Pinterest Reviews

Updated 12 May 2021

To filter reviews, or .
4.2
75%
Recommend to a Friend
92%
Approve of CEO
Pinterest CEO Ben Silbermann
Ben Silbermann
237 Ratings
Pros
  • "The best work-life balance I have come across(in 41 reviews)

  • "Great company culture, free food, a lot of engaging activities, good place to learn(in 19 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "It's grown quickly in the past few years, and growing pains are inevitable(in 17 reviews)

  • "The company is growing now and isn't as small as it was during my internship(in 12 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee
      Featured Review

      Thankful for Pinterest

      20 May 2020 - People Team 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The leadership team at Pinterest is handling the current Covid crisis so well. I feel very supported with no lack in communication. In addition, I feel confident in the company to continue down the path of our goals throughout this. Outside of Covid, I love the company culture and product itself!

      Cons

      Just missing my team and our office while WFH

      1 person found this review helpful

      Pinterest Response

      Thank you for your feedback! We’re so glad you feel supported through this unprecedented time. Our teams are working hard to ensure transparent, frequent communication for the duration of the crisis and beyond. We, too, miss our fellow Pinployees and the office! Jo, CHRO

    2. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      It’s been great! Smart people and supportive culture

      29 Apr 2021 - Partner Manager in London, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Culture is fantastic Compensation Brilliant Growth- options are there for scaling based on your passion/career preferences

      Cons

      Relatively low headcount, it feels like they could do more hiring on cross functional teams and product.

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Pinterest Response

      Thank you for your feedback. While we’re glad you enjoyed some aspects of Pinterest, we sincerely appreciate you sharing insight on areas where we have room for improvement. If you’d like to share additional details directly, contact us at gd@pinterest.com, or call our anonymous hotline: (844) 704-6249. Pinterest People Team

    3. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      Truly a traumatic experience. Still recovering from my time there.

      12 May 2021 - G&A 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I was one of the first employees in my region, and setting up the company in the early days was fantastic. Everybody seemed so kind, humble and hands-off. I'd worked at several other Silicon Valley companies before, and was really surprised with how down to earth everybody at Pinterest was in comparison. The product was also great, and I felt very proud to represent such a great brand.

      Cons

      As time went on, I had to work alongside and deal with the results of terrible senior management decisions. It was an open joke about the C-level turn-over. High profile new hires would join, only to leave less than 12 months later. Every single week another email would come through - "X has decided to leave to explore new opportunities". It created a really uneasy feeling. As a result there was no faith in management's decision making. Management favorites were given pay-rises and promotions ahead of people with longer tenure, with no clear rationale as to why. Old-boy network behavior happened all the TIME - i.e. Sales leaders taking only the male sales staff on golf trips, whilst the females were left to make the restaurant bookings. I personally witnessed two senior female leaders either fired or demoted as a result of taking maternity leaves that were considered indulgently long (despite being within the legal limit). It was honestly very traumatic. People were often given management responsibilities without the pay rise or title, only to then be made to reinterview for their job and demoted with no recognition. After 5 years I left, and it was a hard decision as I had a lot of wonderful co-workers there. But I now feel free, and it's amazing the Stockholm Syndrome you realise you had after you leave a toxic environment. I have since been contacted by Pinterest twice to come back for new roles, but I wouldn't do it to myself. And I've advised close friends to avoid it too. The company needs a lot of work to resolve their deep rooted problems.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Pinterest Response

      Thank you for your feedback. We are so sorry that you’ve had a negative experience at Pinterest and appreciate you sharing these details so we can use them to affect change. We are deeply committed to improving our culture and have started tangible, measurable work toward improvement. Specific feedback is vital to our process, so we invite you to share more details (if you're comfortable) via our anonymous hotline: (844) 704-6249. Pinterest People Team

    4. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      The best place I've ever worked

      12 Jun 2019 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Amazing company full of creative, humble people

      Cons

      Too many snacks on offer!

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Onboarding

      11 May 2021 - Product Analyst in San Francisco, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I felt so welcomed by the team and XFN stakeholders and the onboarding team was awesome.

      Cons

      Remote work setting is a bummer for some fun activities

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Pinterest Response

      Thank you for your feedback, and welcome to Pinterest! We appreciate you taking the time to leave a review and are so glad you’re enjoying your time so far. To share additional feedback, email us at gd@pinterest.com, or call our anonymous hotline: (844) 704-6249. Pinterest People Team

    6. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Great company

      9 May 2021 - Software Engineer in San Francisco, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great working environment. Great company

      Cons

      Things are moving slower than previous years

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Pinterest Response

      Thank you for your feedback! We appreciate you taking the time to leave a review and are so glad you’re enjoying your time at Pinterest. To share additional feedback, email us at gd@pinterest.com, or call our anonymous hotline: (844) 704-6249. Pinterest People Team

    7. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Great company to work for

      6 May 2021 - Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Ambitious yet warm culture. A sense of growth and opportunity. A lot of talented employees.

      Cons

      Nothing that you wouldnt see in other great tech companies.

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Pinterest Response

      Thank you for your feedback! We appreciate you taking the time to leave a review and are so glad you’re enjoying your time at Pinterest. To share additional feedback, email us at gd@pinterest.com, or call our anonymous hotline: (844) 704-6249. Pinterest People Team

    8. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Amazing

      5 May 2021 - Software Engineer 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Top tier compensation and benefits

      Cons

      none that I can think of

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Pinterest Response

      Thank you for your feedback! We appreciate you taking the time to leave a review and are so glad you’re enjoying your time at Pinterest. To share additional feedback, email us at gd@pinterest.com, or call our anonymous hotline: (844) 704-6249. Pinterest People Team

    9. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Very nice company

      28 Apr 2021 - Software Engineer 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Pinterest has everything I can imagine as a good company

      Cons

      Pinterest doesn't have obvious cons so far

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Pinterest Response

      Thank you for your feedback! We appreciate you taking the time to leave a review and are so glad you’re enjoying your time at Pinterest. To share additional feedback, email us at gd@pinterest.com, or call our anonymous hotline: (844) 704-6249. Pinterest People Team

    10. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Great place to work. Smart, collaborative people and strong culture

      8 Apr 2021 - Business Function in San Francisco, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Open and honest culture. Smart people with growth mindsets. Can do my job well because others do theirs well.

      Cons

      Some leadership still learning the ways to speak to the media

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful

      Pinterest Response

      Thank you for your feedback! We appreciate you taking the time to leave a review and are so glad you’re enjoying your time at Pinterest. To share additional feedback, email us at gd@pinterest.com, or call our anonymous hotline: (844) 704-6249. Pinterest People Team

    Viewing 1 - 10 of 344 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Pinterest Job Seekers

    Creative Strategist
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews
    Software Engineer Apprentice
    Learn About the Job

    Work at Pinterest? Share Your Experiences

    Pinterest logo
    or