Pioneer Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Pioneer Reviews

Updated 25 Feb 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.4
64%
Recommend to a Friend
64%
Approve of CEO
Pioneer President Paul E. Schickler
Paul E. Schickler
188 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Long hours, no advancement, constant changes in head count(in 21 reviews)

  • "Upper management has unrealistic expectations of what can be done with little resources (monetary and staffing)(in 16 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Good agriculture company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Analyst 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Pioneer full-time

    Pros

    Lots of R and D. Many programs.

    Cons

    Slower decision making process given size of the org

    Pioneer2019-11-18
  2. "Good place to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Pioneer full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good salaries and working environment. Lots of opportunities to try new skills. Good diversity and tolerance policy. You can always get a support

    Cons

    Not always proper guidance, in times of merge difficult to find a proper person in charge of anything. Future about AGCo is keeping in the dark.

    Pioneer2017-08-16
  3. "Fast paced and fun place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Research Scientist 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Pioneer full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good career progression if willing to put yourself forward. Excellent colleagues and dedicated staff Reasonably good work-life balance Good pay

    Cons

    Rush to market can sometimes seem chaotic some antiquated views persist in the European section of the business

    Continue reading
    Pioneer2013-05-19
  4. "Auto cutting"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Production Engineer in Tindivanam
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Pioneer full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Improving product finishing, Achieved maximum production daily basis.

    Cons

    Sometime sensor issue. Sometimes manpower error but we are facing it easily.

    Continue reading
    Pioneer2020-02-17
  5. "Producers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager in Angeles, Pampanga
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Pioneer part-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Music of the mind and soul

    Cons

    Current on a project / Road trip

    Continue reading
    Pioneer2020-02-16
  6. "Great People, Not So Great Upper Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Developer in Johnston, IA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Pioneer full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The teams I worked with were fantastic. Very smart people and I learned a ton during my time there. People with great ideas and wanted to make a difference. It was an exciting place to work with all the advancements happening and the merging of biology with information technologies.

    Cons

    Constant threats of layoffs looming over our heads made it difficult to be excited about coming to work. Meetings with upper management seemed to be canned talking points instead of answering questions that matter to employees. In the several years I was there surrounding the merger with Dow and change to Corteva, there was a definite slide from a company who truly valued their employees, to a company who was more concerned about pinching pennies. It really took a toll on team morale.

    Continue reading
    Pioneer2020-02-26
  7. "Very high working time but do not much"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - R&D Engineer 

    I worked at Pioneer full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Learn really lots of basic knowledge of plastic and rubber industry under high pressure.

    Cons

    No time to think deliberately. No education train.

    Pioneer2020-02-06
  8. "Good Place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Nampa, ID
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Pioneer full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Company Sold to S&W Seed Co.

    Cons

    S&W Seed Co down sized employees

    Pioneer2020-01-18
  9. "Times Changing in the Agricultural Business Model"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Anonymous in Johnston, IA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Pioneer full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    If you have or get a job with Pioneer currently, you are in good shape (I think).

    Cons

    DuPont focuses on Wall Street valuations...DuPont Pioneer (e.g. Corteva) was a golden child in the 2005-2014 era until prices for AG commodities fell. I suspect cost cutting measures are severe now until commodity prices improve (as of Dec'19).

    Pioneer2019-12-23
  10. "production tech"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Tipton, IN

    I have been working at Pioneer full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    pay, vacation, 401k, summer is the slow time of year

    Cons

    Constant change of schedule with little to no notice, no work and home life balance

    Pioneer2019-10-28
Found 418 reviews