Pinterest Reviews

Updated Oct 17, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 384 of over 473 reviews

4.2
78%
Recommend to a Friend
90%
Approve of CEO
Pinterest CEO Ben Silbermann
Ben Silbermann
255 Ratings
Pros
  • "The best work-life balance I have come across(in 41 reviews)

  • "Great company culture, free food, a lot of engaging activities, good place to learn(in 19 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "It's grown quickly in the past few years, and growing pains are inevitable(in 17 reviews)

  • "The company is growing now and isn't as small as it was during my internship(in 12 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    What people are saying about Pinterest

    Join the conversation on

    Tech

    33.9K Members 

    Ask candid career questions

    -1 - https://www.fishbowlapp.com/bowl/technology/posts?cf=gd&utm_medium=Glassdoor&utm_source=glassdoor.co.uk&utm_campaign=Reviews&utm_content=Employer-content-prominent-Reviews&utm_term=Pinterest~503467
    Join the conversation on
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      It’s been great! Smart people and supportive culture

      Apr 29, 2021 - Partner Manager in London, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Culture is fantastic Compensation Brilliant Growth- options are there for scaling based on your passion/career preferences

      Cons

      Relatively low headcount, it feels like they could do more hiring on cross functional teams and product.

      1 person found this review helpful

      Pinterest Response

      Thank you for your feedback. While we’re glad you enjoyed some aspects of Pinterest, we sincerely appreciate you sharing insight on areas where we have room for improvement. If you’d like to share additional details directly, contact us at gd@pinterest.com, or call our anonymous hotline: (844) 704-6249. Pinterest People Team

    2. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Great product, toxic work environment

      Jul 7, 2021 - Senior Partner Manager in London, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Brilliant team, good benefits, amazing mission

      Cons

      Toxic senior leadership completely at odds with company mission

      3 people found this review helpful

      Pinterest Response

      Thank you for your feedback. While we’re glad you’re enjoying some elements of your time at Pinterest, we sincerely appreciate you sharing insight on areas where we have room for improvement. If you’d like to share additional details directly, contact us at gd@pinterest.com, or call our anonymous hotline: (844) 704-6249. Pinterest People Team

    3. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      Truly a traumatic experience. Still recovering from my time there.

      May 12, 2021 - G&A 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I was one of the first employees in my region, and setting up the company in the early days was fantastic. Everybody seemed so kind, humble and hands-off. I'd worked at several other Silicon Valley companies before, and was really surprised with how down to earth everybody at Pinterest was in comparison. The product was also great, and I felt very proud to represent such a great brand.

      Cons

      As time went on, I had to work alongside and deal with the results of terrible senior management decisions. It was an open joke about the C-level turn-over. High profile new hires would join, only to leave less than 12 months later. Every single week another email would come through - "X has decided to leave to explore new opportunities". It created a really uneasy feeling. As a result there was no faith in management's decision making. Management favorites were given pay-rises and promotions ahead of people with longer tenure, with no clear rationale as to why. Old-boy network behavior happened all the TIME - i.e. Sales leaders taking only the male sales staff on golf trips, whilst the females were left to make the restaurant bookings. I personally witnessed two senior female leaders either fired or demoted as a result of taking maternity leaves that were considered indulgently long (despite being within the legal limit). It was honestly very traumatic. People were often given management responsibilities without the pay rise or title, only to then be made to reinterview for their job and demoted with no recognition. After 5 years I left, and it was a hard decision as I had a lot of wonderful co-workers there. But I now feel free, and it's amazing the Stockholm Syndrome you realise you had after you leave a toxic environment. I have since been contacted by Pinterest twice to come back for new roles, but I wouldn't do it to myself. And I've advised close friends to avoid it too. The company needs a lot of work to resolve their deep rooted problems.

      Continue reading
      10 people found this review helpful

      Pinterest Response

      Thank you for your feedback. We are so sorry that you’ve had a negative experience at Pinterest and appreciate you sharing these details so we can use them to affect change. We are deeply committed to improving our culture and have started tangible, measurable work toward improvement. Specific feedback is vital to our process, so we invite you to share more details (if you're comfortable) via our anonymous hotline: (844) 704-6249. Pinterest People Team

    4. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      The best place I've ever worked

      Jun 12, 2019 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Amazing company full of creative, humble people

      Cons

      Too many snacks on offer!

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Happy environment

      Oct 16, 2021 - Software Engineer in San Francisco, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Welcoming people, Interesting work, Happy environment

      Cons

      Not too many, could be more pay

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Good company culture with good WLB

      Oct 8, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Unlimited PTOs - Good company culture with lots of gifts - People are friendly and collaborative

      Cons

      The career development can be relatively slow

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Working at Pinterest

      Oct 6, 2021 - Senior Software Engineer 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      1. Great team and resourceful members 2. You learn and do a lot and will eventually become a better engineer

      Cons

      1. Not all perks are experienced at the moment due to WFH, but that's everywhere else

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Amazing - Love it here!!

      Oct 5, 2021 - Technical Recruiting Coordinator 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      -Work / Life balance -Manager is awesome -Team is supportive -Room for career growth -Pintention Days(random days they give us off)

      Cons

      -I wish they had tuition reimbursement -I wish we had more than 15 PTO days for hourly employees -I wish they would announce Pintentions days more in advance so people can actually plan something and more pintention days

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Good work life balance

      Oct 17, 2021 - Software Engineer 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Unlimited PTO, Learned a lot

      Cons

      Green card process will not start until you are selected in H1B lottery

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Great working environment with strong challenges

      Oct 14, 2021 - Partner Manager in Paris
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Excellent perks & salaries Good autonomy for the sales teams

      Cons

      Difficulties to grow faster & develop new products

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 384 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Pinterest Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Pinterest? Share Your Experiences

    or