Pets at Home Reviews

Updated 31 May 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.0
49%
Recommend to a Friend
62%
Approve of CEO
Pets at Home CEO Peter Pritchard  (no image)
Peter Pritchard
102 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "backbreaking work when dealing with delivery or cleaning out the animals(in 62 reviews)

  • "Seems like anyone above store manager level is hiding away (area managers - what is going on(in 24 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Good, not great"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Solutions Architect in Wilmslow, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Pets at Home full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Voice is heard, great benefits

    Cons

    Voice heard, but not often listened to..

    Pets at Home2020-04-14

    Pets at Home Response

    April 24, 2020Social Customer Care Manager

    Thanks so much for taking the time to leave us some feedback. It's really disappointing to hear that you feel this way, this is obviously not at all how we wish our colleagues to feel. We put an awful lot of effort into our culture & making our company feel like a family so to hear that this doesn't feel that way to you and that you felt like you were constantly being nagged is really concerning. I've passed your feedback on in regards to this, as we're always keen to make improvements where necessary, and it's clear that we haven't hit the mark during your time with us. Thank you again for sharing your thoughts & we wish you every success with your future career. Many thanks

  2. "Great place to work"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Veterinary Surgeon in Hemel Hempstead, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Pets at Home full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great team Good salary Good work/life balance

    Cons

    Very commercial Parking limited at times

    Pets at Home2020-05-31
  3. "Fantastic values, just requires some re-focus on progression and development"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Pets at Home full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The organisation itself genuinely cares about it's colleagues and customers and does a lot to actively promote positive welfare . The benefits are good, (although these could be promoted more, including the heathcare option,) Pay is competitive, and workload is manageable. For a general retailer, they of course have to focus on sales metrics, and those that generate extra revenue, but do significantly re-invest a lot of the profits back into the business, whether it's via their hardship programme, or in improving their store estate. Sometimes the targets are challenging, particularly those based on lfl sales, but their kpi dashboard is achievable and realistic for the most part.

    Cons

    The organisation could definitely benefit from a refocus on the development of it's colleagues, and potential internal progression opportunities. At times, it does feel that areas re: mentoring, coaching and succession building is limited, with no clear structure or routes on how to progress in the business. When potential progression opportunities do progress themselves, particularly for store managers into higher roles, it can be seen as being preferable to those liked more, as opposed to those who are more capable or qualified, although this is just an opinion. Opportunities do however exist, just be prepared if your ambitious that it could be a bit of a upward climb with a few set backs.

    Continue reading
    Pets at Home2020-05-17
  4. "Really good environment!"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Pets at Home part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The team and the work environment is really relaxed

    Cons

    Would have loved to be woking more hours

    Continue reading
    Pets at Home2020-04-10

    Pets at Home Response

    April 24, 2020Social Customer Care Manager

    Hi, Thanks so much for taking the time to leave us feedback. I'm really pleased you enjoyed your time with us and it’s fantastic to hear that you were really happy with the environment and culture. Thanks again for your comments and I hope you’ve found a great new role elsewhere.  

  5. Helpful (2)

    "Key holder"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Supervisor/Key Holder in Manchester, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Pets at Home part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good team of people. Lots of training given. Fun environment working with animals, lots of tasks to do to keep busy. Lots to learn about retail

    Cons

    backbreaking work when dealing with delivery or cleaning out the animals. Since it was sold as a family business and is now owned by shareholders, everything is about money. Driving KPI's and targets that collegues are penalised for if they dont hit but theres that much to drive, its impossible to hit all. Not much progression opportunities and your overlooked constantly. Hours were cut continuously in my 5 years to the point where its laughable how much they expect for so little colleague cover. Technology always breaking. Getting through to customer services is horrendous. You have to have a thick skin as your dealing with peoples pets that are members of their families so you often feel like nothing you do is good enough.

    Continue reading
    Pets at Home2020-03-13

    Pets at Home Response

    March 29, 2020Social Customer Care Manager

    Hi, Thanks so much for taking the time to leave us feedback. I'm really pleased you enjoyed your time with us and it’s fantastic to hear that you were really happy with the environment and culture. Thanks again for your comments and I hope you’ve found a great new role elsewhere.  

