sure you take out redundancy cover. When (not if) you get the chop, forget about any help from HR department. They will listen to your grievances, pretend to be interested, then go radio silent hoping you will just go away. They will take a back seat while the financial director takes great pleasure in making your last few weeks absolute hell. Any excuse to take money off you they will do it, they only offer statuatory redundancy cover anyway but will try to wriggle out of paying any overtime, car allowance, or other extra wages in your last few, miserable, weeks of employment. And once you are gone, they'll stitch you up again with the taxman on your p11d for benefits that you supposedly received. Technology: What's that? This company does not invest in technology. Be prepared to be using a PC from 2009 - for the next 10 years. They insist on using out of date Citrix providers and the slowest internet links, and their IT support takes weeks to get anything done. Also, forget about any thoughts of "modern flexible working", this place is in the dark ages. Working from home is frowned upon, the chairman "doesn't like it". It's a strict 9-to-5 working day - but be expected to work alot longer than that. Flexitime, flexbible working, flexible hours, homeworking - forget about it, in this company you are timewarped back to 1990. Offices: Head Office is ok, in a nice setting, but the branches and other offices are decrepit. We worked in an office with broken, cracked windows that wouldn't open properly in summer and had a freezing gale coming through in winter. The walls had not been painted in years, and carpets were filthy (even had a flea infestation once). No air-con in most offices either. Good luck trying to find a car park space too, head office has had a major problem with car parking for years and no plans to resolve it. Dress code: Also something from the dark ages. No visible tattoos allowed, no piercings apart from ears, and no modern casual office attire. Formal office wear apart from Friday when it's dress-down, for a fee. Overall then: Unless you are a relative or family friend of the top brass, and will be promoted based on that, suggest you look elsewhere.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Leave and get another job. It will be your turn for the chop eventually.

    Pertemps2019-12-16
  9. "Honest"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Pertemps part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Wonderful people working in the branch

    Cons

    Appalling pay rates and lack of interest from head office

    Advice to Management

    Maybe give more than one minimum raise in 5 years

    Pertemps2019-12-16
  10. "Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Recruitment Consultant in Leeds, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Pertemps full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Training was a good experience and helpful

    Cons

    Management was good but slightly on the verge of Micro-management

    Pertemps2019-11-19
Found 138 reviews