QIAGEN Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

QIAGEN Reviews

Updated Jun 14, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 336 reviews

3.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
69%
Recommend to a Friend
87%
Approve of CEO
QIAGEN CEO Peer M. Schatz
Peer M. Schatz
191 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Field application specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at QIAGEN full-time

    Pros

    Everyone in the team started out as a scientist and overall show a good understanding of the clients needs.

    Cons

    As QIAGEN is a global organisation it can sometimes be difficult to reach out to people in different time zones.

    QIAGEN2019-01-25
  2. "Work on core team to run clinical device studies for QIAGEN diagnostic products and pharma client companion diagnostics"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Clinical Study Lead in Manchester, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at QIAGEN full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Dynamic, varied work, exposure to clients, PMA submissions, good team spirit

    Cons

    Too busy, inefficiency, business driven by R&D (product development) rather than clinical/ medical/ regulatory requirements

    Advice to Management

    Look at the rest of the market; update standard project phases to match regulatory clinical requirements ie address medical and clinical affairs in priority to product development. PD leadership at the start of a project must be balanced by other core team members throughout.

    QIAGEN2019-03-23
  3. "Bioinformatics Sales Specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at QIAGEN full-time

    Pros

    Good work life balance and employee support.

    Cons

    Frequent structural changes and unrealistic targets.

    QIAGEN2019-03-12
  4. "The people are great but...."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Scientist 

    I have been working at QIAGEN full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The people who work at Qiagen are what make it a great place to work rather than the job itself. The benefits are good but Qiagen is not the only company to offer these and the same can be said for flexible working hours. Work life balance is ok but the onus is on the individual employee to enforce this rather than the company as a whole.

    Cons

    Stress levels can be high depending on which project you are allocated to and who the managers are. Some Projects are given all the resource and everyone else is expected to cope There is a high turn over of staff at all levels of the company The pay is low for the industry and location yet they want highly motivated employees. (Even after the ~4years I have been here my pay is less than my previous job) New...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    You have said you want to decrease staff turn over but you seem unwilling to listen to the advice from your staff that pay is the biggest issue for people leaving.

    QIAGEN2019-02-21
  5. "it pays"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at QIAGEN full-time

    Pros

    they pay you and not much else

    Cons

    no real professional growth and overworking as standard

    QIAGEN2019-01-24
  6. "Excellent place!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Industrial Placement Student in Manchester, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at QIAGEN full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Nice coworkers, good size office buildings, great incentives/benefits, very accessible location, varying work

    Cons

    Cramped office spaces, some labs quite small

    QIAGEN2019-01-09
  7. "Fantastic people! Great placement year!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Placement Student (T A ) in Manchester City Centre, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at QIAGEN full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I am just about to finish a placement year here at QIAGEN, as a Biology student with Industrial Experience at the University of Manchester. The company has fantastic people working for them, they really make the job great. The work is varied, engaging and challenging at times but I learnt a wide range of new techniques and gained valuable lab experience here. The work is also important and rewarding, enjoyed every day...

    Show More

    Cons

    For me there really were no downsides, other than a lack of capacity to offer on-going part time work (they are not well set up for part time employees).

    Advice to Management

    Improve part time working options. Offer placements student opportunity to work from home/library when producing project reports for University.

    QIAGEN2018-09-19
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Decent employer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Scientist in Manchester, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at QIAGEN for more than 3 years

    Pros

    not too much workload, decent benefits

    Cons

    work schedule can be erratic, salary is lower than industry standard

    QIAGEN2018-09-18
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Great people, great products, great times"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at QIAGEN full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    People, Products, Training, Opportunities to grow and develop

    Cons

    Work life balance Challenging leadership in my case following change in direct line manager Micromanagement in my case following change of leadership

    Advice to Management

    Stabilise the team Stop annual restructuring

    QIAGEN2018-05-12
  10. Helpful (1)

    "You have to practically cozy up to your manager to get promoted"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Scientist in Manchester, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at QIAGEN full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Flexible working and good work life balance. Diversity is being addressed

    Cons

    Politics at line management level in Manchester tends to reward themselves. Promotion is not objective, its very subjective to the whims of the line manager. Very few women at the top, hardly any ethnic minority above middle management

    Advice to Management

    Get on with it. You tend to pat yourself at the back more often than you reflect on mistakes.

    QIAGEN2018-05-01
Found 336 reviews