Reading Room Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Reading Room Reviews

Updated 1 Aug 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.2
24%
Recommend to a Friend
31%
Approve of CEO
Reading Room CEO David Durnford
David Durnford
52 Ratings
Pros
  • "The people (apart from senior management)(in 8 reviews)

  • "Bar the senior management (read: all white middle-class men) there were a lot of nice, genuine and talented people(in 8 reviews)

Cons
  • "The senior management were astonishingly useless(in 11 reviews)

  • "No training, no coding standards, general cavalier shark life approach(in 8 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (2)

    "Great Place to Work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Reading Room full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I have only been working for Reading Room for several months, and already it has been the most rewarding, enjoyable job I have done. It is rare to find a job that you don't occasionally dread going to, but I have honestly not had that yet. Though I have only been at the company a short time, I have been supported and encouraged to take on new and exciting challenges throughout the business, resulting in a promotion after just 6 months. In everything I have taken on, I have always been fully supported, and help and advice is always available for those who ask - it is amazing to work with so many knowledgeable people! Reading Room is a place where you can grow as a person, as well as in your career, if you're willing to work for it. Since I have been here, they have also rolled out a new Flexible Pension Scheme and sharpening the focus on Inductions and Training for New Starters.

    Cons

    Sometimes the days are hectic and long, but it's the same everywhere!

    Continue reading
    Reading Room2014-08-29
  2. "Not great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Digital Strategist in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Reading Room full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Lot's of smart people to learn from

    Cons

    Thrown in at the deep end

    Reading Room2019-08-01
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Can I have that time back, please?"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Lackey in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Reading Room full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Well, there was a beer fridge. They were based in Soho, but it was Soho that was good, not Reading Room. There were good choices for lunch all around. And there was a Christmas party in Paris every year.

    Cons

    The senior management were astonishingly useless. If you were the new flavour of the month when you arrived you'd be given an opportunity to do interesting things. Otherwise you were continually handed the task of repairing the work of the people who'd been there longer than you and had no asked to move on to building new, just-as-rubbish-as-their-last-work projects.

    Continue reading
    Reading Room2019-06-26
  4. "Getting to see the bigger picture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Reading Room full-time

    Pros

    The culture is becoming flatter which is a definite bonus

    Cons

    Aware that acquisition takes time and money but you do need to look at where people have not had a payrise in a couple of years. Being part of the FM family has at least ensured there is a level of support that was never there under Idox

    Reading Room2019-04-02
  5. Helpful (3)

    "The sinking ship in now a raft in the middle of nowhere."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Liverpool, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Reading Room full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Initially, I was apart of the Ripple Effect team in Liverpool which at that point I enjoyed my job thoroughly. There was a great atmosphere and people worked together really well. There would always be great team nights out and staff gets together (Christmas, world cup times, summer parties). But most importantly we were a progressive agency and always thrived to improve on our skill sets which push everyone around us to follow. Tons of great developers with great enthusiasm. Then Idox occupied the company and merged us with Reading Room...end of pros! There was and still is some fantastic developers and designers across both rippleffect and reading room - I believe these are the backbone of the company.

    Cons

    Reading Room management will always blame Idox for the failure of the agency but really we all know that it was the London based senior management team that evidently didn't know how to run a digital agency and drove us into the ground with insane policies and process that drove our clients and our staff a million miles away along with redundancy after redundancy! The natural turn over in staff says it all - at one point there was an entire PHP team and an entire .NET team working there notice all at the same time because the tech leadership was non-existent. When I started in Rippleffect there was around 97 staff and Reading Room was over 150....now there is less than 40 across the agency and by the time most of you read this point I can imagine that number to decrease further. Few main points of failure - Communication from the management team (the apparent leaders of the company ) was non-existent, to say the least regardless of the urgency of the situation. - Overkill processes which slowed down our commitments to clients. - No investment into staff - absolutely no change of budget for training. - Tallent was never rewarded and management would let key players who kelp us afloat walk right out the door without trying to keep them on board. - People would leave and management would not replace. - Over promoted operations management. - Project managers would always undersell and never understand the full scope of projects. The list could go on forever. The main point is that this company is sinking and has been for years.

    Reading Room2019-03-06
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Great people, poor management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Reading Room full-time

    Pros

    Good fun Friendly staff Good holidays (depending on your contract) Can be good clients and projects. Music in the office

    Cons

    Tight deadlines, often working extra hours Badly priced projects Poor comms internally Afraid to say no to clients Middle and upper management often out of touch Last min switching of teams Getting a pay rise is difficult When senior staff leave they are often replaced with juniors Idox havent a clue what to do with the company

    Continue reading
    Reading Room2018-10-12
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Good people but no career progression"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Reading Room full-time

    Pros

    Nice people, cool client, relax

    Cons

    no career progression, no pay review

    Reading Room2018-09-20
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Don't touch with a 10ft barge pole"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Reading Room full-time

    Pros

    - Ping pong table in the middle of the Liverpool office - Friendly colleagues, for the most part.

    Cons

    - Ping pong table in the middle of the Liverpool office - No transparency from upper management - Upper management lacking any semblance of a backbone - No appraisals - No pay review - Poor pay for the industry - Disproportionate pay - No training - No standardised processes - "One rule for them, one rule for everyone else" - Constant lying to clients - Poor client communication - Poor employment decisions - Poor quality control (specifically projects from old Reading Room staff) If you are a developer looking to hone your skills and actually learn something, this is not the place to do it. After recent redundancies, the agency is left flailing as more staff continue to leave.

    Continue reading
    Reading Room2018-10-15
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Very poor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Technical Developer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Reading Room full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good social life, lots of drinking, none of this useful to your career.

    Cons

    No training, no coding standards, general cavalier shark life approach.

    Continue reading
    Reading Room2018-10-06
  10. Helpful (4)

    "Horrendous company - avoid at all costs"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Reading Room full-time

    Pros

    The people (apart from senior management) Flexi-time

    Cons

    It's a sinking ship - 20 odd redundancies were made in June 2018 All staff members are over worked and under paid Clients are horrendous unhappy and not prioritised correctly It's actually an embarrassing company to work for when you find out how they treat staff and clients

    Continue reading
    Reading Room2018-09-20

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 76 reviews