  6. "Key holder"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Business Owner in Manchester, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Pets at Home part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good team of people that you work with. Unlimited training-they really work to get you trained up in lots of areas. Good discount. Variated work and fun to work with animals. Lots of tasks and problem solving to keep you busy.

    Cons

    Key holder position is a bit of a farse as you just do the same job as a AM or DM but for far less pay. Very slow progression if you want to move up I'm the company. Back breaking work dealing with very heavy deliveries or if your on the pet cleaning shift. Very manual. Getting help from customer service is like getting blood from a stone. Technology in store always breaking. Customers can be very difficult so you need a thick skin as your dealing with their animals which are members of their family. Company has gone more and more targets and KPI driven, it's all about the money and less about the care of the people that are working tirelessly for the company.

    Continue reading
    Pets at Home2020-03-13

    Pets at Home Response

    April 24, 2020Social Customer Care Manager

    Thanks so much for taking the time to leave us some feedback. It's really disappointing to hear that you feel this way, this is obviously not at all how we wish our colleagues to feel. We put an awful lot of effort into our culture & making our company feel like a family so to hear that this doesn't feel that way to you and that you felt like you were constantly being nagged is really concerning. I've passed your feedback on in regards to this, as we're always keen to make improvements where necessary, and it's clear that we haven't hit the mark during your time with us. Thank you again for sharing your thoughts & we wish you every success with your future career. Many thanks

  7. "relaxed company to work for"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Human Resources Advisor in Cheadle Hulme, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Pets at Home full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    my team are so relaxed & friendly

    Cons

    would love to become perm.

    Continue reading
    Pets at Home2020-03-03

    Pets at Home Response

    March 29, 2020Social Customer Care Manager

    Hi Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts with us. I'm so pleased that you're enjoying working with us and that you find the environment & team to be pleasant & helpful. It's so lovely to hear when our colleagues enjoy their roles so thank you for sending us this feedback. We wish you many more happy years with us. Many Thanks.

  8. "Great Company"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Company Store in Nottingham, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Pets at Home part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Everyday is different. Pay is good - pay increases. Chances to improved and Learn. Work with animals. Staff are lovely. You work as a team. Management actually care and your suggestions listened too

    Cons

    Can get very busy at times

    Continue reading
    Pets at Home2020-02-25

    Pets at Home Response

    March 29, 2020Social Customer Care Manager

    Hi Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts with us. I'm so pleased that you're enjoying working with us & that you find the environment & team to be pleasant & helpful. It's so lovely to hear when our colleagues enjoy their roles so thank you for sending us this feedback. We wish you many more happy years with us. Many Thanks. Steph

  9. "Losing it's way with People"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Pets at Home full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great Colleagues, great instore discount, plenty of training, never a dull moment

    Cons

    There are limited roles after store manager, with only the ones on the best terms with the regional management getting the roles as opposed to those who are best qualified

    Continue reading
    Pets at Home2020-02-17

    Pets at Home Response

    March 29, 2020Social Customer Care Manager

    Hi Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts with us. I'm so pleased that you're enjoying working with us & that you find the environment & team to be pleasant & helpful. It's so lovely to hear when our colleagues enjoy their roles so thank you for sending us this feedback. We wish you many more happy years with us. Many Thanks. Steph

  10. Helpful (2)

    "Simply don't do it."

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Salon Manager in Birmingham, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Pets at Home full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    You get to work along side animals - only for their allotted times though.

    Cons

    See Below - Too many to list.

    Continue reading
    Pets at Home2020-03-19

    Pets at Home Response

    March 29, 2020Social Customer Care Manager

    Hi Thanks so much for taking the time to leave us some feedback. It's really disappointing to hear that you feel this way, this is obviously not at all how we wish our colleagues to feel. We put an awful lot of effort into our culture & making our company feel like a family so to hear that this doesn't feel that way to you and that you felt like you were constantly being nagged is really concerning. I've passed your feedback on in regards to this, as we're always keen to make improvements where necessary, and it's clear that we haven't hit the mark during your time with us. Thank you again for sharing your thoughts & we wish you every success with your future career. Many thanks Steph

Found 338 reviews